WelcomeWelcome | FAQFAQ | DownloadsDownloads | WikiWiki

Author Topic: WiFi Cannot Scan  (Read 65411 times)

Offline Juanito

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 14516
Re: WiFi Cannot Scan
« Reply #60 on: January 17, 2014, 11:03:43 PM »
I had to launch the browser and note that the home page timed out, before learning this CLI indexing failed to connect to router.  Also, the IP & dns address'  looks syspicious.

I get exactly that sort of output and everything works as expected:
Code: [Select]
udhcpc (v1.21.1) started
Sending discover...
Sending select for 192.168.1.111...
Lease of 192.168.1.111 obtained, lease time 86400
deleting routers
route: SIOCDELRT: No such process
adding dns 192.168.1.1

Code: [Select]
Now that wicd.tcz has completed the burn-in phase on tc-4.73, it will be installed on tc-5.10 next go-around:
...
Q: Shouldn't it be recompiled first?
We'll know that once you've tested it  :P

Offline eltone

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 137
Re: WiFi Cannot Scan
« Reply #61 on: January 18, 2014, 07:37:02 PM »

We'll know that once you've tested it  :P

hi,

'wicd.tcz' was just dounloaded into 5.1's /mnt/sdb1/tce/optional directory.

Errors trapped:

Code: [Select]
root@box:~# wicd
/usr/local/sbin/wicd: exec: line 3: /usr/local/bin/python: not found
root@box:~# wicd
Traceback (most recent call last):
  File "/usr/local/share/wicd/daemon/wicd-daemon.py", line 46, in <module>
    import gobject
ImportError: No module named gobject
root@box:~#
Installed python to resolve line 2 glitch and the ImportError is up for grabs . . .
Dependencies are unclear, going this route.
eltone

Offline tinypoodle

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 3857
Re: WiFi Cannot Scan
« Reply #62 on: January 18, 2014, 08:41:54 PM »
Code: [Select]
tc@box:~$ sudo iwconfig wlan0 essid "eltonenetwork"
tc@box:~$ sudo iwconfig wlan0 key 6789abcdef
tc@box:~$ sudo udhcpc -b -i wlan0 -x hostname:box -p /var/run/udhcpc.wlan0.pid
udhcpc (v1.20.2) started
Sending discover...
Sending discover...
Sending discover...
Sending select for 192.168.0.64...
Lease of 192.168.0.64 obtained, lease time 86400
deleting routers
SIOCDELRT: No such process
adding dns 192.168.0.1
tc@box:~$

I had to launch the browser and note that the home page timed out, before learning this CLI indexing failed to connect to router. 

Would you not have succeeded to connect to router in the first place, then you could never have gotten above output...
::)

Quote
Also, the IP & dns address'  looks syspicious.

When using wicd, static addresses are used.  I have seen this anomaly with this particular dns address before and suspect that is the problem here.

Looks like expected.
If you want a static address, then why exactly do you run udhcpc?
"Software gets slower faster than hardware gets faster." Niklaus Wirth - A Plea for Lean Software (1995)

Offline Juanito

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 14516
Re: WiFi Cannot Scan
« Reply #63 on: January 18, 2014, 10:06:08 PM »
Installed python to resolve line 2 glitch and the ImportError is up for grabs . . .
Dependencies are unclear, going this route.

Dependencies are as per wicd.tcz.dep updated for tc-5.x, i.e.:
Code: [Select]
pygtk.tcz
dbus-python.tcz
urwid.tcz
wpa_supplicant-dbus.tcz
dhcpcd.tcz
net-tools.tcz
ncurses-utils.tcz
shared-mime-info.tcz
hicolor-icon-theme.tcz

jlslegalise has just submitted an update for wpa_supplicant-dbus, take care that you do not have wpa_supplicant loaded at the same time as wpa_supplicant-dbus

Edit: wicd seems to work, copied to 5.x repo.
« Last Edit: January 18, 2014, 10:51:55 PM by Juanito »

Offline eltone

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 137
Re: WiFi Cannot Scan
« Reply #64 on: January 19, 2014, 07:32:52 PM »
Code: [Select]
tc@box:~$ sudo iwconfig wlan0 essid "eltonenetwork"
tc@box:~$ sudo iwconfig wlan0 key 6789abcdef
tc@box:~$ sudo udhcpc -b -i wlan0 -x hostname:box -p /var/run/udhcpc.wlan0.pid
udhcpc (v1.20.2) started
Sending discover...
Sending discover...
Sending discover...
Sending select for 192.168.0.64...
Lease of 192.168.0.64 obtained, lease time 86400
deleting routers
SIOCDELRT: No such process
adding dns 192.168.0.1
tc@box:~$

If you want a static address, then why exactly do you run udhcpc?

hi,
I'm sure the dns server address needs to be changed to surf the net.

