General TC > Remasters / Remixes - Unofficial

Official TinyCoreLinux CD

(1/1)

Pats:
Is there any chance, that TCL Team may release a official ISO image of a CD with some Browser, and commonly used software with Security Tools built in - for Prestine State environment - in near future, just like Knoppix3.2 version ?
I think if it will be official, then there might be some guaranty of Secure and Prestine environ..
Just a request..

~Pats

Rich:
Hi Pats
This subject has come up before. One of the concepts behind Tinycore is that it is a toolkit for you to
customize as you see fit, installing the packages you prefer. The problem with pre-packaging is which
browser, window manager, etc. do you include? Ask 5 people and you'll get 5 different answers and 4
different people not satisfied with the choices made.

Pats:
I know, it is already discussed a long time ago. I am not an expert abt the subject, but ordinary TCL users like me are not much capable to create a safer and secure operating environ, hence I tried to push this topic.
As far as, difference of opinion abt which Browser or other software to include/exclude in the OTCL CD is concerned, I think, it is best left to the choice of the Core Team Members/ Creators of TCL - hence I mentioned the term - "like Knoppix3.2" -.
The only criteria abt inclusion of SW should be - the CD should be able to work with mimimum of the resourses - like min. 128MB RAM, with equal amt of SWAP etc - which also should be left to the Core Team.
Others savy users and experts my create their own remastered versions - who - anyhow are capable to do so.
Just a thought ..
~Pats

Misalf:
I'm not capable of providing a solution for this, so just my two cents:

Installing iptables plus any browser (and exclude its config folder from the backup list) should result in a pretty save system.