WelcomeWelcome | FAQFAQ | DownloadsDownloads | WikiWiki

Author Topic: will command-line install method still work?  (Read 6702 times)

Offline ejames82

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 183
will command-line install method still work?
« on: April 08, 2013, 02:39:54 PM »
Hello,


below is the installation method (command line) for tinycore 2.11.1 (when I began to use tinycore).

will this method still work with the latest version?  if not:
a. what is the latest version that it will work?, and
b. would that version be practical to use today?
thanks

Begin by mounting the hard drive. In the Root Terminal, type:
mount /mnt/sda1

To mount the CD, type:
mount /mnt/sdc

To create directories for Tiny Core and Grub, type:
mkdir -p /mnt/sda1/boot/grub

To copy Tiny Core to the hard drive, type:
cp -p /mnt/sdc/boot/* /mnt/sda1/boot

You may get a warning saying, "cp: omitting directory '/mnt/sdc/boot/isolinux'." Ignore this. Isolinux does not need to be included when Grub is used to start Tiny Core.

To copy grub to the hard drive, type:
cp -p /usr/lib/grub/i386-pc/* /mnt/sda1/boot/grub

Tiny Core Grub Commands
vi /mnt/sda1/boot/grub/menu.lst

Press "i" to enter insert mode.

Type the following:
default 0
timeout 5

title   Tiny Core
root   (hd0,0)
kernel   /boot/bzImage quiet tce=sda1 home=sda1 opt=sda1 max_loop=255
initrd   /boot/tinycore.gz

Press "Esc."

Type:
:wq

Then press "Enter."

Master Boot Record

To set up the master boot record, in the Terminal, type:
sudo grub

Then type:
root (hd0,0)
setup (hd0)
quit

backup...backup...backup

Offline Rich

  • TinyCore Moderator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 6422
Re: will command-line install method still work?
« Reply #1 on: April 08, 2013, 05:16:05 PM »
Hi ejames82
Code: [Select]
kernel   /boot/bzImage quiet tce=sda1 home=sda1 opt=sda1 max_loop=255
initrd   /boot/tinycore.gz
The only things I see are:
1. bzImage  is now called  vmlinuz
2. max_loop=255  is obsolete, no more need to specify number of loops
3. tinycore.gz  , I think that's called  core.gz  now.
4. The graphical desktop components are now separate. Copy the cde directory to your hard drives tce directory.

Offline gerald_clark

  • TinyCore Moderator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 4254
Re: will command-line install method still work?
« Reply #2 on: April 08, 2013, 05:18:53 PM »
With home= and opt= boot codes you need to remove tc and home from /opt/.filetool.lst

Offline ejames82

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 183
Re: will command-line install method still work?
« Reply #3 on: April 08, 2013, 06:11:08 PM »
Hello Rich and gerald_clark,



Rich,

1. bzImage  is now called  vmlinuz
an easy substitution.

2. max_loop=255  is obsolete, no more need to specify number of loops
very good.

3. tinycore.gz  , I think that's called  core.gz  now.
I am not to put in the word 'tiny'. 

4. The graphical desktop components are now separate. Copy the cde directory to your hard drives tce directory.
I think what you mean here is, put the cde directory INSIDE the tce directory. 



gerald_clark,

With home= and opt= boot codes you need to remove tc and home from /opt/.filetool.lst
then it seems I have a choice here.  to either have the line say this:
kernel   /boot/vmlinuz quiet tce=sda1
or get in the /opt/.filetool.lst file and remove tc and home.
if you have a suggestion on the way you would do this, I would be glad to hear it as always.



thank you Rich and gerald_clark.
backup...backup...backup

Offline Rich

  • TinyCore Moderator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 6422
Re: will command-line install method still work?
« Reply #4 on: April 08, 2013, 06:33:05 PM »
Hi ejames82
Quote
b. would that version be practical to use today?
If your hardware is not compatible with the current version, consider trying 3.8.4.

Offline Rich

  • TinyCore Moderator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 6422
Re: will command-line install method still work?
« Reply #5 on: April 08, 2013, 06:38:34 PM »
Hi ejames82
Quote
I think what you mean here is, put the cde directory INSIDE the tce directory.
Poor wording on my part. Copy the cde directory to your hard drive and rename it to tce.
Quote
... you need to remove tc and home from /opt/.filetool.lst
I think he meant remove  opt  and  home  from /opt/.filetool.lst.

Offline ejames82

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 183
Re: will command-line install method still work?
« Reply #6 on: April 08, 2013, 07:22:14 PM »
Hello Rich,


If your hardware is not compatible with the current version, consider trying 3.8.4.
can those previous versions still be obtained?  I have looked around for them for a while and haven't seen them.  I have 3.4.1, 4.2, and 2.11.1.  now I wish I had them all.