On a similar problem distro, 'nameserver 192.168.0.1' was changed to 'nameserver 8.8.8.8' to fix!

CFG locaton:

Code: [Select]
/etc/resolv.conf


Q: How can the  TCP nameserver assignment be altered?
eltone

Offline tinypoodle

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 3857
Re: WiFi Cannot Scan
« Reply #65 on: January 19, 2014, 07:46:47 PM »
Using the search function of this forum often reveals that questions have already been answered   ;) 
http://forum.tinycorelinux.net/index.php/topic,8019.0.html
"Software gets slower faster than hardware gets faster." Niklaus Wirth - A Plea for Lean Software (1995)

Offline eltone

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 137
Re: WiFi Cannot Scan
« Reply #66 on: January 20, 2014, 03:29:35 AM »
I looked back to when I used to have broadcom wifi hardware that worked with b43 and a wap that used wep and this worked for me:
Code: [Select]
$ tce-load -i b43_firmware [oem cut firmware]
$ tce-load -i wireless_tools
[at this point you would need to load rfkill and use it to unblock your hardware]
$ sudo iwconfig wlan0 essid "342rju1656"
$ sudo iwconfig wlan0 key restricted 7D:3A:7C:72:F7:9A:6F:91:DF:CF:C9:AD:CE
$ sudo udhcpc -b -i wlan0 -x hostname:box -p /var/run/udhcpc.wlan0.pid

hi,

CLI BCM4318 indexing to scan/connect to cell using TCP 5.1 is at a stalemate:

Code: [Select]

[To cut your own firmware]

$ wget -c http://www.lwfinger.com/b43-firmware/broadcom-wl-5.100.138.tar.bz2
$ tar xf broadcom-wl-5.100.138.tar.bz2
$ sudo mkdir -p /usr/local/lib/firmware
$ sudo b43-fwcutter -w /usr/local/lib/firmware broadcom-wl-5.100.138/linux/wl_apsta.o

[w/firmware installed, load b43 kernel module]
$ tce-load -i wireless-3.8.13-tinycore
[at this point you would need to load rfkill and use it to unblock your hardware]
$ sudo rfkill unblock wifi
$ sudo iwconfig wlan0 essid "342rju1656"
$ sudo iwconfig wlan0 key restricted 7D:3A:7C:72:F7:9A:6F:91:DF:CF:C9:AD:CE
$ sudo udhcpc -b -i wlan0 -x hostname:box -p /var/run/udhcpc.wlan0.pid


Code: [Select]



tc@box:~$ sudo iwconfig wlan0 essid "eltonenetwork"
tc@box:~$ sudo iwconfig wlan0 key 6789abcdef
tc@box:~$ sudo udhcpc -b -i wlan0 -x hostname:box -p /var/run/udhcpc.wlan0.pid
udhcpc (v1.20.2) started
Sending discover...
Sending discover...
Sending discover...
No lease, forking to background
tc@box:~$



Code: [Select]
tc@box:~$ dmesg
cfg80211: Calling CRDA to update world regulatory domain
b43-phy0: Broadcom 4318 WLAN found (core revision 9)
b43-phy0: Found PHY: Analog 3, Type 2 (G), Revision 7
Broadcom 43xx driver loaded [ Features: PMNL ]
ieee80211 phy0: Selected rate control algorithm 'pid'
b43-phy0: Loading firmware version 666.2 (2011-02-23 01:15:07)
8139too 0000:06:06.0 eth0: link down


Suspect bug in 'cut your own firmware', which wasn't needed w/TCP 4.73.

eltone

Offline Juanito

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 14516
Re: WiFi Cannot Scan
« Reply #67 on: January 20, 2014, 03:44:18 AM »
I've used the linux wireless b43 instructions from tc-1.x to tc-5.x without problems.

Up to you which firmware (cut or firmware-openfww) you'd like to use  :)
« Last Edit: January 20, 2014, 03:46:35 AM by Juanito »

Offline eltone

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 137
Re: WiFi Cannot Scan
« Reply #68 on: January 20, 2014, 09:06:07 AM »
Using the search function of this forum often reveals that questions have already been answered   ;) 
http://forum.tinycorelinux.net/index.php/topic,8019.0.html

Hey tinypoodle!

Followed links instructions, which states  to backup:

Quote
Control Panel > Maintenance > Backup/Restore > (device:sdb1/tce)  > Action:Backup > Go

I must plead ignorance using this Backup/Restore indexing, shouldn't it be done automatically?

