WelcomeWelcome | FAQFAQ | DownloadsDownloads | WikiWiki

Author Topic: libreoffice-gnome.sce has no icons  (Read 5789 times)

Offline netnomad

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1027
libreoffice-gnome.sce has no icons
« on: September 14, 2013, 08:08:53 AM »
hi friends,

i configured a pretty lean dCore-fluxbox-environment with libreoffice-gnome,
but there are no icons in the menues and panels of libreoffice.
during the import of libreoffice-gnome occured no problem at all,
loadsce showed no errors.
the libreoffice-icon does not appear in wbar,
but all sub-programs of libreoffice are shown in the Application-menue.

thank you for your help in advance!
« Last Edit: September 14, 2013, 08:15:45 AM by netnomad »

Offline Jason W

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 9659
Re: libreoffice-gnome.sce has no icons
« Reply #1 on: September 15, 2013, 06:34:38 AM »
Some apps like libreoffice are not going to have icons available in /usr/share/pixmaps, therefore will not be available for wbar.  Since this is a large and popular one, I made icons available there.   Re-import libreoffice or libreoffice-gnome and see if they appear. 

Offline netnomad

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1027
Re: libreoffice-gnome.sce has no icons
« Reply #2 on: September 15, 2013, 01:06:37 PM »
hi jason w,

with the actual import wbar offers icons,
but nevertheless libreoffice and libreoffice-gnome have no icons in their own menues...
you can see it in the attached screenshot.

btw when i try to open the option-menue libreoffice crashes :(

thank you for your help.
« Last Edit: September 15, 2013, 01:13:22 PM by netnomad »

Offline Jason W

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 9659
Re: libreoffice-gnome.sce has no icons
« Reply #3 on: September 15, 2013, 06:57:35 PM »
I looked into the crash when opening the options menu, I see it mentioned in forums and bug reports but it does not happen on Wheezy on my machine.  I tried looking for missing files, missing deps, etc, and could not find the answer yet.  I will check it out more later.

No icons in libreoffice's own menus?  I don't think they are there in wheezy either, so it is just how libreoffice was built by Debian in that case.

EDIT:  Ok, I compared with wheezy and I see the difference.  I will look into it.
« Last Edit: September 15, 2013, 07:02:17 PM by Jason W »

Offline Jason W

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 9659
Re: libreoffice-gnome.sce has no icons
« Reply #4 on: September 18, 2013, 07:13:47 PM »
Tools -> Options opens in libreoffice, just crashes in libreoffice-gnome.  Tells me there is a missing dependency somewhere.  At least that helps narrow down what the issue likely is.

Offline Jason W

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 9659
Re: libreoffice-gnome.sce has no icons
« Reply #5 on: November 19, 2013, 05:26:39 PM »
After much googling, it seems in other cases an upgrade to libreoffice solved the issue.  Though this crash is not seen on Wheezy with this same package, nor is it seen in dCore in a non-gtk2 environment an upgrade to libreoffice 4.1 eliminates this issue.  Given that, I will post a libreoffice4.1 and libreoffice4.1-locale packages to allow a fully functional libreoffice in dCore since the inabitlity to access the options menu is a critical flaw..
« Last Edit: November 19, 2013, 05:28:25 PM by Jason W »

Offline netnomad

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1027
Re: libreoffice-gnome.sce has no icons
« Reply #6 on: November 19, 2013, 10:26:07 PM »
hi jason w,

would you be so kind and give a short message, when it's uploaded?
thank you for your contribution.
« Last Edit: November 19, 2013, 10:32:12 PM by netnomad »

Offline Jason W

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 9659
Re: libreoffice-gnome.sce has no icons
« Reply #7 on: November 20, 2013, 11:11:32 AM »
libreoffice4.1 is now uploaded.  I am running it now with only flwm_topside, Xprogs, and xorg-all installed.

All seems to be working.

"importsce libreoffice4.1"   command to see sdk and langpacks available.  I have downloaded the 4.3.1.2 main tarball and all langpacks to work from, please post any desired langpack that is not already available, I am uploading the most used, the es, it, ru, sv, zh-cn, uk, etc first and will go from there.  I plan to stick to 4.3.1.2 version for the life of dCore 5.x in the Debian stable tradition in the absence of showstopper bugs but will be glad to include any desired missing langpacks and go from there.  Langpacks and sdk do not have dependencies, assumed that libreoofice4.1 is installed to reduce redundant download.

Oh, and this package conflicts with the Debian libreoffice* package when used from the menu, but it is assumed that upon installing libreoffice4.1 it is being installed in place of the Debian version, since Debian's libreoffice is broken in a gtk2 environment.  For minimal non-gtk use, just install Debian's libreoffice if non gtk use is desired.
« Last Edit: November 20, 2013, 06:01:40 PM by Jason W »

Offline netnomad

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1027
Re: libreoffice-gnome.sce has no icons
« Reply #8 on: November 21, 2013, 04:30:21 AM »
hi jason w,

thank you very much for your libreoffice4.1-contributions.

i tested it intensively and want to give you some infos about my experiences:

