WelcomeWelcome | FAQFAQ | DownloadsDownloads | WikiWiki

Author Topic: Drivers' ready availability  (Read 1920 times)

Offline ghar

Drivers' ready availability
« on: February 12, 2014, 03:27:57 AM »
I am an newbie planning to use TC. My needs are quite few and limited to the most basic programs of the average internet user: web browsing, email, word processing, video watching.
I was happy to learn that all these programs are available in the repository.
Now I have only one worry: drivers.
Does TC use any drivers from other big Linux ecosystems such as Ubuntu? If this were the case, it would be reassuring, because my worry is adopting TC only to discover, down the road, that the lack of drivers makes TC's wonderful nomadic potential useless. In other words, I would like to be assured that *at least for the most basic OS functionality*, TC is compatible enough to run anywhere. For instance, does TC have video-rendering problems running on some hardware?

Thanks

ghar

Offline Juanito

• Administrator
Re: Drivers' ready availability
« Reply #1 on: February 12, 2014, 03:42:12 AM »
tinycore uses drivers from the stock linux kernel and several users have contributed out-of-tree driver extensions.

Video rendering problems are usually the result of closed-source hardware/drivers or very new hardware - if you list the hardware you're concerned about, we can probably comment on its usability in tinycore.

Offline ghar

« Reply #2 on: February 12, 2014, 10:04:14 AM »
if you list the hardware you're concerned about, we can probably comment on its usability in tinycore.

Well, actually I don't have any particular hardware in mind. I am just planning to use the nomadic mode on an USB stick, using whatever hardware I come across, which means anything.

The two most important functionalities are:

1) making the video work (at least with a low resolution, which would be good enough for most non-entertainment purposes)