WelcomeWelcome | FAQFAQ | DownloadsDownloads | WikiWiki

Author Topic: node.js  (Read 33720 times)

Offline roborob

node.js
« on: April 28, 2013, 10:05:39 AM »
Hi everyone,

I would like to use node.js on the Raspberry as a robotics platform.  My thought behind this is the non-blocking, event driven I/O model of node is a great fit for event driven nature of sensors and other devices.

Here are the challenges as I see them:
  • Compile node.js for the arm platform.  node is written in C++
  • Write a node.js "Addon" that detects sensor input, and raises events in node
  • Package and publish the result

I have had a couple classes in C/C++ so I am a novice, but not afraid to get my hands dirty, however if there are some other people who think this is a worthwhile project I would welcome any help I could get.

I think it goes without saying this would be an open source project.

So, what do you think?  Anyone interested?

For future reference:
http://wiki.tinycorelinux.net/wiki:creating_extensions
« Last Edit: April 28, 2013, 11:58:39 AM by roborob »

Offline althalus

Re: node.js
« Reply #1 on: April 28, 2013, 04:15:54 PM »
I've been planning on compiling a tcz for node.js on the pi, just haven't found the time yet. (Also: submitting a bunch of TCZs I've already built). I'll *probably* do it this weekend, unless you're feeling motivated enough to try.

As for detecting sensor input, take a look at pi-gpio. The boring part is already done for you, and you just have to know enough javascript to process the sensor input.

Offline roborob

« Reply #2 on: April 28, 2013, 04:33:43 PM »
Hi althalus,

I am in the process of compiling a tcz, however it is pretty slow going as it is my first time.  Thanks for the pi-gpio mention, I was so focused on piCore that I didn't think to check NPM.

Offline althalus

« Reply #3 on: April 28, 2013, 04:43:33 PM »