WelcomeWelcome | FAQFAQ | DownloadsDownloads | WikiWiki

Author Topic: wyse  (Read 3913 times)

Offline cast-fish

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 937
  • hi there
wyse
« on: February 01, 2014, 11:22:20 PM »
http://www.ebay.com/itm/Wyse-Technology-Winterm-1125SE-Thin-Client-Network-Terminal-Unit-PN-902059-01-/271092551843?pt=US_Thin_Clients&hash=item3f1e6010a3

do you think this computer would do movie playback in the frame buffer on tinycore?

and run a browser with flash?

Vince
« Last Edit: February 01, 2014, 11:25:04 PM by cast-fish »

Offline tinypoodle

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 3857
Re: wyse
« Reply #1 on: February 02, 2014, 12:25:21 AM »
Have you looked at its specs?
"Software gets slower faster than hardware gets faster." Niklaus Wirth - A Plea for Lean Software (1995)

Offline cast-fish

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 937
  • hi there
Re: wyse
« Reply #2 on: February 02, 2014, 01:26:38 AM »
yes it has 240 mhz AMD geode cpu

and 128 megs ram

32 meg a byte hard drive

usb etc  ethernet rj45 etc

graphics chip isn't described

Vince.

Offline tinypoodle

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 3857
Re: wyse
« Reply #3 on: February 02, 2014, 01:37:01 AM »
"Software gets slower faster than hardware gets faster." Niklaus Wirth - A Plea for Lean Software (1995)

Offline cast-fish

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 937
  • hi there
Re: wyse
« Reply #4 on: February 02, 2014, 02:08:50 AM »
sory it is a slightly different model to what is posted there

almost the same but it has 128 meg RAM and 32 flash storage.... but the
rest is the same.

could it perhaps do movies and flash web browsing?  youtube

Vince.

Offline curaga

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 10273
Re: wyse
« Reply #5 on: February 02, 2014, 02:26:29 AM »
No, it won't play movies of decent resolution, and most certainly can't do flash.
The only barriers that can stop you are the ones you create yourself.

Offline tinypoodle

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 3857
Re: wyse
« Reply #6 on: February 02, 2014, 02:39:24 AM »
Official minimum requirement for flash is a 2.33Ghz CPU, nearly 10x as much as that :P
"Software gets slower faster than hardware gets faster." Niklaus Wirth - A Plea for Lean Software (1995)

Offline cast-fish

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 937
  • hi there
Re: wyse
« Reply #7 on: February 02, 2014, 10:56:22 AM »
really

flash works here on an athlon 1.2 ghz 256 ram machine from 14 years ago....full screen on a 14.4 inch screen at full rez.

are there any other wyse style terminals that could do movies and flash....do you think?


Vince.

Offline curaga

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 10273
Re: wyse
« Reply #8 on: February 02, 2014, 11:10:38 AM »
There are a lot of capable small boxes, for example Zotac Z-box ad06.
The only barriers that can stop you are the ones you create yourself.

Offline cast-fish

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 937
  • hi there
Re: wyse
« Reply #9 on: February 02, 2014, 11:37:27 AM »
was thinking of something ultra ultra low cost

will get a wyse anyhow....just for interest because they go for about 3 dollars.

Offline cast-fish

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 937
  • hi there
Re: wyse
« Reply #10 on: February 02, 2014, 12:22:09 PM »
http://liliputing.com/2014/01/radxa-rock-dev-board-packs-quad-core-rk3188-99.html

there are these which come with Ubuntu and Android ready to go . The ubuntu is video hardware
accelerated also.  These are fast.

not sure if it can run Tinycore

what you think

V

Offline cast-fish

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 937
  • hi there
Re: wyse
« Reply #11 on: February 02, 2014, 12:48:12 PM »
http://www.cnx-software.com/2014/01/20/69-nanopc-by-friendlyarm-features-samsung-exynos-4412-soc/

and those also.  Not sure if it will run tinycore

The link is simply to show the context of this message

Thanks

Vince.