WelcomeWelcome | FAQFAQ | DownloadsDownloads | WikiWiki

Author Topic: My Core runs on...  (Read 8367 times)

Offline thane

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 657
Re: My Core runs on...
« Reply #15 on: January 19, 2013, 07:21:18 PM »
I didn't time it precisely. However I used to call it my "beer boot" because I could start up the box, walk to the kitchen and get a beer, walk back and the desktop would appear just as I returned. I timed the walk now (including the beer) and it's about 35 seconds. Then and now I'm running a fairly small set of extensions -- web browser with Flash, mp3 player, pdf viewer, not much else all loading to RAM. My current USB 2 box boots in less than 20 seconds.
« Last Edit: January 19, 2013, 07:25:21 PM by thane »

Offline Zendrael

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 355
    • Zendrael's home of projects
Re: My Core runs on...
« Reply #16 on: January 23, 2013, 03:11:14 PM »
Wow!

Very nice machines running Core out there!

Anyone with experiences on notebooks multitouch touchpads? Sleep and Wake? Hibernation?

My Core on the Vortex machine mentioned boots in almost 1 minute... I think it's because even the SD card which it's intalled being class10, the interface is USB 1.0... any clues about speeding it up?

Thanks to all of you that are sharing your experiences!


Offline tinypoodle

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 3857
Re: My Core runs on...
« Reply #17 on: January 23, 2013, 05:06:20 PM »
My Core on the Vortex machine mentioned boots in almost 1 minute... I think it's because even the SD card which it's intalled being class10, the interface is USB 1.0... any clues about speeding it up?
USB 1.0 is inherently slow, so all you could do is reducing sizes of kernel, initrd, onboot and backup to speed boot up.
Using persistent /home and /opt might speed up boot more but at the cost of reduced speed thereafter and more wear and tear of SD card.
Hint: there is a remaster script including only currently loaded drivers by gutmensch in the scripting subforum which could slim down initrd a lot.
"Software gets slower faster than hardware gets faster." Niklaus Wirth - A Plea for Lean Software (1995)

Offline thane

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 657
Re: My Core runs on...
« Reply #18 on: January 23, 2013, 09:22:12 PM »
IIRC on my USB 1.0 box the bulk of the boot time was taken up loading extensions and backup (I was booting Core from CD though). You might want to time the phases of your boot process and see what you can change to make the most difference. I guess with a notebook you have to boot and shutdown pretty often. Since mine was a desktop I dealt with the issue mainly by booting once a day at most. When I finally got the newer box I was surprised at the difference USB 2 made (plus I could boot from USB also). I generally leave it running about a week at a time now anyway.

Offline Lee

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 645
    • My Core wiki user page
Re: My Core runs on...
« Reply #19 on: January 23, 2013, 10:25:01 PM »
Dell Dimension 4600 (2004 vintage)

Hardware
  CPU:     Intel(R) Pentium(R) 4 CPU 2.80GHz ( 1 core )
  RAM:     512 MB
  HD :      4GB USB flash drive ( all actual HD and optical drives currently disconnected )
  NIC:      Intel Corporation 82557/8/9/0/1 Ethernet Pro 100 (rev 05)
               Intel Corporation 82562EZ 10/100 Ethernet Controller (rev 02)
  WIFI:    none
  VID:      Intel Corporation 82865G Integrated Graphics Controller (rev 02)    (on-board)
  Sound:  Intel Corporation 82801EB/ER (ICH5/ICH5R) AC'97 Audio Controller (rev 02)

Software
    grub4dos
    Core 4.7 w/fltk-1.1.10, Xlibs, Xprogs, Xorg-7.5, wbar, jwm
    openssh, minefield7, filezilla, gtm5, sylpheed, emelfm2, bftpd, cherokee (etc)

Config
    Frugal install on a USB stick - nothing persistent except the tce directory and mydata.gz

Usage
    A general utility box - light ftp and http serving, some routing.

