WelcomeWelcome | FAQFAQ | DownloadsDownloads | WikiWiki

Author Topic: Keep TC from loading to RAM?  (Read 6926 times)

Offline tinypoodle

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 3857
Re: Keep TC from loading to RAM?
« Reply #15 on: April 04, 2013, 09:40:54 AM »
http://forum.tinycorelinux.net/index.php/topic,9028.msg49291.html#msg49291

Unload (modprobe -r) all modules you think you will never use before running that script.

I wouldn't complain about 22MB when official minimal requirement is 46 MB ;)
"Software gets slower faster than hardware gets faster." Niklaus Wirth - A Plea for Lean Software (1995)

Offline tinypoodle

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 3857
Re: Keep TC from loading to RAM?
« Reply #16 on: April 04, 2013, 09:45:17 AM »
Lowering depth and/or resolution of framebuffer and/or X could squeeze out some more, short of omitting framebuffer and/or X entirely.
"Software gets slower faster than hardware gets faster." Niklaus Wirth - A Plea for Lean Software (1995)

Offline cortman

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 36
Re: Keep TC from loading to RAM?
« Reply #17 on: April 04, 2013, 10:28:08 AM »
Hi Rich,

Output is

Code: [Select]
acpi_cpufreq
mperf
cpufreq_userspace
cpufreq_conservative
cpufreq_powersave
cpufreq_stats
squashfs
pcspkr
scsi_wait_scan
loop

I'm not posting the full output because I have to manually type everything out, but the value for the "Size" column is 12288 for nearly all of them.
Copy.com offers 15 GB free cloud storage plus 5 GB extra for both of us when you use my referral link: https://copy.com?r=IlpMD4 :)

Offline tinypoodle

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 3857
Re: Keep TC from loading to RAM?
« Reply #18 on: April 04, 2013, 10:52:10 AM »
Code: [Select]
acpi_cpufreq
mperf
cpufreq_userspace
cpufreq_conservative
cpufreq_powersave
cpufreq_stats

http://forum.tinycorelinux.net/index.php/topic,15096.msg87339.html#msg87339

Quote
I'm not posting the full output because I have to manually type everything out, but the value for the "Size" column is 12288 for nearly all of them.

What about transferring a file?
Code: [Select]
lsmod > lsmod.log
"Software gets slower faster than hardware gets faster." Niklaus Wirth - A Plea for Lean Software (1995)

Offline Rich

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 11178
Re: Keep TC from loading to RAM?
« Reply #19 on: April 04, 2013, 10:54:26 AM »
Hi cortman
Code: [Select]
lsmod > lsmod.txtThen you can copy  lsmod.txt  to a USB thumb and copy/paste on the machine you post from.

Offline cortman

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 36
Re: Keep TC from loading to RAM?
« Reply #20 on: April 04, 2013, 10:59:51 AM »
Hi cortman
Code: [Select]
lsmod > lsmod.txtThen you can copy  lsmod.txt  to a USB thumb and copy/paste on the machine you post from.

Obviously. *facepalm.   ::)

Code: [Select]
Module                  Size  Used by    Not tainted
acpi_cpufreq           12288  0
mperf                  12288  1 acpi_cpufreq
cpufreq_userspace      12288  0
cpufreq_conservative    12288  0
cpufreq_powersave      12288  0
cpufreq_stats          12288  0
squashfs               24576  8
pcspkr                 12288  0
scsi_wait_scan         12288  0
loop                   16384 16

Thanks for all the help so far!
Copy.com offers 15 GB free cloud storage plus 5 GB extra for both of us when you use my referral link: https://copy.com?r=IlpMD4 :)

Offline cortman

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 36
Re: Keep TC from loading to RAM?
« Reply #21 on: April 04, 2013, 11:09:27 AM »
Code: [Select]
acpi_cpufreq
mperf
cpufreq_userspace
cpufreq_conservative
cpufreq_powersave
cpufreq_stats

http://forum.tinycorelinux.net/index.php/topic,15096.msg87339.html#msg87339

Quote
I'm not posting the full output because I have to manually type everything out, but the value for the "Size" column is 12288 for nearly all of them.

What about transferring a file?
Code: [Select]
lsmod > lsmod.log

And I can keep these from loading at boot by adding a blacklist="acpi_cpufreq" boot code? (that particular module as an example)?
Copy.com offers 15 GB free cloud storage plus 5 GB extra for both of us when you use my referral link: https://copy.com?r=IlpMD4 :)

Offline tinypoodle

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 3857
Re: Keep TC from loading to RAM?
« Reply #22 on: April 04, 2013, 11:13:35 AM »
Probably, but see reply #15 which could discard unused modules from initrd entirely.
"Software gets slower faster than hardware gets faster." Niklaus Wirth - A Plea for Lean Software (1995)