WelcomeWelcome | FAQFAQ | DownloadsDownloads | WikiWiki

Author Topic: Core Plus - Ram full  (Read 10629 times)

Offline alouestn1

  • WikiUser
  • *
  • Posts: 14
Core Plus - Ram full
« on: January 05, 2014, 03:00:35 AM »
Hello,
I have a computer with a Pentium 166 Mhz MMX and 80 Mo of Ram.
When the window manager launch, the Ram is full.
Can I disable some extensions to win memory ?

« Last Edit: January 05, 2014, 03:06:03 AM by alouestn1 »

Online Juanito

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 11114
Re: Core Plus - Ram full
« Reply #1 on: January 05, 2014, 03:39:29 AM »
Do you have a swap file?

Offline malikawan

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 243
    • My IP
Re: Core Plus - Ram full
« Reply #2 on: January 05, 2014, 03:54:16 AM »
Juanito How r u hope u will be fine.
Swap file is use as a Ram ?

Malik Awan


"She said she was hot for me, so i gave her a spare heatsink. She didnt seem happy :( I just don't understand women."    — MrRoboto1024.
« Last Edit: January 05, 2014, 03:59:29 AM by malikawan »

Online curaga

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 10070
Re: Core Plus - Ram full
« Reply #3 on: January 05, 2014, 03:55:29 AM »
Is this live or installed? You should install to HD, and only what you need, it should perform better than the live cd.
The only barriers that can stop you are the ones you create yourself.

Online Juanito

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 11114
Re: Core Plus - Ram full
« Reply #4 on: January 05, 2014, 04:07:40 AM »

Online bmarkus

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 7026
    • My Community Forum
Re: Core Plus - Ram full
« Reply #5 on: January 05, 2014, 04:09:18 AM »
Maybe there is a misunderstanding of Linux RAM use. There is 35.7M cached which is a not a used memory in conventional terms and can be used by apps. Of cource you need more memory including swap.

Béla
Ham Radio callsign: HA5DI

"Amateur Radio: The First Technology-Based Social Network."

Offline malikawan

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 243
    • My IP
Re: Core Plus - Ram full
« Reply #6 on: January 05, 2014, 04:14:53 AM »
Maybe there is a misunderstanding of Linux RAM use. There is 35.7M cached which is a not a used memory in conventional terms and can be used by apps. Of cource you need more memory including swap.

Thanx for fast reply Juanito

Offline alouestn1

  • WikiUser
  • *
  • Posts: 14
Re: Core Plus - Ram full
« Reply #7 on: January 05, 2014, 04:54:33 AM »
The Core plus installed on hard disk.

Quote
You should install to HD, and only what you need
How can I choose only what I need to install ?

I have a swap partition. I don't know if it used.
How Can i see if there is a swap file ?



Online bmarkus

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 7026
    • My Community Forum
Re: Core Plus - Ram full
« Reply #8 on: January 05, 2014, 04:58:55 AM »

How Can i see if there is a swap file ?

Use command free in a terminal.
Béla
Ham Radio callsign: HA5DI

"Amateur Radio: The First Technology-Based Social Network."

Offline alouestn1

  • WikiUser
  • *
  • Posts: 14
Re: Core Plus - Ram full
« Reply #9 on: January 05, 2014, 05:04:39 AM »


Offline tinypoodle

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 3857
Re: Core Plus - Ram full
« Reply #10 on: January 05, 2014, 11:06:38 AM »
Code: [Select]
cat /proc/swaps would show details and help differentiating between zram, swapfile, swap partition.
And please prefer posting text, rather than screenshots of terminal.
"Software gets slower faster than hardware gets faster." Niklaus Wirth - A Plea for Lean Software (1995)

Offline alouestn1

  • WikiUser
  • *
  • Posts: 14
Re: Core Plus - Ram full
« Reply #11 on: January 05, 2014, 12:43:25 PM »
Code: (bash) [Select]
tc@box:~$ cat /proc/swaps
Filename Type Size Used Priority
/dev/zram0                              partition 14492 0 -1
/dev/sda2                               partition 297196 0 -2
« Last Edit: January 05, 2014, 12:46:51 PM by alouestn1 »

Offline tinypoodle

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 3857
Re: Core Plus - Ram full
« Reply #12 on: January 05, 2014, 12:50:52 PM »
Not same as what showed in earlier screenshot, but this should be more than sufficient for 80MB of RAM.
"Software gets slower faster than hardware gets faster." Niklaus Wirth - A Plea for Lean Software (1995)

Offline tinypoodle

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 3857
Re: Core Plus - Ram full
« Reply #13 on: January 05, 2014, 12:54:29 PM »
Also, looking at your screenshot, it is not at all clear what your issue is, as swap usage is 0.
"Software gets slower faster than hardware gets faster." Niklaus Wirth - A Plea for Lean Software (1995)

Offline alouestn1

  • WikiUser
  • *
  • Posts: 14
Re: Core Plus - Ram full
« Reply #14 on: January 05, 2014, 01:16:12 PM »
The screenshot with "top" command was with the Wifi support.
I reinstalled meanwhile without Wifi support
The screenshot with "cat /proc/swaps" command is now without Wifi support.
I have 15236k free Mem.

When I try to launch Epiphany web browser, it exit with this errors : (the GUI not start).
Code: (bash) [Select]
touch: /usr/local/tce.installed/gnome-icon-theme: No space left on device
mkdir: can't create directory '/tmp/tcloop/gnome-icon-theme-symbolic': No space left on device
mount: can't setup loop device: No space left on device

Before I launch Epiphany I have 14108K free Mem.
After I launch Epiphany I have 3464K free Mem.

How can I copy the text in from shell to the editor ? What are the shortcuts keys ?
« Last Edit: January 06, 2014, 12:33:43 PM by alouestn1 »