WelcomeWelcome | FAQFAQ | DownloadsDownloads | WikiWiki

Author Topic: [SOLVED]ignore case in aterm  (Read 3529 times)

Offline manit123

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 315
[SOLVED]ignore case in aterm
« on: January 04, 2014, 07:13:42 AM »
I have to take care of case while writing file/folder name in terminal.
In ubuntu , I  added 'set completion-ignore-case On' to  ~/.bashrc . Then on pressing tab , I used to get all suggestions regardless of letter case.
How can I do something similiar in tiny core terminal ?
« Last Edit: January 17, 2014, 07:25:48 AM by manit123 »

Offline bmarkus

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 7183
    • My Community Forum
Re: ignore case in aterm
« Reply #1 on: January 04, 2014, 07:44:49 AM »
It has nothing to do with aterm :(
Béla
Ham Radio callsign: HA5DI

"Amateur Radio: The First Technology-Based Social Network."

Offline Rich

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 11178
Re: ignore case in aterm
« Reply #2 on: January 04, 2014, 08:08:52 AM »
Hi manit123
What happens if you make that:
Code: [Select]
bind 'set completion-ignore-case on'

Offline tinypoodle

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 3857
Re: ignore case in aterm
« Reply #3 on: January 04, 2014, 08:28:22 AM »
In ubuntu , I  added 'set completion-ignore-case On' to  ~/.bashrc . Then on pressing tab , I used to get all suggestions regardless of letter case.
How can I do something similiar in tiny core terminal ?

Are you referring to use of bash or ash (/bin/sh)?
"Software gets slower faster than hardware gets faster." Niklaus Wirth - A Plea for Lean Software (1995)

Offline manit123

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 315
Re: ignore case in aterm
« Reply #4 on: January 05, 2014, 07:53:12 PM »
to Rich
Should I add "bind 'set completion-ignore-case on'" in ~/.ashrc ?

to tinypoodle,
The thing I did in ubuntu was for bash in gnome-terminal .
I want something similiar for ash in aterm .

Offline tinypoodle

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 3857
Re: ignore case in aterm
« Reply #5 on: January 05, 2014, 08:55:16 PM »
to Rich
Should I add "bind 'set completion-ignore-case on'" in ~/.ashrc ?
No, ash doesn't have such a builtin.
Quote
to tinypoodle,
The thing I did in ubuntu was for bash in gnome-terminal .
I want something similiar for ash in aterm .
bash has a plethora of features which ash does not have, so you shouldn't just expect any feature of bash to be provided by ash (I wouldn't know about the specific one, but would rather be surprised if ash would provide it).
As has been mentioned before, the terminal is irrelevant here.
"Software gets slower faster than hardware gets faster." Niklaus Wirth - A Plea for Lean Software (1995)

Offline curaga

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 10957
Re: ignore case in aterm
« Reply #6 on: January 06, 2014, 03:40:30 AM »
Be nice people ;)

manit123, you can just install bash, and then configure aterm to use it by adding "export SHELL=/bin/bash" in your .profile.
The only barriers that can stop you are the ones you create yourself.

Offline manit123

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 315
Re: ignore case in aterm
« Reply #7 on: January 06, 2014, 04:28:11 AM »
tried following (one by one) in  ~/.profile
export SHELL=/bin/bash
export SHELL=/usr/local/bin/bash
Then opened another terminal. Still 'echo $SHELL' says '/bin/sh'

Offline curaga

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 10957
Re: ignore case in aterm
« Reply #8 on: January 06, 2014, 04:39:23 AM »
You need to log out and back for .profile changes to sync.
The only barriers that can stop you are the ones you create yourself.

Offline gerald_clark

  • TinyCore Moderator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 4254
Re: ignore case in aterm
« Reply #9 on: January 06, 2014, 07:09:40 AM »

Offline manit123

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 315
Re: ignore case in aterm
« Reply #10 on: January 13, 2014, 04:14:47 AM »
I added 'export SHELL=/usr/local/bin/bash'  in ~/.wmx/SystemTools/Terminal before 'exec aterm' .
Now 'ignore case' works.
Remember , ~/.ashrc is no longer used , instead 'alias' etc. should be set in ~/.bashrc