WelcomeWelcome | FAQFAQ | DownloadsDownloads | WikiWiki

Author Topic: piCore 5.0.alpha3  (Read 33233 times)

Offline bmarkus

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 7183
    • My Community Forum
Re: piCore 5.0.alpha3
« Reply #15 on: September 25, 2013, 07:14:36 AM »
It works here. What are you doing after modifying the file? Try:

Code: [Select]
sudo echo hdmi_drive=2 >> /mnt/mmcblk0p1/config.txt
sudo sync

before doing anything else to force writing back cache to physical media.

There is a

Quote
#hdmi_drive=2

line in the original config file so would be better to remove trailing # than adding it to the end.



« Last Edit: September 25, 2013, 07:16:32 AM by bmarkus »
Béla
Ham Radio callsign: HA5DI

"Amateur Radio: The First Technology-Based Social Network."

Offline sbp

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 429
    • piCorePlayer homepage
Re: piCore 5.0.alpha3
« Reply #16 on: September 25, 2013, 07:41:47 AM »
Nope any change I make is still not present after a reboot?



Offline bmarkus

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 7183
    • My Community Forum
Re: piCore 5.0.alpha3
« Reply #17 on: September 25, 2013, 07:48:08 AM »
Nope any change I make is still not present after a reboot?

Can't reproduce.
Béla
Ham Radio callsign: HA5DI

"Amateur Radio: The First Technology-Based Social Network."

Offline sbp

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 429
    • piCorePlayer homepage
Re: piCore 5.0.alpha3
« Reply #18 on: September 25, 2013, 08:15:23 AM »
Hi bmarkus.

Just tested an idea.

Doing all this via ssh using dropbear results in my previous findings, that changes does not survive a reboot.

However, working directly at the rpi with a keyboard, then the changes do survive a reboot.

So somehow there is a problem using ssh and dropbear.

I don't know if it has any importance but in order to use dropbear, I had to make a password for user tc. But it is not different from what I did in version 4.7.7 and here everything is well also via ssh and dropbear.

Steen

Offline bmarkus

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 7183
    • My Community Forum
Re: piCore 5.0.alpha3
« Reply #19 on: September 25, 2013, 08:25:21 AM »
Have no idea how it can be related to dropbear. My test was done also via SSH but using openssh.
Béla
Ham Radio callsign: HA5DI

"Amateur Radio: The First Technology-Based Social Network."

Offline sbp

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 429
    • piCorePlayer homepage
Re: piCore 5.0.alpha3
« Reply #20 on: September 25, 2013, 11:02:55 AM »
Hi bmarkus

I started from scratch again.

From a clean picore5 I installed Dropbear.
Then made a passwd for tc:
Code: [Select]
sudo passwd tcThen manually started dropbear
Code: [Select]
sudo /usr/local/etc/init.d/dropbear start
Then logged in via SSH and:
Code: [Select]
mount /dev/mmcblk0p1
sudo echo hdmi_drive=2 >> /mnt/mmcblk0p1/config.txt

Then rebooted - I hurrah the change survived a reboot.

********************************************
Then I would like microcore to remember its passwd and to start Dropbear automatically, therefore I made the following changes:
The content of /opt/.filetool.lst:
Code: [Select]
opt
home
etc/passwd
etc/shadow
usr/local/etc/dropbear/dropbear_dss_host_key
usr/local/etc/dropbear/dropbear_rsa_host_key

And the content of /opt/bootlocal.sh
Code: [Select]
#!/bin/sh
# put other system startup commands here
usr/local/etc/init.d/dropbear start

Now Dropbear starts automatically and I can log in using user:tc and password:(the one I just made)  ---   but any changes I make to the /mnt/mmcblk0p1/config.txt file does not survive a reboot

**********************************************
If I instead changes the content of /opt/.filetool.lst to  (removes etc/shadow) :
Code: [Select]
opt
home
etc/passwd
usr/local/etc/dropbear/dropbear_dss_host_key
usr/local/etc/dropbear/dropbear_rsa_host_key

Then Dropbear still starts but microcore does not remember the passwd for tc, so I cant log in via SSH until I via keyboard connected to rpi make a password again like
Code: [Select]
sudo passwd tc
Then I momentarily can connect from another computer via SSH, and any change I make to the /mnt/mmcblk0p1/config.txt file can survive a reboot.

