WelcomeWelcome | FAQFAQ | DownloadsDownloads | WikiWiki

Author Topic: Tiny Core 5.0 Alpha 3 Testing  (Read 40451 times)

Offline Juanito

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 10962
Re: Tiny Core 5.0 Alpha 3 Testing
« Reply #90 on: July 14, 2013, 01:22:04 AM »
I have to load graphics-3.8.10-tinycore;  without it is no way, even if onboot.lst has Xorg-7.7-3d.tcz
Also I manualy loaded the missing depencency (I saw errors in /var/log/Xorg.0.log) like libffi.tcz and llvm-lib.tcz
...
EDIT2: it works, but maybe I need the firmware

Thanks for reporting.

I copied over firmware-radeon from the tc-4.x repo (as a temporary measure until coreplayer2's updated extension is posted) and added this and graphics-KERNEL to the xf86-video-ati deps.

I also added llvm-lib to Xorg-7.7-3d deps - a little reluctantly as it is somewhat large, but then again, so is Xorg-7.7-3d...
« Last Edit: July 14, 2013, 02:43:30 AM by Juanito »

Offline nick65go

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 231
Re: Tiny Core 5.0 Alpha 3 Testing
« Reply #91 on: July 14, 2013, 06:56:55 AM »
Juanito, let me explain my test results again please:

I deleted from Xorg-7.7.tcz.dep the rows xf86-video-fbdev and xf86-video-vesa and added xf86-video-ati (just for testing)
then I have rebooted with bootcodes BASE and NORESTORE, and manualy tce-loaded Xorg-7.7.tcz
startx gave me an error like "failed in waiting for X"
I then tce-loaded graphics-3.8 and after stratx I had a high resolution + black background + nice cursor + right click menu
So graphics-3.8 is need even for 2D no acceleration, in my ATI X1400 case.
 
I loaded then wbar and one shade appeared at the bottom screen, after loading aterm.tcz here goes the terminal icon,
then I loaded Xprog.tcz and full tinycore apparence is now shown.
My synaptics touchpad is not automaticaly full working (no vertical/horizontal scroll no two thingers scroll etc) , I think I will give him a proper config rule in /etc/X11/xconf.d/

My conclusion: As long as an appropriate Xorg driver is loaded (radeon), then is no need for libffi.tcz and llvm-lib.tcz, theese libs are just for backup software render
The firmware is not needed to have 2D screen. Only for 3D acceleration we need it. I hope all is clear now.

PS: If you look over at Xlibs.tcz.dep you will see that is included in full into Xorg-7.7-bin.tcz.dep

EDIT: I used flwm.tcz, not flwm_topside.tcz, and the aterm is NOT mouse autofocus. I opend two aterms, type something in aterm1, move mouse cursor on aterm2, kept typing, but the characters apeared still in aterm1, not in aterm2 windows as expected.
« Last Edit: July 14, 2013, 07:17:07 AM by nick65go »

Offline Juanito

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 10962
Re: Tiny Core 5.0 Alpha 3 Testing
« Reply #92 on: July 14, 2013, 09:50:37 AM »
Juanito, let me explain my test results again please:
Thanks for the feedback  :)

Quote
So graphics-3.8 is need even for 2D no acceleration, in my ATI X1400 case.
Agreed, I added graphics-KERNEL to xf86-video-ati.tcz.dep earlier today

Quote
I loaded then wbar and one shade appeared at the bottom screen, after loading aterm.tcz here goes the terminal icon,
then I loaded Xprog.tcz and full tinycore apparence is now shown.
I guess the question is whether to make Xprogs a dep of Xorg-7.7 or not?

Quote
My synaptics touchpad is not automaticaly full working (no vertical/horizontal scroll no two thingers scroll etc)
Did you load xf86-input-synaptics?

Quote
My conclusion: As long as an appropriate Xorg driver is loaded (radeon), then is no need for libffi.tcz and llvm-lib.tcz, these libs are just for backup software render
Agreed, I added llvm-lib (libffi is a dep of llvm-lib) as a dep of Xorg-7.7-3d earlier today

Quote
The firmware is not needed to have 2D screen. Only for 3D acceleration we need it. I hope all is clear now.
I don't have any ati/radeon hardware - is that the case for all cards?

Quote
EDIT: I used flwm.tcz, not flwm_topside.tcz, and the aterm is NOT mouse autofocus. I opend two aterms, type something in aterm1, move mouse cursor on aterm2, kept typing, but the characters apeared still in aterm1, not in aterm2 windows as expected.
flwm is light and simple - I guess you have to click in the second aterm window  ;)

Offline tinypoodle

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 3857
Re: Tiny Core 5.0 Alpha 3 Testing
« Reply #93 on: July 14, 2013, 10:37:37 AM »
I used flwm.tcz, not flwm_topside.tcz, and the aterm is NOT mouse autofocus. I opend two aterms, type something in aterm1, move mouse cursor on aterm2, kept typing, but the characters apeared still in aterm1, not in aterm2 windows as expected.

