WelcomeWelcome | FAQFAQ | DownloadsDownloads | WikiWiki

Author Topic: WiFi Cannot Scan  (Read 37762 times)

Offline eltone

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 137
Re: *SOLVED* WiFi Cannot Scan
« Reply #135 on: February 07, 2014, 03:13:31 PM »
Do you have the same problem connecting to other AP/router or just this one?
hi,

I went from dial-up to DSL is 2010 and am still using the original Motorola 3347 router.

'udhcpc' has never failed w/TCP 4.77 on this hp notebook, but freezes OS every attempt on the hp desktop.

On TCP 5.1/5.2, it's more likely to fail most of the time, no matter the hardware.

eltone

Offline eltone

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 137
CORRECTION!
« Reply #136 on: February 07, 2014, 03:28:05 PM »
Your claims do not match your evidence.
You could not get an IP address  if you were not associated to an access point.

I don't know how you are specifying 4 dns servers. Only 3 can be used.

Dear gerald_clark:

Both APPS & FF are NON functional!  In the past, my ISP dns server addresses needed to be plugged into another linux network-manager, to get FF on-the-net.

4 dns servers were specified when posting this note w/TCP 4.77 w/o a problem.

eltone


Offline eltone

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 137
'dhcpcd' dns clue
« Reply #137 on: February 07, 2014, 04:45:18 PM »
Your claims do not match your evidence.
You could not get an IP address  if you were not associated to an access point.

I don't know how you are specifying 4 dns servers. Only 3 can be used.
hi,

Your post initiated some detective 'dhcpcd' work and found:

Code: [Select]
tc@box:~$ route -n
Kernel IP routing table
Destination     Gateway         Genmask         Flags Metric Ref    Use Iface
0.0.0.0         192.168.0.1     0.0.0.0         UG    304    0        0 wlan0
127.0.0.1       0.0.0.0         255.255.255.255 UH    0      0        0 lo
192.168.0.0     0.0.0.0         255.255.255.0   U     304    0        0 wlan0
tc@box:~$ cat /etc/resolv.conf
# Generated by dhcpcd from wlan0
# /etc/resolv.conf.head can replace this line
nameserver 192.168.0.1
# /etc/resolv.conf.tail can replace this line
tc@box:~$




192.168.0.1 looks suspicious!  Any help, please?
eltone

Offline gerald_clark

  • TinyCore Moderator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 4254
Re: *SOLVED* WiFi Cannot Scan
« Reply #138 on: February 07, 2014, 04:51:28 PM »
Not suspicious.
Your dhcp server is 192.168.0.1.
It also sent itself as the nameserver and router.

- edit -
Do you by any chance have two dhcp servers running?
That would result in havoc.;
« Last Edit: February 07, 2014, 04:53:00 PM by gerald_clark »

Offline eltone

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 137
HOW2 uninstall 'udhcpc'
« Reply #139 on: February 07, 2014, 05:12:35 PM »

Do you by any chance have two dhcp servers running?
That would result in havoc.;

hi,

Today's 'dhcpcd' data posts have the 'udhcpc' DHCP client still enabled!

Q: How is 'udhcpc' uninstalled?  Isn't It part of TCP's original settings . . .
eltone
« Last Edit: February 07, 2014, 05:14:48 PM by eltone »

Offline gerald_clark

  • TinyCore Moderator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 4254
Re: *SOLVED* WiFi Cannot Scan
« Reply #140 on: February 07, 2014, 05:34:43 PM »
Udhcpc is part of busybox.  You disable it by using the nodhcp boot option.

My questions was about having more than one dhcp server on your network.
You got your IP address, router and nameserver form 192.168.0.1.
Were you expecting to get them from a different server?
Having more than one dhcp server on your network may result in random lockups due to IP collisions and incorrect router and dns assignments.

Offline eltone

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 137
Trace Server Count
« Reply #141 on: February 07, 2014, 07:04:40 PM »
Udhcpc is part of busybox.  You disable it by using the nodhcp boot option.

My questions was about having more than one dhcp server on your network.
You got your IP address, router and nameserver form 192.168.0.1.
Were you expecting to get them from a different server?
Having more than one dhcp server on your network may result in random lockups due to IP collisions and incorrect router and dns assignments.

hi,
Boot code 'nodhcp' is whats been used.  My ISP provided the 192.168.0.1 address to plug into the browser for configuring the router and their two nameserver addresses.   Having more than one dhcp server on eltonenetwork should be traced in some way, but HOW?
eltone


Offline gerald_clark

  • TinyCore Moderator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 4254
Re: *SOLVED* WiFi Cannot Scan
« Reply #142 on: February 07, 2014, 07:07:29 PM »
192.168.0.1 is a private IP, not a public IP.
Your ISP did not provide it, though it may be the default for your router.

Offline tinypoodle

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 3857
Re: *SOLVED* WiFi Cannot Scan
« Reply #143 on: February 07, 2014, 08:59:25 PM »
My wild guess would be that DNS server running on gateway device is configured to retrieve DNS from ISPs server, which may be ideal for most use cases and default configuration for most consumer gateways provided by ISPs.
"Software gets slower faster than hardware gets faster." Niklaus Wirth - A Plea for Lean Software (1995)

Offline eltone

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 137
timeout w/dhcpcd
« Reply #144 on: February 08, 2014, 02:36:30 PM »
And if you still don't like udhcpc, you could always use the dhcpcd.tcz extension as in repo instead   ;)


ATT: tc-5.x Support

Re: TCP Current (5.2)

Functioned w/4.x

Code: [Select]

tc@box:$ sudo dhcpcd -h box -X 192.168.0.64 wlan0
dhcpcd[3528]: version 5.2.12 starting
dhcpcd[3528]: wlan0: waiting for carrier
dhcpcd[3528]: timed out
dhcpcd[3528]: allowing 8 seconds for IPv4LL timeout
dhcpcd[3528]: timed out
tc@box:$

Firmware installed ok, suspect 5.x compile is required.
eltone
PS. static IP CLI WLAN route's worth investigating






Offline bmarkus

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 7013
    • My Community Forum
Re: *SOLVED* WiFi Cannot Scan
« Reply #145 on: February 08, 2014, 02:44:46 PM »
Topic marked SOLVED. So what is the issue?
Béla
Ham Radio callsign: HA5DI

"Amateur Radio: The First Technology-Based Social Network."

Offline tinypoodle

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 3857
Re: *SOLVED* WiFi Cannot Scan
« Reply #146 on: February 08, 2014, 03:06:28 PM »
Nota bene: Marked solved since around 17 days resp. 44 posts ago  :o
"Software gets slower faster than hardware gets faster." Niklaus Wirth - A Plea for Lean Software (1995)