WelcomeWelcome | FAQFAQ | DownloadsDownloads | WikiWiki

Author Topic: Hello all, and issue wth sce-load during boot for automated wireless etc  (Read 2865 times)

Offline liam391

Hello all, I am fairly new to dCore/TC, and Linux in general to be honest, but have been playing about with ‘Cores and various versions of Puppy for the last couple of years. I love the speed and flexibility and the ‘Cores are great for revitalizing old hardware….and for learning from my point of view. I particularly like the ability of dCore to be so flexible with the sce-import abilities and am using it more and more – so thank you to all involved with the project, it’s fantastic! Sorry for the long-winded message, but I wanted to fully explain my set up.

With learning in mind I decided to reinvigorate an old laptop by installing dCore to HDD, basically following the dCore wiki in combination with an external guide (http://www.brianlinkletter.com/how-to-install-dcore-linux-in-a-virtual-machine/) which was originally for installing a basic dCore to a virtual machine. I copied the SCE’s over from USB as I didn’t have a wired connection handy.

The installation was easy overall - the main difficulty I experienced was getting the wireless to work. I’m currently working with an old P3 800MHz Compaq Presario, using a PCMIA wireless card made by EDUP.  Using the FAQ’s, Forum and various Ubuntu pages I got there in the end. I’ll describe the process as it feeds in to my question. Firstly, I found out which wireless card was internal to the PCMIA card:

Code: [Select]
lspci -nn -d 14e4:
My card is Broadcom BCM4306 [14e4:4320]. Using the website http://linuxwireless.org/en/users/Drivers/b43/ confirmed that I require the b43 driver, and indicated the download location for the firmware, which I downloaded.