This has come up before, it's a compile time option.
"Software gets slower faster than hardware gets faster." Niklaus Wirth - A Plea for Lean Software (1995)

Offline nick65go

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 231
Re: Tiny Core 5.0 Alpha 3 Testing
« Reply #94 on: July 14, 2013, 10:51:34 AM »
I used flwm.tcz, not flwm_topside.tcz, and the aterm is NOT mouse autofocus. I opend two aterms, type something in aterm1, move mouse cursor on aterm2, kept typing, but the characters apeared still in aterm1, not in aterm2 windows as expected.

This has come up before, it's a compile time option.

OK, thanks for info, I understand, it is the same for both flwm.tcz and flwm_topside.tcz. I just said that my preference was for autofocus.

Offline nick65go

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 231
Re: Tiny Core 5.0 Alpha 3 Testing
« Reply #95 on: July 14, 2013, 10:57:57 AM »
Quote
The firmware is not needed to have 2D screen. Only for 3D acceleration we need it. I hope all is clear now.
I don't have any ati/radeon hardware - is that the case for all cards?

The IT is not my work field it is my hoby, so I have just a laptop with this video card.

Offline nick65go

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 231
Re: Tiny Core 5.0 Alpha 3 Testing
« Reply #96 on: July 14, 2013, 11:15:40 AM »

Quote
I loaded then wbar and one shade appeared at the bottom screen, after loading aterm.tcz here goes the terminal icon,
then I loaded Xprog.tcz and full tinycore apparence is now shown.
I guess the question is whether to make Xprogs a dep of Xorg-7.7 or not?

Quote
My synaptics touchpad is not automaticaly full working (no vertical/horizontal scroll no two thingers scroll etc)
Did you load xf86-input-synaptics?

There is no problem with Xporgs, I only described my test process steps.

I forgot to load synaptics; but after I manualy loaded I have two fingers vertical scroll but is not working vertical/horizontal scroll:
I just need to know where/when to insert my 00-myXorg.conf. Also kmaps for fr-pc.kmap is OK in console just before X start but not in Xorg
Please help to make this file to be taken into account - keyboard and synaptics- it works in archlinux (it is a pain in **** with US keyboard to type here from opera9)

# Additional options may be added in the form of Option "OptionName" "value"
Section "InputClass"
   Identifier "evdev touchpad catchall"
   MatchIsTouchpad "on"
   MatchDevicePath "/dev/input/event*"
   Driver "evdev"
EndSection

# Avoid add a device twice as /dev/input/eventX and as /dev/input/mou.
Section "InputClass"
   Identifier "synaptics touchpad"
   MatchIsTouchpad "on"
  # avoid non-event (mouse) devices being assigned to synaptics.
   MatchDevicePath "/dev/input/event*"
   Driver "synaptics"
  # tune up all my benefits:
   Option "TapButton1" "1"
   Option "TapButton2" "2"
   Option "TapButton3" "3"
   Option "SHMConfig" "1"
   Option "VertEdgeScroll" "on"
   Option "VertTwoFingerScroll" "on"
   Option "HorizEdgeScroll" "on"
   Option "HorizTwoFingerScroll" "on"

   Option "CircularScrolling" "on"
   Option "CircScrollTrigger" "2"
   Option "EmulateTwoFingerMinZ" "0"
   #Option "EmulateWheel" "true"
   #Option "EmulateWheelButton" "2"
   #Option "Emulate3Buttons" "false"
   #Option "XAxisMapping" "6 7"
   #Option "YAxisMapping" "4 5"
   #Option "ZAxisMapping" "4 5 6 7"
EndSection

# My mouse is here:
Section "InputClass"
   Identifier "evdev pointer catchall"
   MatchIsPointer "on"
   MatchDevicePath "/dev/input/event*"
   Driver "evdev"
EndSection

Section "InputClass"
   Identifier "touchpad ignore duplicates"
   MatchIsTouchpad "on"
   MatchDevicePath "/dev/input/mouse*"
   Option "Ignore" "on"
EndSection

