WelcomeWelcome | FAQFAQ | DownloadsDownloads | WikiWiki

Author Topic: Acer Netbook - no sound on rdesktop/freeRDP  (Read 14105 times)

Offline Ralphie66

  • WikiUser
  • *
  • Posts: 10
Acer Netbook - no sound on rdesktop/freeRDP
« on: May 27, 2013, 07:16:44 PM »
Hello all.  I've been into TC only about 3 weeks and it has become my favorite distro by far...I dig the modular approach, some brilliant thought has gone into this.  Thanks to everyone that's had a hand in the hard work.

My Current Problem:
Neither rdesktop nor freeRDP can produce sound locally from a VM server that's serving out RDP.

I have an old dual core, fat host running U-bloat-tu 12.04 LTS, on top of which I run Vbox 4.2.12 r84980 (with matching extension).  Inside the VBox I run a headless VM with WinXP which one of my kids accesses from an ancient Acer Aspire netbook on which I recently put TC (ver below).  Prior to running TC, the netbook was loaded with XP and has been running ok for about a year now, with audio, in this VDI-ish setup.

I loaded TC on the netbook to speed it up and it has greatly.  With TC, the RDP sessions are more stable, start up and operate faster.  I'm almost completely sold on the TC/RDP combo.  Almost.  However, NONE of the RDP client extensions in the TC repo will play audio locally for me.  Yet.  ;)

I have tried every combination of RDP client and settings I can think of but I still get no local audio.

Here's more system info:
Code: [Select]
uname -a
Linux box 3.0.21-tinycore #3021 SMP Sat Feb 18 11:54:11 EET 2012 i686 GNU/Linux

Code: [Select]
lspci | grep -i audio
00:1b.0 Audio device: Intel Corporation N10/ICH 7 Family High Definition Audio Controller (rev 02)

Code: [Select]
lsmod | grep snd
snd_hda_codec_realtek   196608  1
snd_hda_intel          20480  3
snd_hda_codec          49152  2 snd_hda_codec_realtek,snd_hda_intel
snd_hwdep              12288  1 snd_hda_codec
snd_pcm                45056  3 snd_hda_intel,snd_hda_codec
snd_timer              20480  2 snd_pcm
snd                    32768 10 snd_hda_codec_realtek,snd_hda_intel,snd_hda_codec,snd_hwdep,snd_pcm,snd_timer
soundcore              12288  1 snd
snd_page_alloc         12288  2 snd_hda_intel,snd_pcm

Code: [Select]
aplay -l
**** List of PLAYBACK Hardware Devices ****
card 0: Intel [HDA Intel], device 0: ALC272X Analog [ALC272X Analog]
  Subdevices: 0/1
  Subdevice #0: subdevice #0

dmesg shows no sound driver errors or anything interesting but I can provide that output if requested.

Here's my method all done with alsa.tcz loaded:

First, I checked the TC audio and video by testing youtube and a couple of audio streams; The video and sound appear functional. 

Next, I loaded up freeRDP (both freeRDP and freeRDP-ffmpeg versions on respective tests) an hit a terminal with:
Code: [Select]
xfreerdp -g 85% --plugin rdpsnd --data alsa -- (server)
Result:  The RDP/VM session runs. Great video. No local sound. No terminal errors.

After much searching/reading I also tried the following respectively:
Code: [Select]
xfreerdp -g 85% --plugin drdynvc --data tsmf -- (server)
xfreerdp -g 85% --plugin drdynvc --data tsmf:audio:pulse -- (server)
xfreerdp -g 85% --plugin rdpsnd --data alsa -- (server)
Result: The RDP/VM session runs. Great video.  No local sound. No terminal errors.

I repeated the last three respective commands with pulseaudio.tcz loaded too.  I got the same results.

Just as a control, I tried an RDP client I had previously loaded on one of my tablets which produced video and sound locally from the same VM.  I know the server side of the equation is at least doing what I want it to do.

