WelcomeWelcome | FAQFAQ | DownloadsDownloads | WikiWiki

Author Topic: what do I need to set up a cross development on Windows?  (Read 2628 times)

Offline richard chen

what do I need to set up a cross development on Windows?
« on: July 24, 2013, 03:27:40 PM »
Hi all, I am new to TC and would appreciate if anyone can offer some advices on what I need to do in order to set up a cross development environment on my Windows 7 PC for my TC-based x86 application development.

Here is what I want to do:

- Install eclipse on my Windows PC ---- Completed
- Find or download a GNU toolchain that supports TC development, and add it into the Eclipse --- Not Completed

Is there any prebuilt toolchain that I can download which can be used for x86/Tiny Core application development? Or what options do I have otherwise in order to do the cross development?

The task that I am trying to complete is: Develop an application that runs on the TC installed on USB drive, the application will memory map some PCI memory into its process space and do some read/write.

Thanks in advance,
Richard

Offline gerald_clark

• TinyCore Moderator
Re: what do I need to set up a cross development on Windows?
« Reply #1 on: July 24, 2013, 04:10:03 PM »
Why not use the compiletc.tcz that runs under TC?

Offline tinypoodle

« Reply #2 on: July 24, 2013, 04:21:36 PM »
If you MUST compile under windows, have you considered running Core in a VM?
"Software gets slower faster than hardware gets faster." Niklaus Wirth - A Plea for Lean Software (1995)

Online Rich

• Administrator
« Reply #3 on: July 24, 2013, 05:56:33 PM »
Hi richard chen
You probably want to look into either  MinGW  or  Cygwin. I'm doing just the opposite of what you are looking to do.
I compile my programs under Linux using gcc and use gdb to debug them. I then use use a MinGW cross compiler
under Linux to create executables that run under Windows. There is a version of gdb available that will run under