# My keyboard is here:
Section "InputClass"
   Identifier "evdev keyboard catchall"
   MatchIsKeyboard "on"
   MatchDevicePath "/dev/input/event*"
   Driver "evdev"
  #some extra keys, safe fallback is "pc105", list of models in /usr/share/X11/xkb/rules/xorg
   Option "XkbModel" "inspiron"
  #list my layouts, from /usr/share/X11/xkb/symbols/*
   Option "XkbLayout" "fr"
  #variants for each of the layouts given in XkbLayoutm see in /usr/share/X11/xkb/symbols/<layout>
   Option "XkbVariant" "azerty"
  #how switch layouts, what led notification, euro-sign
   Option "XkbOptions" "terminate:ctrl_alt_bksp, grp:ctrls_toggle"
  #extras in  /usr/share/X11/xkb/rules/xorg
   Option "XkbRules" "xorg"
EndSection

# Hm, not for my laptop...
Section "InputClass"
   Identifier "evdev tablet catchall"
   MatchIsTablet "on"
   MatchDevicePath "/dev/input/event*"
   Driver "evdev"
EndSection

Section "InputClass"
   Identifier "evdev touchscreen catchall"
   MatchIsTouchscreen "on"
   MatchDevicePath "/dev/input/event*"
   Driver "evdev"
EndSection

# Collection of quirks and blacklist/whitelists for specific devices.
Section "InputClass"
   Identifier "Sample accelerometer blacklist"
   MatchProduct "ThinkPad HDAPS accelerometer data"
   Option "Ignore" "on"
EndSection

Thank you

Offline Juanito

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 10962
Re: Tiny Core 5.0 Alpha 3 Testing
« Reply #97 on: July 14, 2013, 08:17:31 PM »
I just need to know where/when to insert my 00-myXorg.conf.
You need to create /etc/X11/xorg.conf

Quote
Also kmaps for fr-pc.kmap is OK in console just before X start but not in Xorg
Please help to make this file to be taken into account - keyboard and synaptics- it works in archlinux (it is a pain in **** with US keyboard to type here from opera9)
Somebody else will need to help with this one, I only ever use a us keyboard.

Offline bmarkus

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 7003
    • My Community Forum
Re: Tiny Core 5.0 Alpha 3 Testing
« Reply #98 on: July 14, 2013, 10:27:19 PM »
Béla
Ham Radio callsign: HA5DI

"Amateur Radio: The First Technology-Based Social Network."

Offline bmarkus

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 7003
    • My Community Forum
Re: Tiny Core 5.0 Alpha 3 Testing
« Reply #99 on: July 14, 2013, 11:35:50 PM »
Maybe it was already mentioned, alpha3 display alpha2 version number during boot, same for version command. Just mentioning for alpha4

 
Béla
Ham Radio callsign: HA5DI

"Amateur Radio: The First Technology-Based Social Network."

Offline Juanito

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 10962
Re: Tiny Core 5.0 Alpha 3 Testing
« Reply #100 on: July 15, 2013, 12:15:06 AM »
It was mentioned - I was hoping for rc1  :)

Offline coreplayer2

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 3020
Re: Tiny Core 5.0 Alpha 3 Testing
« Reply #101 on: July 15, 2013, 01:23:04 AM »
rc1  ;D   luv it

Offline coreplayer2

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 3020
Re: Tiny Core 5.0 Alpha 3 Testing
« Reply #102 on: July 15, 2013, 01:41:25 AM »
been working on Realtek drivers all day.  Aparently the in tree drivers are not cooperating well, and neither are the Realtex versions.  Luckily there is a guy over at the githib who is maintaining Realtek drivers for the 8188/8192cu wireless devices ported for 3.8.x kernel  and they work great.

Apparently there are a couple of functions within the latest Realtek drivers which are no longer supported in 3.8.x kernel, making compiling imposible.

will submit an extension asap,  good news is no firmware needed and supported under GPLv2


Offline curaga

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 10021
Re: Tiny Core 5.0 Alpha 3 Testing
« Reply #103 on: July 15, 2013, 02:17:54 AM »
Re radeon status:

Both 2d and 3d require the kernel module. The kernel module requires firmware.
All radeon 3d requires LLVM. Radeon 2d works without llvm.
The only barriers that can stop you are the ones you create yourself.

Offline tinypoodle

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 3857
Re: Tiny Core 5.0 Alpha 3 Testing
« Reply #104 on: July 15, 2013, 03:08:53 AM »
been working on Realtek drivers all day.  Aparently the in tree drivers are not cooperating well, and neither are the Realtex versions.  Luckily there is a guy over at the githib who is maintaining Realtek drivers for the 8188/8192cu wireless devices ported for 3.8.x kernel  and they work great.

Apparently there are a couple of functions within the latest Realtek drivers which are no longer supported in 3.8.x kernel, making compiling imposible.

will submit an extension asap,  good news is no firmware needed and supported under GPLv2

Any chance for http://cateee.net/lkddb/web-lkddb/R8187SE.html once you're at it? ;)
(That one is in /staging since a very long time)
"Software gets slower faster than hardware gets faster." Niklaus Wirth - A Plea for Lean Software (1995)