Next, I rebooted the TC Netbook to a clean slate and reloaded alsa.tcz followed by rdesktop.tcz.

This time I hit a terminal with the following on respective tests:
Code: [Select]
rdesktop -g 320x240 -r sound:local (server)
rdesktop -g 320x240 -r sound:local:alsa (server)
Result: Mediocre video.  No local sound.  But some errors that lend a clue?
Code: [Select]
WARNING: rdp_out_unistr: iconv_open[ANSI_X3.4-1968 -> UTF-16LE] fail 0xffffffff
WARNING: Remote desktop changed from 320x240 to 870x510
WARNING: no working audio-driver found

With the suspect being the netbook audio card and driver I again tried running through the tests listed in the info section of the TC repo App app :).  The result?:  The test audio wav played flawlessly.  (As a matter of fact as I typed this I was listening to online radio on the same TC OS netbook.)

I'm hoping there is either another audio driver someone can suggest trying or another setting in the RDP clients I haven't tried.  I'm out of ideas.  As stated earlier, the netbook was doing local vid WITH sound via RDP with no issues when it was loaded with XP and using mstsc as the client. 

Help me keep Uncle Bill off the netbook, I dont' want to go back.  Anyone?

aus9

  • Guest
Re: Acer Netbook - no sound on rdesktop/freeRDP
« Reply #1 on: May 27, 2013, 11:08:51 PM »
Hi

what is exact model of acer aspire netbook pls?

for example this image shows 2 stacks according to my eyesight

Leaping ahead it may be that we look at
https://www.kernel.org/doc/Documentation/sound/alsa/HD-Audio-Models.txt

I draw your attention to mention that you have analog so it won't be great sound no matter what and consider
Quote
3stack-dig   3-stack (2-channel) with SPDIF
  3stack-6ch    3-stack (6-channel)
  3stack-6ch-dig 3-stack (6-channel) with SPDIF
  5stack-dig    5-stack with SPDIF

Choose one and tell us what it is, plus your exact model number. The wiki shows you how to then force intel to use a certain model name which is the string (eg) 5stack-dig  if you have 5 sound coloured holes with a spdif plug

In case you don't know, a stack = one coloured hole, blue green pink etc

Can you upload an image of a snapshot of this command pls
Code: [Select]
alsamixer
I (and others) will want to look at your mixer levels, I assume you have read the wiki on changing levels.

http://wiki.tinycorelinux.net/wiki:setting_up_sound
http://wiki.tinycorelinux.net/wiki:alsa_part2
« Last Edit: May 28, 2013, 12:51:29 AM by aus9 »

Offline Ralphie66

  • WikiUser
  • *
  • Posts: 10
Re: Acer Netbook - no sound on rdesktop/freeRDP
« Reply #2 on: May 28, 2013, 07:36:59 PM »
aus9, thanks for the quick reply.

The netbook:  Acer Aspire One D250.  Looks like a 2 stack, identical to your image post.

I also noticed the audio card is analog and I don't care about a lower sound quality...we've been
dealing with it since 2011.

I attempted to attach the screen print you requested, hopefully it took.

As for the alsa wiki links you provided:  Prior to my initial post I had gotten through part I
and had already looked over the HD-Audio-Model.txt you referenced.  I saw no mention of the 272X and
therefore thought there was nothing helpful there but I'm still in the learning stages and can easily admit
I may have been wrong.

I had also only skimmed part II of the wiki because the examples looked like a case of a surround sound card
which was not fully being utilized.  Since that wasn't my case I back burnered the rest of that wiki until
I finished failing my own tests.  If you think the steps there will get me analog RDP sound, I'm on board
with getting back to them now.

Thanks for working with me, I'll try to keep up.

aus9

  • Guest
Re: Acer Netbook - no sound on rdesktop/freeRDP
« Reply #3 on: May 28, 2013, 08:23:15 PM »
image worked and volumes are unmuted and max which is excellent

looks like we need to work either the model or if you read the wiki you may notice mention of modinfo and I suspect we may to make....meaning you...separate tests for the switches.

intel can be tricky so its not you.

pls read section page one...Reasons for changing

run the command yourself to make sure you have similar parameters available.