Comments
    I seem to recall having to fiddle with the graphics a bit to get it to display the right colors or brightness but I've been running it headless for so long I don't remember the details.
32 bit core4.7.7, Xprogs, Xorg-7.6, wbar, jwm  |  - Testing -
PPR, data persistence through filetool.sh          |  32 bit core 8.0 alpha 1
USB Flash drive, one partition, ext2, grub4dos  | Otherwise similar

Offline coreplayer2

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 3020
Re: My Core runs on...
« Reply #20 on: January 23, 2013, 10:27:49 PM »
That's interesting...   Hadn't thought about USB versions but now that I remember, have had difficulty booting TinyCore  on USB 3.0 ports but have not had any issues with USB 2.0 which are still available on most machines I use


Offline thane

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 657
Re: My Core runs on...
« Reply #21 on: January 23, 2013, 10:59:11 PM »
I don't know if ability to boot from USB is connected to the version -- I thought it was more of a BIOS thing. My current TCL box happens to have a BIOS that can do a USB boot and USB 2.0 as well. It sounds like Zendrael's notebook can boot from USB even though he has USB 1.0. I'm surprised 3.0 would have problems -- thought it would just be faster.

Offline Lee

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 645
    • My Core wiki user page
Re: My Core runs on...
« Reply #22 on: January 24, 2013, 09:02:05 AM »
Dell Dimension 4700 (2005 vintage)

Hardware
  CPU:     Intel(R) Pentium(R) 4 CPU 2.80GHz (dual core)
  RAM:     512 MB
  HD :      80 GB SATA
  NIC:      Intel Corporation 82562ET/EZ/GT/GZ - PRO/100 VE (LOM) Ethernet Controller (rev 03)
  WIFI:    none
  VID:      Intel Corporation 82915G Integrated Graphics Controller (rev 04)
  Sound:  Intel Corporation 82801FB/FBM/FR/FW/FRW (ICH6 Family) AC'97 Audio Controller (rev 03)

Software
    grub4dos
    Core 4.7 w/fltk-1.1.10, Xlibs, Xprogs, Xorg-7.5, wbar, jwm
    openssh, minefield7, filezilla, gtm5, sylpheed, emelfm2, bftpd, cherokee (etc)

Config
    Frugal install on a USB stick - nothing persistent except the tce directory and mydata.gz

Usage
    A secondary desktop / general utility box.

Comments
    Boot from usb stick - mostly never even mount the (Win. XP) hard disk.
[/quote]
32 bit core4.7.7, Xprogs, Xorg-7.6, wbar, jwm  |  - Testing -
PPR, data persistence through filetool.sh          |  32 bit core 8.0 alpha 1
USB Flash drive, one partition, ext2, grub4dos  | Otherwise similar

Offline Zendrael

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 355
    • Zendrael's home of projects
Re: My Core runs on...
« Reply #23 on: January 26, 2013, 04:39:15 AM »
Hey Lee,

doesn't your wife ever complained about all that computers in the house? Hahaha! (just a joke...)

Anyone running Core on some sort of cluster / grid? Is it possible?

Thane and CorePlayer2, the USB interface is my problem. I stripped all the unnecessary extensions from the boot and it still get a lot of time to boot. The machine is being used as a file / web server for my needs and to stay running while torrents are being downloaded. This machine is running for a month now without getting hot and not rebooting. A few times I did a drop cache to free some memory (as it has only 1Gb on the SoC).

Offline Rich

  • TinyCore Moderator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 7798
Re: My Core runs on...
« Reply #24 on: January 26, 2013, 08:44:25 AM »
Hi Zendrael
Quote
Anyone running Core on some sort of cluster
See:
http://forum.tinycorelinux.net/index.php/topic,12595.msg70345.html#msg70345

Offline Lee

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 645
    • My Core wiki user page
Re: My Core runs on...
« Reply #25 on: January 26, 2013, 10:13:00 AM »
Quote
doesn't your wife ever complained about all that computers in the house? Hahaha! (just a joke...)

The joke's on her.   ;)  Only about half of the systems I've mentioned are at my home (and one of them is her Windows 7 Home Premium 64-bit box, which only very rarely gets to run Core).  But yeah, it has occasionally "come up in conversation" that she thinks I have "too many junky old computers" in the basement.  So far she's not complaining about the PowerEdge SC440 boxes, as they are the most modern things in the house aside from her Inspiron.

