WelcomeWelcome | FAQFAQ | DownloadsDownloads | WikiWiki

Author Topic: TCL on a pendrive to run an Asus EeePC 1000HA?  (Read 29315 times)

Offline Mike7

TCL on a pendrive to run an Asus EeePC 1000HA?
« on: February 27, 2013, 05:21:12 PM »
Hi, and cheers to everyone in the Tiny Core Netbooks forum group!

I'm new to this forum, new to Tiny Core Linux, and relatively new to Linux, although I did work for five years in the 1990s at a Unix mainframe terminal with emacs (no x-windows), so I'm not a total newbie to Unix-like operating systems.

I have an Asus EeePC 1000HA with the original WindowsXP SP3 on the hdd. It's been my only computer for five years. I've never owned anything besides laptops or netbooks because I travel a lot. My first was a Z88, designed by Clive Sinclair back in 1987 before the days of the laptop PC.

After five years of hard use, the hdd on my 1000HA is wearing down. I always backup important files, but the fact is that I love this little netbook and don't want anything else. So I thought I'd extend its life by putting a small, run-in-RAM Linux op sys on a pendrive and use that instead of the hdd.

I've researched a lot of Linux distros and the one that has perhaps most impressed me is Tiny Core Linux. I like the images in the .png files at the download sites, I like its modular nature, and I like the documentation. It looks to me like a serious distro, and I want to give it a try.

I've read the pertinent pages in your wiki and in this forum, but I still have some unanswered questions before I try to install TCL on a pendrive. I hope the kind folks here will help me with answers.

Here are my questions:

-- Will Tiny Core Linux (and/or Core Plus, Multicore) work on an Asus EeePC 1000HA if run from a pendrive? Will the keyboard functions, power management, and other features of the EeePC 1000HA be preserved?