So I think somehow the user management/password is involved in the problem or the etc/shadow backup in the .filetool.lst?

Steen

 
« Last Edit: September 25, 2013, 11:09:34 AM by sbp »

Offline sbp

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 429
    • piCorePlayer homepage
Re: piCore 5.0.alpha3
« Reply #21 on: September 26, 2013, 06:14:26 AM »
Hi bmarkus

What do you think about this problem?
Do you think that it could be something about the password or user management in version5 compared with version 4.7.7 ?

Steen

Offline bmarkus

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 7183
    • My Community Forum
Re: piCore 5.0.alpha3
« Reply #22 on: September 26, 2013, 06:38:23 AM »
No idea. Sounds local probéem, not related to piCore 5.0alphax

Can't reproduce.
Béla
Ham Radio callsign: HA5DI

"Amateur Radio: The First Technology-Based Social Network."

Offline sbp

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 429
    • piCorePlayer homepage
Re: piCore 5.0.alpha3
« Reply #23 on: September 26, 2013, 09:27:31 AM »
No idea. Sounds local probéem, not related to piCore 5.0alphax

Can't reproduce.

I'm really sorry that you can't reproduce using dropbear.

Can you spot if I have done anything wrong in my post above?

I will give it one more try, otherwise I will stick to version 4.7.7 which is working fine.

Steen

Offline bmarkus

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 7183
    • My Community Forum
Re: piCore 5.0.alpha3
« Reply #24 on: September 26, 2013, 10:47:30 AM »
Can you make a copy of your SD card with DD and send it?
Béla
Ham Radio callsign: HA5DI

"Amateur Radio: The First Technology-Based Social Network."

Offline sbp

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 429
    • piCorePlayer homepage
Re: piCore 5.0.alpha3
« Reply #25 on: September 26, 2013, 12:25:36 PM »
Hi bmarkus

Here is a link to the image. : http://rapidshare.com/share/13300978A521499EC521F8221763E0B5

I have once again started from scratch and only installed dropbear, made a password for tc and change .filletool.lst and opt/bootlocal.sh

Dropbear is starting automatically and you login with user=tc   password=nosoup4u

Once again you can't save changes to the config.txt file via SSH but it saves fine when directly connected.

You will have to mount the mmcblk0p1 first:
mount /mnt/mmcblk0p1

Hope you find the problem.

Steen

Offline bmarkus

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 7183
    • My Community Forum
Re: piCore 5.0.alpha3
« Reply #26 on: September 26, 2013, 03:11:20 PM »
Hi Steen

will take a look during the weekend.

Bela
Béla
Ham Radio callsign: HA5DI

"Amateur Radio: The First Technology-Based Social Network."

Offline bmarkus

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 7183
    • My Community Forum
Re: piCore 5.0.alpha3
« Reply #27 on: September 27, 2013, 02:20:49 AM »
Steen

tested with your image. Procedure works correctly as expected. Logging via SSH I can add a text line to config.txt as you described. After rebooting the previously appended line is there and config.txt file time is correctly indicates time of modification. It works, can't reproduce your situation.

Regards... Bela
Béla
Ham Radio callsign: HA5DI

"Amateur Radio: The First Technology-Based Social Network."

Offline sbp

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 429
    • piCorePlayer homepage
Re: piCore 5.0.alpha3
« Reply #28 on: September 28, 2013, 06:20:46 AM »
Hi bmarkus


Thank you very much for looking into this.

I really had tried to understand this problem, but as you were unable to confirm even with my own image - then the problem must be at my end. That made me think it all over again, and the only difference I could see was that we used different SD-cards.
Therefore, I purchased a new card, and voila now it is working. So my old card seem to be responsible for my issue - and I will try to see if I can figure out how?

Onece again thank you for your tremendous support.  Everything is fine now.

Steen

Offline bmarkus

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 7183
    • My Community Forum
Re: piCore 5.0.alpha3
« Reply #29 on: September 28, 2013, 10:39:43 AM »
Steen

glad to hear your problem solved. Still I do not understand how it happened.

Bela
Béla
Ham Radio callsign: HA5DI

"Amateur Radio: The First Technology-Based Social Network."