WelcomeWelcome | FAQFAQ | DownloadsDownloads | WikiWiki

Author Topic: Mix 32-bit and 64-bit  (Read 5315 times)

Offline ChuckNorris

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 5
Mix 32-bit and 64-bit
« on: May 08, 2014, 01:24:49 PM »
So far microcore has work well for my requirements. I am running 64-bit core64.gz and vmlinuz64 and most of the 32-bit apps still run fine. Despite two crashes that could be related to something else... things seems ok so far. The kernel detects the additional memory, but the 32-bit apps are limited to 4GB. So I used the gcc.tcz and compiletc.tcz to compile for 64-bit and the app runs on corepure64. But the app does not run on core64.

Is it even possible to run 64-bit apps on core64, and if not is it possible to run 32-bit apps on corepure64? Or is there a step I am missing?

Thanks

Offline Rich

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 11178
Re: Mix 32-bit and 64-bit
« Reply #1 on: May 08, 2014, 04:43:12 PM »
Hi ChuckNorris
This question has come up before. As I recall, with core64, the kernel is no longer limited to 4Gbytes of RAM, but any applications are.
With corepure64, all the libraries are 64 bit, so I don't think you could really run 32 bit apps on it, but I won't swear to it.

Offline coreplayer2

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 3020
Mix 32-bit and 64-bit
« Reply #2 on: May 08, 2014, 05:03:09 PM »
Instead of core64.gz (not sure about that gz archive, maybe you got it from an ISO? )

try rootfs64 and
modules64.gz

Along with vmlinuz64

You'll not be able to run 32bit apps in this scenario




Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
« Last Edit: May 08, 2014, 05:10:58 PM by coreplayer2 »

Offline ChuckNorris

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 5
Re: Mix 32-bit and 64-bit
« Reply #3 on: May 08, 2014, 05:19:41 PM »
Thanks, tested this, basically with core64, a 32-bit version of the app runs, but fails when it reaches 4GB of memory. The source compiles and runs on corepure64 in 64-bit mode, but corepure64 is missing many packages.

So it seems:
1) 64-bit apps don't run on the core64 kernel.
2) 32-bit apps don't run on the corepure64 kernel.

I am hoping this info is wrong or something like ia32 is available for tinycore, because the only way forward is an intensive few days of compiling each dependency from source (if all goes well)

Offline coreplayer2

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 3020
Re: Mix 32-bit and 64-bit
« Reply #4 on: May 08, 2014, 06:00:41 PM »
If you want apps to have access to more than 4GB ram then corepure64 is the only way to go

I remember core64.gz now,  is been a while as have used this separate archives combination since introduced.

tc5.3
rootfs64 and
modules64.gz and
vmlinuz64


Compile, create extensions and  submit,  am sure all will be grateful



Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

Offline ChuckNorris

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 5
Re: Mix 32-bit and 64-bit
« Reply #5 on: May 08, 2014, 06:46:48 PM »
Yep, thanks, actually started compiling...

Create, pack and submit the extensions with this tool ok? https://code.google.com/p/tcztools/

Offline Juanito

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 14516
Re: Mix 32-bit and 64-bit
« Reply #6 on: May 08, 2014, 10:28:22 PM »
It would be useful to use the "standard" corepore64 flags to compile:
Code: [Select]
CC="gcc -flto -fuse-linker-plugin -mtune=generic -Os -pipe" CXX="g++ -flto -fuse-linker-plugin -mtune=generic -Os -pipe -fno-exceptions -fno-rtti" ./configure --prefix=/usr/local
..and then:
Code: [Select]
find . -name Makefile -type f -exec sed -i 's/-O2/ /g' {} \;
..and of course use compiletc from the corepure64 repo  :)
« Last Edit: May 08, 2014, 10:31:34 PM by Juanito »