WelcomeWelcome | FAQFAQ | DownloadsDownloads | WikiWiki

Author Topic: tor with QtWeb ?  (Read 2526 times)

Offline ptr

  • WikiUser
  • *
  • Posts: 7
tor with QtWeb ?
« on: March 29, 2013, 11:10:35 AM »
Hi,
I downloaded tor.tcz + polipo.tcz + vidalia.tcz = tor connects to its network.
BUT how does it work with QtWeb browser ?
do I need the tor_browser_bundle ?
thnxs for sharing your time with me.
ptr

Offline netnomad

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1027
Re: tor with QtWeb ?
« Reply #1 on: March 29, 2013, 11:42:06 AM »
do I need the tor_browser_bundle ?
hi ptr,

no, you can use every browser f.e. icecat and all firefox-clones that offer localhost-proxies with socks_v4.
just use a
proxy over localhost on port 8118 with socks_v4
and everything should work.

keep on digging.

Offline tinypoodle

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 3857
Re: tor with QtWeb ?
« Reply #2 on: March 29, 2013, 12:01:32 PM »
It appears that the only choices of proxy type of Qtweb are Socks5 and http.
« Last Edit: March 29, 2013, 12:19:03 PM by tinypoodle »
"Software gets slower faster than hardware gets faster." Niklaus Wirth - A Plea for Lean Software (1995)

Offline netnomad

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1027
Re: tor with QtWeb ?
« Reply #3 on: March 29, 2013, 01:08:56 PM »
as far as i know socks5 could be a security- or anonymity-issue on some levels,
although the use of the tor-network could work...

on the other side there are so many ways to de-anonym everyone:
fingerprint of os, browser-configurations, personal individual kind of typing, prefered keywords...
so there is no need for scripts, ad-spyware or other tools that target everyone on a technical level.
« Last Edit: March 29, 2013, 01:13:56 PM by netnomad »