It is better to do this by IRC but I don't want to impose on you to download a client and then sync our times

so step one....
your mission is to add the following bootcode to your bootloader

Quote
blacklist snd_hda_intel

Code: [Select]
sudo reboot[code]

on reboot confirm you have no sound modules with
[code]lsmod | grep snd

2) now you can load the intel module with a model=string

let me know if you have understood, this is a slow process but hopefully we resolve it

3) Does your bios have a setting for any sound stuff?

especially automute?

4) I have google more, but someone with your model claims its alc260, I may be wrong
but that means they claim model=acer might change things for you
« Last Edit: May 28, 2013, 08:30:02 PM by aus9 »

aus9

  • Guest
Re: Acer Netbook - no sound on rdesktop/freeRDP
« Reply #4 on: May 29, 2013, 12:52:40 AM »
since I don't if you have read above or not, I start extra post.

pls post the output of lspci -vvv with just audio result and here is a google result to give hint
Code: [Select]
lspci -vvv
00:1b.0 Audio device [0403]: Intel Corporation N10/ICH 7 Family High Definition Audio Controller [8086:27d8] (rev 02)
Subsystem: Acer Incorporated [ALI] Device [1025:022f]
Control: I/O- Mem+ BusMaster+ SpecCycle- MemWINV- VGASnoop- ParErr- Stepping- SERR- FastB2B- DisINTx+
Status: Cap+ 66MHz- UDF- FastB2B- ParErr- DEVSEL=fast >TAbort- <TAbort- <MAbort- >SERR- <PERR- INTx-
Latency: 0
Interrupt: pin A routed to IRQ 45
Region 0: Memory at 58340000 (64-bit, non-prefetchable) [size=16K]
Capabilities: <access denied>
Kernel driver in use: snd_hda_intel
Kernel modules: snd-hda-intel

I am not concerned if you boot up with the blacklist bootcode and have yet to try
sudo modprobe snd-hda-intel model=auto  (and maybe probe_mask=0 and other modinfo related parms)
so I am not upset if no kernel info shows

#### Can you please tell me if you have a SPDIF outlet and a HDMI one thanks

and please please please do not load any pulseaudio....its a bitch to troubleshoot with it running

finally I need full output of (even if you have done half already)

Code: [Select]
aplay -l  && aplay -L
that should show up your spdif as well
« Last Edit: May 29, 2013, 01:17:35 AM by aus9 »

Offline Ralphie66

  • WikiUser
  • *
  • Posts: 10
Re: Acer Netbook - no sound on rdesktop/freeRDP
« Reply #5 on: May 30, 2013, 07:17:23 PM »
Aus9, sorry for the delayed response on my part, I've had some late work obligations keeping me from this project.

You are probably right that scheduling times for IRC won't work. I'm pretty sure we are in different time zones anyway.

Answers to your easy questions first:
- Pulse audio is NOT loaded.  Hasn't been since my first tests and I don't plan to reload.
- The netbook has no HDMI output.
- There are no BIOS audio settings.

The output you requested:

Done before blacklist:
Code: [Select]
modinfo snd_hda_intel

filename:       kernel.tclocal/sound/pci/hda/snd-hda-intel.ko.gz
description:    Intel HDA driver
license:        GPL
vermagic:       3.0.21-tinycore SMP mod_unload 486
parm:           power_save_controller:Reset controller in power save mode.
parm:           power_save:Automatic power-saving timeout (in second, 0 = disable).
parm:           beep_mode:Select HDA Beep registration mode (0=off, 1=on, 2=mute switch on/off) (default=1).
parm:           patch:Patch file for Intel HD audio interface.
parm:           enable_msi:Enable Message Signaled Interrupt (MSI)
parm:           single_cmd:Use single command to communicate with codecs (for debugging only).
parm:           probe_only:Only probing and no codec initialization.
parm:           probe_mask:Bitmask to probe codecs (default = -1).
parm:           bdl_pos_adj:BDL position adjustment offset.
parm:           position_fix:DMA pointer read method.(0 = auto, 1 = LPIB, 2 = POSBUF, 3 = VIACOMBO).
parm:           model:Use the given board model.
parm:           enable:Enable Intel HD audio interface.
parm:           id:ID string for Intel HD audio interface.
parm:           index:Index value for Intel HD audio interface.
depends:        snd-hda-codec,snd-pcm,snd,snd-page-alloc

