WelcomeWelcome | FAQFAQ | DownloadsDownloads | WikiWiki

Author Topic: tinycore_v2.0rc2  (Read 14948 times)

Offline roberts

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 7361
  • Founder Emeritus
tinycore_v2.0rc2
« on: May 16, 2009, 10:08:11 AM »
Now ready for testing Tiny Core V2.0 Release Candidate 2.
http://distro.ibiblio.org/pub/linux/distributions/tinycorelinux/2.x/release/

Combined change log:
rc1:
* New kernel 2.6.29.1
* New glibc 2.9
* New libstdc++ and libgcc
* New ldconfig
* New base Xlibs
* New squashfs module to base for support of squash'ed extensions.
* New cryptohome to use AES.
* New mount and losetup
* New virtual drive support.
* Updated .xsession
* Updated mousetool
* Updated appbrowser
rc2:
* FLWM replaces JWM (see notes below)
* New tc-config & desktop.sh to support for window managers via WM interface programs.
* New cd-dvd-symlinks.sh to create generic cdrom and dvd devices.
* New updated udev rules 75-cd-dvd.rules to automatically create cdrom and dvd device names.
* Updated .xsession to call wbar.sh to support a single point for options.
* Updated wbar.sh to retain HOME focus.
* Updated xsetup.sh mouse menu label change.
* Added /usr/local/sbin, /usr/local/bin to boot time PATH.
* Added tce-wget wrapper for CLI alternate to appbrowser.
* Updated flpicsee, new scaling, zomming, and popup informaton.
* Updated appbrowser Search now searches v2.x repositories.
* Updated cpanel to use generic HOME for tftpd.
* Updated extitc to be smaller via a single nix call.

Files likely in your backup that need update:
.xsession
.desktop

Notes for rc2:

Using flwm as a default, fits with the minimalistic philosophy of Tiny Core. flwm is based on fltk, I have compiled flwm to use shared libaries that are already in Tiny Core. Therefore flwm is significately smaller than jwm. Yet feature-wise flwm has features that would be expected (popup menu, taskbar applicaton tracking, and pager/multiple desktops).


A quick primer on flwm:

FLWM popup menu is a combination of:
   application launcher
   task bar of running and iconized applicataions
   pager with multiple desktops via "New Desktop" menu option

FLWM popup menu is always readily available by:
   right click on empty area of desktop
   right click on any window title bar
   alt-tab

FLWM popup menu handles multiple desktops:
   Menu allows easy switching desktops, just select Desktop X from menu.
   Moving windows to other desktop is easy, switch to Desktop then choose running app from menu.

FLWM does not use a file for menu, but symlinks or scripts in the .wmx directory located in HOME.

I have updated many core programs to support multiple window managers by way of interface programs to create the extensions dynamic menu. See:

In /usr/bin
  flwm_initmenu
  flwm_makemenu
  flwm_restart

Of course those than want to use the original JWM, can download the jwm.tce extension and add the boot code:
desktop=jwm
« Last Edit: May 17, 2009, 05:51:49 AM by roberts »
10+ Years Contributing to Linux Open Source Projects.

Offline Z.Q.

  • WikiUser
  • *
  • Posts: 2
Re: tinycore_v2.0rc2
« Reply #1 on: May 17, 2009, 07:40:49 AM »
I installed the new rc2 today. Now I have a flashplayer in full screen mode. Thanks alot.

Here I have some quesitons about the new rc2.

1. It seems that you are trying to process the jwm tce xml menu files. But if a line does not start with a <Program> tag, it will not be processed correctly. e.g., the getFlash10.tce in the 2.x tce repos does not create a visible menu as it did in rc1.

2. Clicking the [Refresh menu] at the popup menu seems damage the x system.  I have to reboot TC to bring back the popup menu  each time after I click the [refresh menu].
(I only added the opera's menu items after a clean installation)

Hope the above information be helpful.

Thanks again.

Offline jls

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 2134
Re: tinycore_v2.0rc2
« Reply #2 on: May 17, 2009, 08:13:50 AM »
it seems to me that /home/tc/.wmx/ isn't automatically created.
I've booted with mydata form 1.0 and persistent home.
Also /home/tc/.ashrc seems changed from 1.x, and maybe /home/tc/.fltk
dCore user

Offline roberts

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 7361
  • Founder Emeritus
Re: tinycore_v2.0rc2
« Reply #3 on: May 17, 2009, 09:57:10 AM »
True. using a persistent home, by definition, would not get populated from /etc/skel
See /usr/bin/flwm_initmenu, what you need to update your persistent home is:
Code: [Select]
rsync -a /etc/skel/.wmx   /home/tc/

10+ Years Contributing to Linux Open Source Projects.

Offline kerpob

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 83
Re: tinycore_v2.0rc2
« Reply #4 on: May 18, 2009, 07:07:31 AM »
FLWM takes a bit of getting used to, but on my eee, saves space well.

GetFlash10 doesn't seem to work. Normally when I install it, it appears alongside OSS in applications, but for rc2, when installed, the applications have a submenu called "firefox" with the OSS options in it and no way to start/install flash (unless there is a command line way to do it?)
eee user. From Xandros to Debian via Breeezy to TCL.

