WelcomeWelcome | FAQFAQ | DownloadsDownloads | WikiWiki

Author Topic: pibfa, rpicore SDL : got black screen  (Read 1918 times)

Offline ian57

  • WikiUser
  • *
  • Posts: 21
pibfa, rpicore SDL : got black screen
« on: February 25, 2014, 05:07:13 AM »
Hi,

I'm trying to use picore to play arcade game with pifba emulator https://code.google.com/p/pifba/
I use picore 5.1.1-ssh, i installed on boot rpicore, sdl sdl2 libs.
I installed pifba from binaries in tc home.
Running the fbacapex frontend with tc user gives :  *fail to open vchiq instance.
Running it with sudo gives me a black screen but nothing more.

Applying chmod a+rx /dev/vchiq gives the same results.
This emulator runs well whith raspian and moebius inux.

I tried to run mame4all-pi and pimenu, the same result occurs (black screen). I think it comes from rights on video device or configuration at boot (in config.txt perhaps)

If someone has an idea?


Online bmarkus

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 6996
    • My Community Forum
Re: pibfa, rpicore SDL : got black screen
« Reply #1 on: February 25, 2014, 05:42:21 AM »
Install rpi-videocore.tcz extension, it may help.
Béla
Ham Radio callsign: HA5DI

"Amateur Radio: The First Technology-Based Social Network."

Offline ian57

  • WikiUser
  • *
  • Posts: 21
Re: pibfa, rpicore SDL : got black screen
« Reply #2 on: February 25, 2014, 05:48:38 AM »
Thanks for the reply, but they are already installed...

The problem is really strange, because if I make  a chmod a+rw /dev/vchiq the program runs but seems to freeze (local keyboard is not responding; but ssh is ok). I cannot kill the process to get the terminal back to work!

Online bmarkus

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 6996
    • My Community Forum
Re: pibfa, rpicore SDL : got black screen
« Reply #3 on: February 25, 2014, 06:05:20 AM »
Running binaries built for another system you have always high chance they do not work.
Béla
Ham Radio callsign: HA5DI

"Amateur Radio: The First Technology-Based Social Network."

Offline ian57

  • WikiUser
  • *
  • Posts: 21
Re: pibfa, rpicore SDL : got black screen
« Reply #4 on: February 25, 2014, 06:07:47 AM »
Yes i agree with you : that's why i'm trying now to recompile it inside picore ;-)

I will let you know my results.

So I recompiled pimenu a simple program which uses SDL etc... I got the same black screen as with pifba.

Same thing... I get a black screen when running it with sudo ./pimenu and get the vchiq access error without sudo.

I really think it come from a simple rights problem ou configuration.
« Last Edit: February 25, 2014, 06:36:20 AM by ian57 »

Offline ian57

  • WikiUser
  • *
  • Posts: 21
Re: pibfa, rpicore SDL : got black screen
« Reply #5 on: February 26, 2014, 08:54:51 AM »
New try with the 5.2 release... and the good management of time under picore (see http://forum.tinycorelinux.net/index.php/topic,16750.0.html)

It works ..... no more black screen ...

sudo ./fbacapex gives the front end, and i can use the fba emulator ;-)

see attachments

thanks for all replies

[edit]
After more tests, it seems that it came from SDL_mixer which is not required but installed (when you don't know you install everything ;-)). I think SDL_mixer was perturbing alsa for sound...
[/edit]
« Last Edit: February 26, 2014, 09:41:31 PM by ian57 »