I was able to make a little more sense of the HD_Audio_Modules file and based on my codec (alc272x) it
looks like the options are either the series labeled "asus-modeX" [X = 1 to 8] or "auto", as you mentioned.
The only entry for the 272 is labeled "dell".

I tweaked the bootloader code list to include "blacklist=snd_hda_intel" then rebooted and as expected that killed my sound.
lsmod | grep snd resulted in no output, as expected.

Next, I tried:
Code: [Select]
sudo modprobe snd_hda_intel=string

modprobe: module snd_hda_intel=string not found in modules.dep

Using "sudo modprobe snd_hda_intel=string" gave the same result as above.  I'm guessing this is because all this little netbook
has is the snd_hda_intel

Next, I removed the blacklist bootcode, rebooted then tried changing parms manually.
Code: [Select]
sudo modprobe -r snd_hda_intel
sudo modprobe snd_hda_intel model=string
xfreerdp --plugin rdpsnd --data alsa -- (server)
Result:  Still no local sound from the VM.

I repeated the steps above with "model=auto" and "model=alsa-mode1" (tried mode2 thru mode8) with the same result, no local sound while running the VM.  I did check the alsamixer settings with each iteration of this and it did change slightly with each mode.  (Mode 7 & 8, locked up the netbook)  I even tried "model=dell".  The mixer changed again but again there was no local VM sound.  Lastly, I also tried "model=acer" from your google search.  The result was the same:  no sound.

The other output you requested:
Code: [Select]
lspci -vv | grep -A 9 -i audio

00:1b.0 Audio device: Intel Corporation N10/ICH 7 Family High Definition Audio Controller (rev 02)
Subsystem: Acer Incorporated [ALI] Device 022f
Control: I/O- Mem+ BusMaster+ SpecCycle- MemWINV- VGASnoop- ParErr- Stepping- SERR- FastB2B- DisINTx+
Status: Cap+ 66MHz- UDF- FastB2B- ParErr- DEVSEL=fast >TAbort- <TAbort- <MAbort- >SERR- <PERR- INTx-
Latency: 0
Interrupt: pin A routed to IRQ 45
Region 0: Memory at 58340000 (64-bit, non-prefetchable) [size=16K]
Capabilities: <access denied>
Kernel driver in use: HDA Intel
Kernel modules: snd-hda-intel

Done before blacklisting the module:
Code: [Select]
aplay -l  && aplay -L

**** List of PLAYBACK Hardware Devices ****
card 0: Intel [HDA Intel], device 0: ALC272X Analog [ALC272X Analog]
Subdevices: 1/1
Subdevice #0: subdevice #0
null
    Discard all samples (playback) or generate zero samples (capture)
default:CARD=Intel
    HDA Intel, ALC272X Analog
    Default Audio Device
front:CARD=Intel,DEV=0
    HDA Intel, ALC272X Analog
    Front speakers
surround40:CARD=Intel,DEV=0
    HDA Intel, ALC272X Analog
    4.0 Surround output to Front and Rear speakers
surround41:CARD=Intel,DEV=0
    HDA Intel, ALC272X Analog
    4.1 Surround output to Front, Rear and Subwoofer speakers
surround50:CARD=Intel,DEV=0
    HDA Intel, ALC272X Analog
    5.0 Surround output to Front, Center and Rear speakers
surround51:CARD=Intel,DEV=0
    HDA Intel, ALC272X Analog
    5.1 Surround output to Front, Center, Rear and Subwoofer speakers
surround71:CARD=Intel,DEV=0
    HDA Intel, ALC272X Analog
    7.1 Surround output to Front, Center, Side, Rear and Woofer speakers

