WelcomeWelcome | FAQFAQ | DownloadsDownloads | WikiWiki

Author Topic: terminal gives no output  (Read 1688 times)

Offline ECHOSIDE

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 22
    • last.fm page
terminal gives no output
« on: February 16, 2014, 04:51:49 PM »
I've been monkeying around with the terminal on TC 5.1 a lot 'cause that's where a lot of the magic happens. I'm finding that frequently the command line will go blank and not give any output. I have to break the function with Ctrl+C to get my prompt back. This is frustrating because it's not verbose when this happens and I can't tell what's going on. Does any one else have this problem? Is there a way to make the terminal output more verbose?

Thank you!

Offline gerald_clark

  • TinyCore Moderator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 4254
Re: terminal gives no output
« Reply #1 on: February 16, 2014, 05:17:17 PM »
Your problem is likely that you are running something that is giving no output, and Ctrl+C is terminating it.
Doesn't sound like a "problem" at all.

Offline Lee

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 645
    • My Core wiki user page
Re: terminal gives no output
« Reply #2 on: February 17, 2014, 10:06:20 AM »
Quote
I'm finding that frequently the command line will go blank and not give any output. I have to break the function with Ctrl+C to get my prompt back.

Can you give examples of commands you have issued where this happens?
32 bit core4.7.7, Xprogs, Xorg-7.6, wbar, jwm  |  - Testing -
PPR, data persistence through filetool.sh          |  32 bit core 8.0 alpha 1
USB Flash drive, one partition, ext2, grub4dos  | Otherwise similar

Offline tinypoodle

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 3857
Re: terminal gives no output
« Reply #3 on: February 17, 2014, 12:32:17 PM »
Verbosity would be an option specific to an app and is commonly documented.
"Software gets slower faster than hardware gets faster." Niklaus Wirth - A Plea for Lean Software (1995)

Offline ECHOSIDE

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 22
    • last.fm page
Re: terminal gives no output
« Reply #4 on: February 19, 2014, 05:23:47 AM »
Well, it makes it difficult to learn at the command line so that's why I'm wondering if I should be doing something differently.

Lee, the most recent example is
Code: [Select]
tar x snes9x-1.43-linux-x86.tar.gz
Instead of telling me that my syntax is incorrect (as I'm sure it is), it just stares grimly back at me in disappointment.

Offline gerald_clark

  • TinyCore Moderator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 4254
Re: terminal gives no output
« Reply #5 on: February 19, 2014, 05:38:53 AM »
It expecting the tar input from standard input. the correct command is :
tar xzf snes9x-1.43-linux-x86.tar.gz

The problem is not Core.
The problem is your lack of Linux knowledge.
I suggest you read http://rute.2038bug.com/index.html.gz