1. libreoffice4.1 offers now all icons and as fas as i could examine the started applications should work fine.
2. the icon doesn't appear in my wbar
3. the application menue offers all different libreoffice-programs as base, calc, impress and write, but they don't start over this fluxbox-ondemand-menue.
4. in a terminal the command "libreoffice4.1" starts the main programm flawless and the other sub-programs can be started from there.
5. my standard environment with xorg, xterm, fluxbox, iceweasel, icedove, jpilot, cups, epdfviewer, gthumb and only few more little programs need 700mb ram from 1gb ram. after loadsce libreoffice4.1 round about 850mb ram are needed.

after loading libreoffice4.1 the two mozilla-programs iceweasel and icedove stop working and i get following error message:
tc@box:~$ iceweasel
XPCOMGlueLoad error for file /tmp/tcloop/mydesktop/usr/lib/iceweasel/xulrunner/l
libxul.so: cannot open shared object file: No such file or directory
Couldn't load XPCOM.

again thank you for offering libreoffice4.1 to the community.
perhaps you have some hints and ideas to improve my configuration.
« Last Edit: November 21, 2013, 04:33:09 AM by netnomad »

Offline Jason W

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 9659
Re: libreoffice-gnome.sce has no icons
« Reply #9 on: November 21, 2013, 05:56:41 AM »
On the iceweasel and icedove issue there should not be a conflict.

What is the output of the command -

env | grep PATH

?

Offline netnomad

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1027
Re: libreoffice-gnome.sce has no icons
« Reply #10 on: November 21, 2013, 07:56:39 AM »
hi jason w,

that are my outputs:

tc@box:~$ env | grep PATH
PATH=/home/tc/.local/bin:/usr/local/sbin:/usr/local/bin:/usr/sbin:/usr/bin:/sbin:/bin:/usr/games:/bb:/etc/sysconfig/tcedir/ondemand
WINDOWPATH=7
QT_PLUGIN_PATH=/usr/local/lib/kde4/plugins

tc@box:~$ uname -a
Linux box 3.8.10-tinycore #3810 SMP Tue Apr 30 15:45:26 UTC 2013 i686 GNU/Linux
« Last Edit: November 21, 2013, 07:59:29 AM by netnomad »

Offline Jason W

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 9659
Re: libreoffice-gnome.sce has no icons
« Reply #11 on: November 21, 2013, 08:36:35 AM »
Ok, so there should be no PATH conflict.  I imported and used firefox after installing and loading libreoffice4.1, but that is firefox and not the Debian builds.  I will be able to look more in to it when I get in this evening.

Offline Jason W

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 9659
Re: libreoffice-gnome.sce has no icons
« Reply #12 on: November 21, 2013, 08:39:18 PM »
It is the libnspr4 package that once needed a startup script to deal with broken symlinks but needs no more startup script, it has been removed as it is now what seems to be causing issue.  Seems to have something to do with the libnspr4-0d transition package.

Re-importing any sce's that contain libnspr4 should fix the issue.

Offline Jason W

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 9659
Re: libreoffice-gnome.sce has no icons
« Reply #13 on: November 22, 2013, 05:14:42 PM »
I see now that if you want to keep your old sce's and not re-import, just import a new libnspr4-0d and place it at the beginning of your sceboot.lst file.

That will prevent the error from the combination of loading old and new sce's that are affected by this issue.


Offline netnomad

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1027
Re: libreoffice-gnome.sce has no icons
« Reply #14 on: November 25, 2013, 03:14:03 AM »
I see now that if you want to keep your old sce's and not re-import, just import a new libnspr4-0d and place it at the beginning of your sceboot.lst file.
That will prevent the error from the combination of loading old and new sce's that are affected by this issue.

hi jason,

is it essential to make a separate ibnspr4-0d.sce placed at the beginning of my sceboot.lst file?

my sceboot.lst contains:
kernel-all-3.8.10-tinycore
filesystems-3.8.10-tinycore
hwmon-3.8.10-tinycore
graphics-3.8.10-tinycore
v4l-dvb-3.8.10-tinycore
alsa-modules-3.8.10-tinycore
mydesktop

i inserted ibnspr4-0d in my individual sce called mydesktop.sce:
Xprogs
wbar
xorg-all
grep
bash
screen
mc
ssh
iptables
fluxbox
fail2ban
laptop-mode-tools
pm-utils
libnspr4-0d
iceweasel
icedove
cups
cups-driver-gutenprint
hplip-cups
jpilot
gnupg
rsync
epdfview
gthumb

and i freshly imported libreoffice4.1.sce.

unfortunately i experienced the same result :(

tc@box:~$ libreoffice4.1
### libreoffice works fine :)

tc@box:~$ iceweasel
XPCOMGlueLoad error for file /tmp/tcloop/mydesktop/usr/lib/iceweasel/xulrunner/l
libxul.so: cannot open shared object file: No such file or directory
Couldn't load XPCOM.
### iceweasel doesn't start :(

tc@box:~$ icedove
XPCOMGlueLoad error for file /tmp/tcloop/mydesktop/usr/lib/icedove/libxpcom.so:
libssl3.so: cannot open shared object file: No such file or directory
Couldn't load XPCOM.
### icedove doesn't start :(

should i exclude libnspr4-0d in a separate sce?
it's so huge that it explodes my whole setup...

thank you for your time and patience to help.
« Last Edit: November 25, 2013, 03:23:54 AM by netnomad »