Done after blacklisting the module:
Code: [Select]
aplay -l  && aplay -L

aplay: device_list:240: no soundcards found...
null
Discard all samples (playback) or generate zero samples (capture)

You mentioned other parm changes we could try.  Please pass them along and thanks for your patience.

aus9

  • Guest
Re: Acer Netbook - no sound on rdesktop/freeRDP
« Reply #6 on: May 30, 2013, 08:02:12 PM »
1) no output for SPDIF, good to know

A shot in the dark, apparently the bios may have a setting to hold function key and press F8
http://www.laptop-forums.com/aspire-one-d250-no-sound-t14603.html

2) my bad....where I write string.....you replace it with a model string name ....the left hand string from list
Quote
LC662/663/272
==============
  3stack-dig   3-stack (2-channel) with SPDIF
  3stack-6ch    3-stack (6-channel)
  3stack-6ch-dig 3-stack (6-channel) with SPDIF
  5stack-dig    5-stack with SPDIF
  lenovo-101e    Lenovo laptop
  eeepc-p701   ASUS Eeepc P701
  eeepc-ep20   ASUS Eeepc EP20
  ecs      ECS/Foxconn mobo
  m51va      ASUS M51VA
  g71v      ASUS G71V
  h13      ASUS H13
  g50v      ASUS G50V
  asus-mode1   ASUS
  asus-mode2   ASUS
  asus-mode3   ASUS
  asus-mode4   ASUS
  asus-mode5   ASUS
  asus-mode6   ASUS
  asus-mode7   ASUS
  asus-mode8   ASUS
  dell      Dell with ALC272
  dell-zm1   Dell ZM1 with ALC272
  samsung-nc10   Samsung NC10 mini notebook
  auto      auto-config reading BIOS (default)

Can I get you to redo blacklist and reboot and try

Code: [Select]
sudo modprobe snd_hda_intel model=auto
alsamixer (to see if it has changed - adjust levels etc
retest sound

2) as we do have diff time zones if that failed then for each reboot try a different string
I suggest the order after failure is
3stack-dig   dell (then the rest from above list) (and only if still failing) acer (acer is from a different codec but worth trying as a last resort)

3) There is a way of unloading modules and loading again without reboot, but reboot resolves a lot of mucking about as our goal is to trouble shoot simple methods as I have a simple mind  :P

4) Now its possible we need to add more as requested to each model=string
so do do all of the above, sorry lots of reboots....until you get sound....if at all

then if still no sound we introduce one extra parameter and redo the lot
then introduce extra one.....yes it gets ugly

so after model=string  enable=1
then
model=string enable=1 enable_msi=1
then model=string position_fix=1

The debian wiki has that last one
http://wiki.debian.org/DebianAcerOne#Audio

but don't use options pls mentioned in that page, we are manually loading the module with the options we name, option in that wiki refer to a config file that debian used eg modprobe.conf

Once we know how to get good sound out of your manual settings I will advice how to do by bootlocal

good luck
« Last Edit: May 30, 2013, 08:27:18 PM by aus9 »

Offline Ralphie66

  • WikiUser
  • *
  • Posts: 10
Re: Acer Netbook - no sound on rdesktop/freeRDP
« Reply #7 on: June 01, 2013, 07:47:39 PM »
Aus,  these tests took a bit to run but here are the results.

Before I did any of the following I again tested the server side of things by connecting to the RDP stream via another PC (WinXP) and it worked with local sound on that PC without problems, so the server side is still working as needed.

Next, I again put "blacklist=snd_hda_intel" in the bootloader, rebooted then followed your suggested series of tests starting at the top of the text file, HD_Audio_Modules.   As you requested, I rebooted between each test.

