WelcomeWelcome | FAQFAQ | DownloadsDownloads | WikiWiki

Author Topic: dCore-5.0.alpha1 released  (Read 46928 times)

Offline Jason W

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 9730
Re: dCore-5.0.alpha1 released
« Reply #45 on: July 16, 2013, 01:54:50 PM »
Iceweasel has always worked here.  I will try again with flwm to make sure there is no dependency issue.

Offline roberts

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 7361
  • Founder Emeritus
Re: dCore-5.0.alpha1 released
« Reply #46 on: July 16, 2013, 02:51:42 PM »
Iceweasel working fine here on x86 dCore with flwm_topside. I am posting from it now.
10+ Years Contributing to Linux Open Source Projects.

Offline Jason W

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 9730
Re: dCore-5.0.alpha1 released
« Reply #47 on: July 16, 2013, 05:59:02 PM »
Vinnie - I added libdbus-glib-1-2 to Firefox's deps and now it is working with xorg-all, flwm_topside, Xtc, Xprogs, and firefox loaded.

Offline pioj

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 74
Re: dCore-5.0.alpha1 released
« Reply #48 on: July 17, 2013, 07:57:17 PM »
[UPDATE] Toying around with dCore since yesterday and it still works like a charm!

One question: Can we unpack&modify the .sce extension as we could with the .tcz/.scm in TinyCore v4.6+?
This gives me an idea to strip my xorg-all.sce to only support 2 or 3 graphic chipsets...


_____________________________________
5:00am and I can't believe what I just read...

Congratulations guys! Another hit!   ;D
« Last Edit: July 18, 2013, 04:56:31 PM by pioj »

Offline Jason W

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 9730
Re: dCore-5.0.alpha1 released
« Reply #49 on: July 19, 2013, 05:47:12 PM »
dCore-5.0.alpha4 now available:

Changes for alpha2:

* Fixed bug in sce-fetch.sh, -i now works, added -b to add to sceboot.lst
* Fixed bug in isolinux.cfg on server to specify dCore.gz
* Added initial sceboot.lst to tce-setdrive.

Changes for alpha3:

* Fixed bug in tce-setup to quiet terminal output from startup scripts

Changes for alpha4:

* Added full path suport to loadsce. Patch via Gerald Clark
* Updates pretce, httplist and tftplist to work with loadsce instead of tce-load via Gerald Clark
* Add option to track md5sums to enable update checking of SCE components
* /usr/bin/ondemand: Remove unsupported tcz references.
* rc.shutdown changed references tcz to sce
* tcemirror.sh changed tcz to sce
* deb2sce: import -o fix
* .profile: added LANG=en_US.UTF8 to support default uxterm
* deb2sce: Now specifying to user during import whether package is standard, dCore meta, or dCore premade.
* Quieted an unneeded echo to output and prevented duplicate entries in the Select Package list
* tc-functions: launchApp support both /usr and /usr/local

Files can be found at:

http://www.tinycorelinux.net/5.x/x86/release_candidates/



Offline vinnie

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1187
  • HandMace informatic works
Re: dCore-5.0.alpha1 released
« Reply #50 on: July 20, 2013, 07:30:53 AM »
@jason

ok firefox work!  :)

Today I tried the alpha 4 and and you forgot to update the version number :P
« Last Edit: July 20, 2013, 07:34:17 AM by vinnie »

Offline Jason W

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 9730
Re: dCore-5.0.alpha1 released
« Reply #51 on: July 20, 2013, 06:14:21 PM »
Reuploaded dCore.gz and the alpha4 iso's to fix the version number.

Offline vinceASPECT

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 603
Re: dCore-5.0.alpha1 released
« Reply #52 on: July 24, 2013, 12:09:26 PM »
Can dcore work as an arm CPU build?


Offline Jason W

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 9730
Re: dCore-5.0.alpha1 released
« Reply #53 on: July 24, 2013, 03:25:26 PM »
Actually, dCore is an x86 port of the armv7 Allwinner core that uses import for it's packages.  The import scripts are by design non arch specific so they can be ported to other arch's.  And the external package data and startup scripts located in http://tinycorelinux.net/5.x/import/ is also arch agnostic supporting all existing Core ports that use import.
« Last Edit: July 24, 2013, 03:29:44 PM by Jason W »

Offline vinceASPECT

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 603
Re: dCore-5.0.alpha1 released
« Reply #54 on: July 25, 2013, 06:36:21 AM »
OK Jason

Without complicating things

I think the question should have been

Can the army-core allwinner 10 version of TCL  "import" any app from the Debian repo?....and is it
 currently possible to do that?

Thanks

Vi

Offline Jason W

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 9730
Re: dCore-5.0.alpha1 released
« Reply #55 on: July 25, 2013, 09:08:41 AM »
Yes, it is mentioned in the Allwinner section of the forum as well, this thread in particular:

http://forum.tinycorelinux.net/index.php/topic,14130.0.html

Offline vinceASPECT

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 603
Re: dCore-5.0.alpha1 released
« Reply #56 on: July 25, 2013, 01:03:23 PM »
Right Jason

So that potentially gives  you a vast array of software tools for use on your allwiner device

It seems Worth Persuing as the best Linux for these devices then.........allwinner tablets

Thanks

V

Offline uggla

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 438
Re: dCore-5.0.alpha1 released
« Reply #57 on: July 28, 2013, 12:19:18 PM »
ok, wifi works great with wpasupplicant, this would be a package to add to the pre-generated sce?

+1

Offline Jason W

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 9730
Re: dCore-5.0.alpha1 released
« Reply #58 on: July 28, 2013, 03:51:50 PM »
i don't currently use wpasupplicant nor have means of testing it.  But if someone can verify that an imported version works then I don't see why we can't host.

Offline uggla

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 438
Re: dCore-5.0.alpha1 released
« Reply #59 on: July 29, 2013, 01:52:03 AM »
I tried to import wpasupplicant myself and it resulted in a 22 Mb large sce. That's huge compared with wpa_supplicant.tcz (268 Kb). Is really all those dependencies necessary with wireless_tools.sce and wireless-3.8.10-tinycore.sce loaded?