WelcomeWelcome | FAQFAQ | DownloadsDownloads | WikiWiki

Author Topic: Sound in piCore  (Read 71283 times)

Offline Juanito

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 14516
Re: Sound in piCore
« Reply #15 on: January 20, 2013, 03:22:53 AM »
This means you need an ncurses extension, no?

Offline bmarkus

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 7183
    • My Community Forum
Re: Sound in piCore
« Reply #16 on: January 20, 2013, 03:53:59 AM »
This means you need an ncurses extension, no?

Right, ncurses is a soft dependency. Load ncurses.tcz
Béla
Ham Radio callsign: HA5DI

"Amateur Radio: The First Technology-Based Social Network."

Offline sbp

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 429
    • piCorePlayer homepage
Re: Sound in piCore
« Reply #17 on: January 20, 2013, 04:34:36 AM »
Thank you both.

I'm really impressed and grateful for your knowledge and continued help you provide.
Installing ncurses solved the problem.

Steen

Offline cast-fish

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1000
  • hi there
Re: Sound in piCore
« Reply #18 on: January 21, 2013, 08:19:53 AM »
Hello

this is absoluely great...working analogue and hdmi sound on the Pi

thanks a lot

Vince

Offline gtr2

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 19
Re: Sound in piCore
« Reply #19 on: May 28, 2013, 03:15:29 AM »
To get sound working with the on-board hardware, just install alsa.tcz from the repo. It will load and intialize all necessary components, no configuration needed.
.... Try moc.tcz which is tested with .mp3 and .flac .....

Jinxed times really, but then again ...

Code: [Select]
tce-load -wi alsa.tcz
Code: [Select]
tce-load -wi moc.tcz
Code: [Select]
alsamixer unmuteF6 -> Soundcard ( I tried both, default and 0 bcm2835 ALSA )
Code: [Select]
mocpI can see that a *.flac file is being played but no sound can be heard from the analog 3.5" jack ( moc's pcm=00% )

These are the messages I'm getting:
Code: [Select]
Can't load plugin libmp3_decoder: file not found
Running the server...
Trying ALSA...

I've read that the libmp3_decoder error can be fixed by adjusting the ALSA buffer_time.  Can someone shed some light on this (?)
As far as I know, moc has got a config file which can be imported this way:
Code: [Select]
cd ~/.moc && cp /usr/share/doc/moc/examples/config.example.gz ./ && gunzip config.example.gz && mv config.example configIs there any similar way to do it on piCore ?


Offline bmarkus

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 7183
    • My Community Forum
Re: Sound in piCore
« Reply #20 on: May 28, 2013, 03:38:20 AM »
tce-load -iw libid3tag

Béla
Ham Radio callsign: HA5DI

"Amateur Radio: The First Technology-Based Social Network."

Offline gtr2

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 19
Re: Sound in piCore
« Reply #21 on: May 28, 2013, 03:52:16 AM »
Code: [Select]
tce-load -iw libid3tag
Right, *.mp3 files are now recognized and played. Still no sound  from the analog 3.5" jack ( moc's pcm=00% ) though.

Offline bmarkus

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 7183
    • My Community Forum
Re: Sound in piCore
« Reply #22 on: May 28, 2013, 04:00:34 AM »
Just repeated your steps, FLAC and MP3 playback works fine, I can listen music with earphone plugeend into the 3.5mm jack. Still some issue with WAV, will check.

Béla
Ham Radio callsign: HA5DI

"Amateur Radio: The First Technology-Based Social Network."

Offline bmarkus

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 7183
    • My Community Forum
Re: Sound in piCore
« Reply #23 on: May 28, 2013, 04:11:57 AM »
Of course not. Your command is invalid. Use -R OR --sound-driver
Béla
Ham Radio callsign: HA5DI

"Amateur Radio: The First Technology-Based Social Network."

Offline gtr2

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 19
Re: Sound in piCore
« Reply #24 on: May 28, 2013, 04:23:29 AM »
Of course not. Your command is invalid. Use -R OR --sound-driver
My bad, you're right. The command runs well, still no sound though.

Offline bmarkus

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 7183
    • My Community Forum
Re: Sound in piCore
« Reply #25 on: May 28, 2013, 04:48:28 AM »
I would suggest to check your settings. Maybe you have the HDMI sound output configured. Just a thought.
Béla
Ham Radio callsign: HA5DI

"Amateur Radio: The First Technology-Based Social Network."

Offline gtr2

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 19
Re: Sound in piCore
« Reply #26 on: May 28, 2013, 05:11:01 AM »
I would suggest to check your settings. Maybe you have the HDMI sound output configured. Just a thought.
I already checked that. Neither HDMI nor 3.5mm jack sound. The thing that puzzles me most is that pcm=00% in moc.
What about the config file for moc, isn't there one ? I've used moc on various Linux distros and I have always had a config file.

I don't know if this might be of interest but ...

Code: [Select]
tc@box:~$ aplay -l
**** List of PLAYBACK Hardware Devices ****
card 0: ALSA [bcm2835 ALSA], device 0: bcm2835 ALSA [bcm2835 ALSA]
  Subdevices: 8/8
  Subdevice #0: subdevice #0
  Subdevice #1: subdevice #1
  Subdevice #2: subdevice #2
  Subdevice #3: subdevice #3
  Subdevice #4: subdevice #4
  Subdevice #5: subdevice #5
  Subdevice #6: subdevice #6
  Subdevice #7: subdevice #7
tc@box:~$ aplay -L
null
    Discard all samples (playback) or generate zero samples (capture)
default:CARD=ALSA
    bcm2835 ALSA, bcm2835 ALSA
    Default Audio Device
sysdefault:CARD=ALSA
    bcm2835 ALSA, bcm2835 ALSA
    Default Audio Device
tc@box:~$
« Last Edit: May 28, 2013, 05:13:07 AM by gtr2 »

Offline bmarkus

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 7183
    • My Community Forum
Re: Sound in piCore
« Reply #27 on: May 28, 2013, 05:15:31 AM »
I have it alway 00% but playback is fine, alsamixer does its job.
Béla
Ham Radio callsign: HA5DI

"Amateur Radio: The First Technology-Based Social Network."

Offline bmarkus

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 7183
    • My Community Forum
Re: Sound in piCore
« Reply #28 on: May 28, 2013, 05:23:06 AM »
Is it only an mocp issue? Do you get sound from other programs? Try aplay to isolate the issue.
Béla
Ham Radio callsign: HA5DI

"Amateur Radio: The First Technology-Based Social Network."

Offline sbp

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 429
    • piCorePlayer homepage
Re: Sound in piCore
« Reply #29 on: May 28, 2013, 05:40:51 AM »
Hi did you remember to use:
sudo modprobe snd_bcm2835