The basic tests performed after each reboot:
Code: [Select]
sudo modprobe snd_hda_intel model=<value from file list>

sudo xfreerdp --plugin rpdsnd --data alsa -- (server)
[checked for sound and errors]

xfreerdp (server)
[checked for sound and errors]

sudo rdesktop -g 320x240 -r sound:local (server)
[checked for sound and errors]

For all of the xfreeRDP tests the following errors resulted:
Code: [Select]
loading plugin rpdsnd
freerdp_load_library_symbol: failed to open /usr/local/lib/freerdp/rpdsnd.so: /usr/local/lib/freerdp/rpdsnd.so: cannot open shared object file: No such file or freerdp_load_plugin: failed to load rpdsnd/VirtualChannelEntry
Warning xf_GetWindowProperty (140): Property 291 does not exist

I confirmed "rdpsnd.so" does exist in the folder specified.  Any ideas on what's causing this error?

For all of the rdesktop tests the following errors resulted:
Code: [Select]
WARNING: rdp_out_unistr: iconv_open[ANSI_X3.4-1968 -> UTF-16LE] fail 0xffffffff
WARNING: no working audio-driver found

I don't see how "no working audio-driver found" is a possible since I can produce sound outside of the RDP session (see further below).

In the test above <value from file list> was the following respectively:
Code: [Select]
sudo modprobe snd_hda_intel model=3stack-dig
sudo modprobe snd_hda_intel model=3stack-6ch
sudo modprobe snd_hda_intel model=3stack-6ch-dig (locked up)
sudo modprobe snd_hda_intel model=5stack-dig
sudo modprobe snd_hda_intel model=lenovo-101e
sudo modprobe snd_hda_intel model=eeepc-p701
sudo modprobe snd_hda_intel model=eeepc-ep20
sudo modprobe snd_hda_intel model=ecs
sudo modprobe snd_hda_intel model=m51va
sudo modprobe snd_hda_intel model=g71v (locked up)
sudo modprobe snd_hda_intel model=h13
sudo modprobe snd_hda_intel model=g50v (locked up)
sudo modprobe snd_hda_intel model=asus-mode1
sudo modprobe snd_hda_intel model=asus-mode2
sudo modprobe snd_hda_intel model=asus-mode3
sudo modprobe snd_hda_intel model=asus-mode4
sudo modprobe snd_hda_intel model=asus-mode5
sudo modprobe snd_hda_intel model=asus-mode6
sudo modprobe snd_hda_intel model=asus-mode7
sudo modprobe snd_hda_intel model=asus-mode8
sudo modprobe snd_hda_intel model=dell
sudo modprobe snd_hda_intel model=dell-zm1
sudo modprobe snd_hda_intel model=samsung-nc10 (locked up)

(locked up) = just what you're thinking...these values locked everything up to the point where a reboot was required.

After each of the above RDP tests I also retested the sound card by streaming online radio, which worked fine.  So basic sound is functional, just not the local sound from the RDP sessions that I'm wanting.

Apparently, FreeRDP and rdesktop just don't like the sound card/chipset of this netbook. 

Looks like it's time to move on to the additional options you mentioned in your #4 in your last post?

aus9

  • Guest
Re: Acer Netbook - no sound on rdesktop/freeRDP
« Reply #8 on: June 01, 2013, 08:09:49 PM »
Hi
Quote
Any ideas on what's causing this error?
never used it but I assume you have read the info and complied?
Quote
Comments:   Might require Xorg for other than US layout.
Install FreeRDP-ffmpeg.tcz for the full multimedia feature set (e.g. RemoteFX).