Now this error is trapped in the 'backup_status' log, blocking a reboot/shutdown::

Code: [Select]
tar: removing leading '/' from member names

Q: How can a normal reboot/shutdown be restored?
CLI is the only way now.

eltone

Offline eltone

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 137
Re: WiFi Cannot Scan
« Reply #69 on: January 20, 2014, 09:31:52 AM »
I've used the linux wireless b43 instructions from tc-1.x to tc-5.x without problems.

Up to you which firmware (cut or firmware-openfww) you'd like to use  :)

Dear Juanito:

Please post the CLI indexing w/firmware-openfww instead of :

Code: [Select]


[To cut your own firmware]

$ wget -c http://www.lwfinger.com/b43-firmware/broadcom-wl-5.100.138.tar.bz2
$ tar xf broadcom-wl-5.100.138.tar.bz2
$ sudo mkdir -p /usr/local/lib/firmware
$ sudo b43-fwcutter -w /usr/local/lib/firmware broadcom-wl-5.100.138/linux/wl_apsta.o

[w/firmware installed, load b43 kernel module]
$ tce-load -i wireless-3.8.13-tinycore
[at this point you would need to load rfkill and use it to unblock your hardware]
$ sudo rfkill unblock wifi
$ sudo iwconfig wlan0 essid "342rju1656"
$ sudo iwconfig wlan0 key restricted 7D:3A:7C:72:F7:9A:6F:91:DF:CF:C9:AD:CE
$ sudo udhcpc -b -i wlan0 -x hostname:box -p /var/run/udhcpc.wlan0.pid


THX!
eltone

Offline Rich

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 11178
Re: WiFi Cannot Scan
« Reply #70 on: January 20, 2014, 09:48:48 AM »
Hi eltone
Quote
Now this error is trapped in the 'backup_status' log, blocking a reboot/shutdown::

Code: [Select]
tar: removing leading '/' from member names
 
You probably have one or more entries in your  filetool.lst  file that begin with a  /
Lines in  filetool.lst  should not begin with a  /

Offline eltone

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 137
Re: WiFi Cannot Scan
« Reply #71 on: January 20, 2014, 11:27:11 AM »
Hi eltone
Quote
Now this error is trapped in the 'backup_status' log, blocking a reboot/shutdown::

Code: [Select]
tar: removing leading '/' from member names
 
You probably have one or more entries in your  filetool.lst  file that begin with a  /
Lines in  filetool.lst  should not begin with a  /

hi,
Traced bug here:


http://forum.tinycorelinux.net/index.php/topic,8019.0.html


eltone

Offline tinypoodle

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 3857
Re: WiFi Cannot Scan
« Reply #72 on: January 20, 2014, 12:25:42 PM »
Hi eltone
Quote
Now this error is trapped in the 'backup_status' log, blocking a reboot/shutdown::

Code: [Select]
tar: removing leading '/' from member names
 
You probably have one or more entries in your  filetool.lst  file that begin with a  /
Lines in  filetool.lst  should not begin with a  /

hi,
Traced bug here:


http://forum.tinycorelinux.net/index.php/topic,8019.0.html


eltone

Uhmm, traced bug how exactly?
Could you please be more specific/detailed/factual?
???
"Software gets slower faster than hardware gets faster." Niklaus Wirth - A Plea for Lean Software (1995)

Offline eltone

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 137
Re: WiFi Cannot Scan
« Reply #73 on: January 20, 2014, 12:53:26 PM »
Hi eltone
Quote
Now this error is trapped in the 'backup_status' log, blocking a reboot/shutdown::

Code: [Select]
tar: removing leading '/' from member names
 
You probably have one or more entries in your  filetool.lst  file that begin with a  /
Lines in  filetool.lst  should not begin with a  /

hi,
Traced bug here:


http://forum.tinycorelinux.net/index.php/topic,8019.0.html


eltone

Uhmm, traced bug how exactly?
Could you please be more specific/detailed/factual?
???

hi,
contents of filetool.lst:

ACTUAL:
Code: [Select]
opt
home
opt/eth0.sh
/usr/share/udhcpc/default.script

EXPECTED:
Code: [Select]
opt
home
opt/eth0.sh
usr/share/udhcpc/default.script

Following the links dialog generated an extra forward slash that remains a MYSTERY of its origin!

eltone

Offline gerald_clark

  • TinyCore Moderator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 4254
Re: WiFi Cannot Scan
« Reply #74 on: January 20, 2014, 12:56:42 PM »
That is not a bug.  As usual, you did not properly follow the instructions.