WelcomeWelcome | FAQFAQ | DownloadsDownloads | WikiWiki

Author Topic: Core v5.0rc1  (Read 33565 times)

Offline coreplayer2

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 3020
Re: Core v5.0rc1
« Reply #90 on: September 06, 2013, 06:46:37 AM »
Yes I don't doubt evince will load, but try to open a PDF document without schema extension loaded
if evince is opened from a terminal you'll see the error
« Last Edit: September 06, 2013, 08:06:51 PM by coreplayer2 »

Online Juanito

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 11106
Re: Core v5.0rc1
« Reply #91 on: September 06, 2013, 08:53:41 AM »
Ah - I thought you meant that evince wouldn't start - modified dep file uploaded

Offline coreplayer2

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 3020
Re: Core v5.0rc1
« Reply #92 on: September 07, 2013, 08:09:13 PM »
Updates fail on occasions also and I haven't yet been able to determine why,  worth checking if above reason is the culprit.


Sent from my iPad using Tapatalk HD
« Last Edit: September 07, 2013, 08:14:09 PM by coreplayer2 »

Offline coreplayer2

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 3020
Re: Core v5.0rc1
« Reply #93 on: September 07, 2013, 08:18:32 PM »
Firefox v21 appears to function well in tc-5.x (despite the known minor glitch when opened from a terminal), feels like a full featured browser much like Chromium.  Honestly am not sure which browser I prefer?

Thanks


Sent from my iPad using Tapatalk HD

Offline coreplayer2

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 3020
Re: Core v5.0rc1
« Reply #94 on: September 07, 2013, 08:21:23 PM »
I use the old submitqc4 version from a tc-4.7.7 VM
For the time being


Sent from my iPad using Tapatalk HD

gordonselfish

  • Guest
Re: Core v5.0rc1
« Reply #95 on: September 08, 2013, 04:26:02 PM »
Earlier I thought I had found a bug in APPS when size was missing

APPS is still failing for some apps but it no longer true to fail on only missing size as per image


click on image to zoom if interested

Of course it could be my tce/optional is somehow borked but I don't know enough to test this.

edit  maybe an issue pcre-dev
« Last Edit: September 11, 2013, 06:28:51 AM by gordonselfish »

Offline roberts

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 7361
  • Founder Emeritus
Re: Core v5.0rc1
« Reply #96 on: September 08, 2013, 11:47:31 PM »
Please stop posting about 5.x extensions in the release candidate area. Extensions are not in the base and are created and maintained seperately.
Using the release candidate area as a catch all just compounds the task of trying to monitor any real issues within the base system.
We have an extension area for the very purpose of tracking extension issues. Please include 5.x in the title area for any extension issues posted there.
« Last Edit: September 08, 2013, 11:50:46 PM by roberts »
10+ Years Contributing to Linux Open Source Projects.

gordonselfish

  • Guest
Re: Core v5.0rc1
« Reply #97 on: September 09, 2013, 03:14:43 AM »
okey dokey

I shall remove as many of my posts on such as I can

Offline andyj

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 760
Re: Core v5.0rc1
« Reply #98 on: September 09, 2013, 06:25:20 AM »
I've found an issue with tce-load in TC5rc1, I don't know if previous versions are affected. At line 157 there is a check for kernel modules in the extension, which is done by checking for the existence of a modules directory. I've notice that several extensions have such a directory but are for application modules, not kernel modules. This throws an error such as "ash: /some/dir/name/modules: unknown operand". I suggest that the line be changed from:
[ `find /tmp/tcloop/"$APPNAME" -type d -name modules` ] && MODULES=TRUE
to
[ -n "$(find /tmp/tcloop/"$APPNAME" \( -name '*.ko' -o -name '*.ko.gz' \))" ] && MODULES=TRUE
Look for what we are really looking for.
« Last Edit: September 09, 2013, 07:38:57 AM by andyj »

Offline wt

  • WikiUser
  • *
  • Posts: 4
    • my blog
Re: Core v5.0rc1
« Reply #99 on: September 10, 2013, 04:37:43 PM »
Is kexec supported in this version? I have an PXE installer that I've written that uses tinycore as the base, and it'd be super useful to be able to kexec into the new system.

Also, will adding an extension with firmware (like say the bnx2x firmware) cause the modules to be reloaded so that the firmware can be properly loaded? I currently have to explode the extensions into a remaster initrd to make the bnx2x load properly.

Thanks,
wt

Offline gerald_clark

  • TinyCore Moderator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 4254
Re: Core v5.0rc1
« Reply #100 on: September 10, 2013, 04:47:10 PM »
Please keep discussion here to V5 testing.

Offline yoshi314

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 133
Re: Core v5.0rc1
« Reply #101 on: September 11, 2013, 12:43:16 AM »
for some reason tce-update keeps failing.

i have to comment out part where the script attempts to mount tcedir -  then it proceeds correctly. otherwise i get error about being unable to locate tcedir.

that is when running system normally, with tcedir and extensions mounted.