Offline Z.Q.

  • WikiUser
  • *
  • Posts: 2
Re: tinycore_v2.0rc2
« Reply #5 on: May 18, 2009, 08:14:48 AM »
Quote
no way to start/install flash (unless there is a command line way to do it?)

yes, although the menu does not appear there is one command line script.

Code: newbielink:javascript:void(0); [nonactive]
# /usr/local/bin/getflash10.sh

Offline kerpob

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 83
Re: tinycore_v2.0rc2
« Reply #6 on: May 18, 2009, 08:26:07 AM »
Quote
no way to start/install flash (unless there is a command line way to do it?)

yes, although the menu does not appear there is one command line script.

Code: [Select]
# /usr/local/bin/getflash10.sh

Yep, that worked, although (for other users) to make it clear, what you do is navigate to the /usr/local/bin directory and then type:

sudo ./getflash10.sh
eee user. From Xandros to Debian via Breeezy to TCL.

Offline roberts

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 7361
  • Founder Emeritus
Re: tinycore_v2.0rc2
« Reply #7 on: May 18, 2009, 09:23:09 AM »
Good Grief! It is one extension that needed a tweak.
No special instructions are needed.
This is what an RC is all about. Report specifics and they will get fixed.
I have reposted getFlash10.tce. It now correctly creates the menu item.
10+ Years Contributing to Linux Open Source Projects.

Offline Jason W

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 9679
Re: tinycore_v2.0rc2
« Reply #8 on: May 18, 2009, 09:49:55 AM »
Firefox, nfs-utils, getflash10.tcz also have menu issues.  I am aware of it and they will be fixed Wednesday when I get back in town, maybe tomorrow if I can squeeze it in.  If any other menu issues are discovered they can be brought up in the extensions TCE News announcement thread or in the TCE Bugs section as they are actually bugs in the extensions themselves rather than in the base TC.

Offline roberts

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 7361
  • Founder Emeritus
Re: tinycore_v2.0rc2
« Reply #9 on: May 18, 2009, 10:21:41 AM »
re:    getflash10.tcz   I should have mentioned I updated both the .tce and the .tcz.
10+ Years Contributing to Linux Open Source Projects.

Offline jpeters

  • Restricted
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1017
Re: tinycore_v2.0rc2
« Reply #10 on: May 18, 2009, 04:06:37 PM »
I think we can drop the skype_installscript for tc2, until someone comes up with a missing dep or other fix to make the static binary work.   

Offline mcewanw

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 102
Re: tinycore_v2.0rc2
« Reply #11 on: May 18, 2009, 05:03:51 PM »
FLWM takes a bit of getting used to

Yes, I was perplexed for a half a minute or so, but no more than that. I had doubts about changing the default WM from JWM but, wow, as far as my early impressions go I must say I really like FLWM (and I've only been using it for half an hour now). Brave decision in a way, since FLWM doesn't provide a permanently on desktop "taskbar" which most have now become used to. However, the alternative "taskbar-like" functionality on right click saves so much screen real-estate with really no extra effort; I think its great! I particularly like the way one can adjust window sizes (wide and long etc) so easily.

I also rather like the left hand side menu bar (rather than at the top as is more conventional) but wonder if that position is in fact movable for those who would prefer it along the top? [EDIT: I checked the FLWM website and the answer to that seems to be no. However, I find myself preferring these side bars to a top bar anyway]
« Last Edit: May 18, 2009, 05:12:19 PM by mcewanw »

Offline mcewanw

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 102
Re: tinycore_v2.0rc2
« Reply #12 on: May 18, 2009, 06:35:16 PM »
Firefox, nfs-utils, getflash10.tcz also have menu issues.  I am aware of it and they will be fixed Wednesday when I get back in town

gnumeric also has menu issues. Right clicking and selecting Applications -> gnumeric wrongly points to: "Start_basic_firewall"

One thing I do miss with FLWM is the taskbar clock.

Offline jpeters

  • Restricted
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1017
Re: tinycore_v2.0rc2
« Reply #13 on: May 18, 2009, 11:01:02 PM »

gnumeric also has menu issues. Right clicking and selecting Applications -> gnumeric wrongly points to: "Start_basic_firewall"


That's because the menus were built for .jwm   I guess somebody changed it to the wrong app ..not me  :)

Edit: I just booted up without jwm, and the menu works fine. 

tc@box:/usr/local/tce.flwm$ vi gnumeric
Code: [Select]
#!/bin/sh
exec /usr/local/bin/gnumeric
~     
                     



« Last Edit: May 18, 2009, 11:59:01 PM by jpeters »

Offline junan

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 88
Re: tinycore_v2.0rc2
« Reply #14 on: May 18, 2009, 11:31:31 PM »
is it possible to make a new tce for repair the flwm menu.
for example for OSS.tce or tcz we can make OSS-flwm-menu.tce or tcz.
It's for older application only, for new tce or tcz the menu must be already fixed for flwm.
If repackage the tce or tcz , it means i must re-download all tce or tcz that have menu at tcl ...
fun and fearless ...