Copy the cde directory to your hard drive and rename it to tce.
that clarifies it much better.  and the following as well:

I think he meant remove  opt  and  home  from /opt/.filetool.lst.


thanks for the quick reply, Rich. 
backup...backup...backup

Offline Rich

  • TinyCore Moderator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 6422
Re: will command-line install method still work?
« Reply #7 on: April 08, 2013, 07:27:06 PM »
Hi ejames82
3.8.4 can be found here:
http://tinycorelinux.net/3.x/release/

Offline Rich

  • TinyCore Moderator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 6422
Re: will command-line install method still work?
« Reply #8 on: April 08, 2013, 07:31:02 PM »
Hi ejames82
You can find other versions of the 3.x series here:
http://tinycorelinux.net/3.x/archive/

Offline gerald_clark

  • TinyCore Moderator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 4254
Re: will command-line install method still work?
« Reply #9 on: April 08, 2013, 08:00:43 PM »
Yes, I did mean opt and home.

Offline ejames82

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 183
Re: will command-line install method still work?
« Reply #10 on: April 10, 2013, 05:42:07 AM »
Hello gerald_clark,

thank you for the confirmation.


Hello Rich,

I grabbed all of those iso's and booted up with 3.8.4 from a disk, got all the way to creating menu.lst with vi.  I saved the file with :wq and 'enter' (or at least I tried to, is there a way to verify whether I did this correctly?, would this have caused the problem I came across later, explained below).
when I (as root) tried
grub
the usual grub screen didn't come up instead
I received an error from the terminal, but I cant quote it exactly because my electricity happened to go out only minutes later.  I can recall some of it, however.
shared libraries libncurser.so.1
I installed the ncurser extension from appbrowser, both on-boot and on-demand to no avail.
I did not make any of the substitution that you and gerald_clark recommended yet (I thought I would give it a shot 'as is' first and report the results).

should I have installed grub with ab the command-line method and tce-load it?, or would that have not made a difference?  would a substitution of other distribution file help?

thanks for the link to the archives.
backup...backup...backup

Offline Rich

  • TinyCore Moderator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 6422
Re: will command-line install method still work?
« Reply #11 on: April 10, 2013, 06:54:44 AM »
Hi ejames82
Since you booted from the disk, you should have a GUI and could use  editor  to edit menu.lst. Grub-0.97-splash
depends on  ncurses.tcz  and  ncurses-common.tcz. Only the comment about  max_loop  applies for 3.8.4. The
other items I mentioned didn't change until around 4.2 or so.
Quote
kernel   /boot/bzImage quiet tce=sda1 home=sda1 opt=sda1 max_loop=255
For a USB thumb drive that is correct, for a hard drive install, 3.8.4 still used  hda1  syntax.
Quote
should I have installed grub with ab the command-line method and tce-load it?
With a GUI available, I would have clicked on the  ab  icon and used that to install grub, then opened a terminal
to run the grub commands.

Offline ejames82

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 183
Re: will command-line install method still work?
« Reply #12 on: April 10, 2013, 07:42:07 AM »
Hello Rich,


perhaps I did not install the ncurses-common.  I did get ncurses.tcz.  I will grab that as well this time.  :)

I have been writing down every thing I have been doing.
the electricity cut out again, only a few minutes ago.  I am hoping that it doesn't quit again.
also, just to let you know, I have more than one computer, so I can check for your reply and try things at the same time.  :)

so you are saying to:

1. use appbrowser gui to install grub0.97-splash.  does 'on-demand' work?  I could use the 'on-boot' option, but I don't get a chance to actually boot the pc, if booting the pc is required to actually enable the software.
do not use the 'tce-load -wi' command.

2.  this line:
kernel   /boot/bzImage quiet tce=sda1 home=sda1 opt=sda1 max_loop=255
should say this:
kernel   /boot/bzImage quiet tce=hda1 home=hda1 opt=hda1

3.  use editor (I think that is the icon that looks like a pen of sorts) to make the menu.lst
(there will be no sda1, only hda1)


thanks for the quick reply Rich.  I am going to try this again right away.
backup...backup...backup

Offline ejames82

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 183
Re: will command-line install method still work?
« Reply #13 on: April 10, 2013, 08:05:36 AM »
Hello Rich,


good news.  I got the grub interface. 
I decided to make sure I could get the grub screen to come up before I attempted anything else.

I installed:
1. grub0.97-splash
2. ncurses.tcz
3. ncurses-common

with appbrowser gui.  and
ALL need to be installed 'on-boot'.  'on-demand' did not work.

now lets see if this will work in the proper order.

I will keep you informed.  thanks.
backup...backup...backup

Offline ejames82

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 183
Re: will command-line install method still work?
« Reply #14 on: April 10, 2013, 09:04:23 AM »
Hello Rich,

IT WORKED!
I am actually on the computer with the fresh install typing this.  the computer is behaving nicely.
I think I want to actually try the newest version with the command-line method and make the substitutions and corrections that you and gerald_clark gave me.  when I do that, and if I need help, I will just post in this thread.

thank you  :)
backup...backup...backup