Before you move onto 4 I snuck it and extra model=acer

looking at your error code from a simple coder=me I see that :

Code: [Select]
strings /usr/local/lib/freerdp/rdpsnd.so
__gmon_start__
_fini
__cxa_finalize
_Jv_RegisterClasses
stream_free
xfree
list_dequeue
list_free
freerdp_event_free
gettimeofday
svc_plugin_send
strrchr
freerdp_load_plugin
printf
strlen
xzalloc
strcat
list_new
strtol
stream_new
list_enqueue
stream_extend
memcpy
xmalloc
VirtualChannelEntry
svc_plugin_init
libfreerdp-utils.so.1.0
libpthread.so.0
libdl.so.2
libc.so.6
_edata
__bss_start
_end
rdpsnd.so
GLIBC_2.1.3
GLIBC_2.0
;FT|
;Ftv
rdps
T$pf
\[^_]
T$pf
\[^_]
UWVS
\[^_]
;GT|
T$@f
f9D$
L$6f9L$
f9D$4
L$(+J
t$(f
L$<f
@ rdpsf
@$nd
FreeRDPRdpsndDeviceEntry
format
rate
channel
latency
pulse
alsa
default
Warning %s (%d): size error
Warning %s (%d): %s entry returns error.
Warning %s (%d): no sound device.
Warning %s (%d): existing device, abort.
Warning %s (%d): wNumberOfFormats is 0
Warning %s (%d): no formats supported
Warning %s (%d): unknown msgType %d
rdpsnd_process_receive
rdpsnd_process_message_wave
rdpsnd_process_message_formats
rdpsnd_process_connect
rdpsnd_load_device_plugin
rdpsnd_register_device_plugin

lets look at the shared objects? and load the following if missing from /usr/local/tce.installed please
libfreerdp-utils.so.1.0------------------ part of FreeRDP.tcz
libpthread.so.0, libdl.so.2, libc.so.6  part of toolchain64-lib.tcz
                     

Offline Rich

  • TinyCore Moderator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 6348
Re: Acer Netbook - no sound on rdesktop/freeRDP
« Reply #9 on: June 01, 2013, 09:24:12 PM »
Hi aus9
Quote
libpthread.so.0, libdl.so.2, libc.so.6  part of toolchain64-lib.tcz
Those libraries are part of base and can be found under  /lib , no need to load  toolchain64-lib.tcz.

Offline Rich

  • TinyCore Moderator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 6348
Re: Acer Netbook - no sound on rdesktop/freeRDP
« Reply #10 on: June 01, 2013, 10:50:09 PM »
Hi Ralphie66
I think I found your problem:
Quote
sudo xfreerdp --plugin rpdsnd --data alsa -- (server)
Quote
loading plugin rpdsnd
freerdp_load_library_symbol: failed to open /usr/local/lib/freerdp/rpdsnd.so: /usr/local/lib/freerdp/rpdsnd.so: cannot open shared object file: No such file or freerdp_load_plugin: failed to load rpdsnd/VirtualChannelEntry
First I want you to give yourself a smack to the back of the head. Then try the command this way:
Code: [Select]
sudo xfreerdp --plugin rdpsnd --data alsa -- (server)

Offline tinypoodle

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 3857
Re: Acer Netbook - no sound on rdesktop/freeRDP
« Reply #11 on: June 01, 2013, 10:57:08 PM »
Nice catch!   ;D
"Software gets slower faster than hardware gets faster." Niklaus Wirth - A Plea for Lean Software (1995)

Offline Rich

  • TinyCore Moderator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 6348
Re: Acer Netbook - no sound on rdesktop/freeRDP
« Reply #12 on: June 01, 2013, 11:06:09 PM »
Hi tinypoodle
Thanks, took a while before it actually hit me.

Offline tinypoodle

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 3857
Re: Acer Netbook - no sound on rdesktop/freeRDP
« Reply #13 on: June 01, 2013, 11:12:50 PM »
"Software gets slower faster than hardware gets faster." Niklaus Wirth - A Plea for Lean Software (1995)

aus9

  • Guest
Re: Acer Netbook - no sound on rdesktop/freeRDP
« Reply #14 on: June 02, 2013, 02:40:16 AM »
Ralphie66

If you live in aussieland I would invite you to my local village idiot meetings but I can't remember if I am still a member or not :P

Does that mean you now have sound or not?