Most of the other half of the list are older boxes laying around at work... where it occasionally comes up in conversation that we have "too many junky old computers" in the data center.    :)    The next time -that- subject comes up, guess what's going to happen... The wife will not be happy.    :D

In the mean time, I dragged one of the Compaq Deskpros out and actually hooked up a monitor to it so my teenagers can use it to learn a little geekery with no real chance of playing flash based games.  I updated it to Core 4.7.4 (from 2.6) and was all set to download all the latest extensions... and Verizon DSL went down... for a day and a half!  It only just now started working again.  In fact, its still not real stable - I've already failed once to be able to preview this post.  Grrr!

And, oh yeah - didn't we just mention the hard drives in those old Deskpros?  Now that the Core is updated and the internet link is back up... yeah, "non system disk..." blah blah blah.  Double Grrr!  Hmm, let me see now, what will the kiddies get to learn first...

32 bit core4.7.7, Xprogs, Xorg-7.6, wbar, jwm  |  - Testing -
PPR, data persistence through filetool.sh          |  32 bit core 8.0 alpha 1
USB Flash drive, one partition, ext2, grub4dos  | Otherwise similar

Offline Zendrael

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 355
    • Zendrael's home of projects
Re: My Core runs on...
« Reply #26 on: February 09, 2013, 10:16:07 AM »
I almost forget it, a machine that is not with me anymore:

Philco Netbook (2011 more or less...)

Hardware
  CPU:     Intel(R) Atom(R) CPU 1.6GHz ( 1 core )
  RAM:     2 GB
  HD :      250GB
  NIC:      Intel (something... )
  WIFI:     yes, but can't remember model...
  VID:      Intel 945 GMA
  Sound:  Intel ....

Software
    extlinux
    Core 3.x with cairo-dock, thunar, compiz and others... (screenshot in the wiki)

Config
    Frugal install on the harddrive. Persistent opt and home

Usage
    used to web development, some image manipulation with gimp and inkscape, web durfing

Comments
    pretty good machine. The actual owner is running Kubuntu on it.

Offline crichton

  • WikiUser
  • *
  • Posts: 4
Re: My Core runs on...
« Reply #27 on: February 13, 2013, 08:38:34 AM »
Dell Dimension XPS PPro200n (1997 vintage)

Hardware
  CPU:     Intel(R) Pentium(R) Pro 200MHz
  RAM:     256 MiB
  HD :      80 GB IDE
  NIC:      PCI Intel Corporation 10/100 Ethernet Controller
  WIFI:    None
  VID:      PCI Nvidia Geforce FX 6200, 256MB DDR2 Memory, VGA, Low Profile
  Sound:  None
  USB:     PCI USB 2.0 card

Software
    Core 4.7 rdesktop, openssh

Config
    HD install from CD-ROM

Usage
    A Dev / general utility box.

Comments
    Old, but still ain't broke. :)

Offline Oldtimmer

  • WikiUser
  • *
  • Posts: 1
Re: My Core runs on...
« Reply #28 on: February 21, 2013, 04:49:05 PM »
Hi All
I am new to Tiny Core but here is my project.

HP T5710 thin client

Hardware
  CPU:     1.2GHz ( 1 core )
  RAM:     512mb
  HD :      512mb internal flash
  NIC:      (something... ) 100mbit
  VID:      Nvidia something
  Sound:  AC97

Software
   
    TC 4.7.4

Config
    Frugal install on the internal 512 flash drive .

Usage
    Basic web browsing and youtube

Comments
    Runs good

Offline gerald_clark

  • TinyCore Moderator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 4254
Re: My Core runs on...
« Reply #29 on: February 21, 2013, 05:49:38 PM »
HP5720
CPU:     1G AMD Geode
HD:       1G Flash drive
RAM:     512M
NIC:       VT6102 100M Ethernet
VID:       SIS VGA
SOUND: SiS7012 AC'97
USB:      6 USB2.0

HP5730
CPU:     1G AMD Geode
HD:       1G Flash
RAM:     1G
NIC:       BCM5787M Gigabit Ethernet
VID:       Radeon X1200 VGA and HDMI
SOUND: AMD (ATI) SBx00 Azalia
USB:      8 USB2.0

HP5740
CPU:      1.66G N280 Atom
HD:        2G Flash
RAM:      1G RAM
NIC:        BCM57780 Gigabit Ethernet
VID:        Intel Mobile 4 Graphics 9 VGA and Display Port
SOUND:  82801I ( ICH9 )
USB:       8 USB2.0