WelcomeWelcome | FAQFAQ | DownloadsDownloads | WikiWiki

Author Topic: Adding X Desktop to rpiCore  (Read 14967 times)

Offline fritz3170

  • WikiUser
  • *
  • Posts: 3
Adding X Desktop to rpiCore
« on: November 07, 2012, 10:46:12 AM »
Hey guys,

i tried to install X because it seems not to be integrated in the stock version wich i downloaded
(rpiCore-20121103.img.gz)

searched the forums wich linked me to the wiki page:
hXXp://wiki.tinycorelinux.net/wiki:adding_a_desktop_to_microcore

tried out the steps but i think some packages arent compiled yet or some not provided to add
a desktop to the core system on raspberry pi because its arm.

but i found 2 topics in thi raspberry pi forum where bmarkus solved to run a gui.

can someone explain the steps to get X with rpiCore?

Thanks in advance!

fritz3170

Offline bmarkus

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 7179
    • My Community Forum
Re: Adding X Desktop to rpiCore
« Reply #1 on: November 07, 2012, 12:50:07 PM »
Work in progress. Wait a bit for extensions.
Béla
Ham Radio callsign: HA5DI

"Amateur Radio: The First Technology-Based Social Network."

Offline phillip.toone

  • WikiUser
  • *
  • Posts: 40
Re: Adding X Desktop to rpiCore
« Reply #2 on: November 08, 2012, 01:25:52 PM »
Hello all.  I just discovered the Raspberry Pi last week and Tiny Core just yesterday.  I am trying to build a device that will take input from two momentary switches through the GPIO and provide graphical results a monitor/TV (among other things).  I was going to use an old computer paired with a PIC Micro or an arduino to accomplish this but the Raspberry Pi looks perfect.  I suppose I could accomplish this with the official Raspbian "wheezy" but Tiny Core seems ideal.  But I am going to want to use something like FLTK or something even lighter to keep this project small, fast and simple.  Any help would be appreciated.

I just got Tiny Core running in terminal on the Raspberry Pi I got in the mail just yesterday.  Now what do I do to get some sort of graphical interface/GUI/X?

Offline bmarkus

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 7179
    • My Community Forum
Re: Adding X Desktop to rpiCore
« Reply #3 on: November 09, 2012, 02:40:35 AM »
For those eager to have piCore with X before official release I can offer a private preview using current snapshot. Let me know here or in PM if you want to have it.
Béla
Ham Radio callsign: HA5DI

"Amateur Radio: The First Technology-Based Social Network."

Offline phillip.toone

  • WikiUser
  • *
  • Posts: 40
Re: Adding X Desktop to rpiCore
« Reply #4 on: November 09, 2012, 04:54:56 AM »
Thanks bmarkus, I've sent you a PM.  I look forward to hearing back from you.  Maybe I can help you develop this.  I'll do my best but don't hold your breath.  I'm not really a programmer, I just play one on the internet. =)
« Last Edit: November 09, 2012, 08:08:09 AM by phillip.toone »

Offline bmarkus

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 7179
    • My Community Forum
Re: Adding X Desktop to rpiCore
« Reply #5 on: November 09, 2012, 05:27:38 AM »
Thanks bmarkus, I've sent you a PM.  I look forward to hearing back from you.  Maybe I can help you develop this.  I'll do my best but don't hold your breath.  I'm not really a program, I just play one on the internet. =)

No PM received.
Béla
Ham Radio callsign: HA5DI

"Amateur Radio: The First Technology-Based Social Network."

Offline phillip.toone

  • WikiUser
  • *
  • Posts: 40
Re: Adding X Desktop to rpiCore
« Reply #6 on: November 09, 2012, 05:34:47 AM »
No PM received.

Thank you for letting me know.  I think it took me three tries to get this to work.

Offline bmarkus

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 7179
    • My Community Forum
Re: Adding X Desktop to rpiCore
« Reply #7 on: November 09, 2012, 07:19:23 AM »
Thanks bmarkus, I've sent you a PM.  I look forward to hearing back from you.  Maybe I can help you develop this.  I'll do my best but don't hold your breath.  I'm not really a program, I just play one on the internet. =)

Phillip,

thanks for your interest. You can help with testing, sending bug reports, create extensions and on many other ways.

Sent instructions in PM. Let us know the result.

Regards... Bela
Béla
Ham Radio callsign: HA5DI

"Amateur Radio: The First Technology-Based Social Network."

Offline phillip.toone

  • WikiUser
  • *
  • Posts: 40
Re: Adding X Desktop to rpiCore
« Reply #8 on: November 09, 2012, 08:07:03 AM »
Let us know the result.

Ok, since you said to let "us" know I will respond here rather than a PM.

I first cleared the contents of my 16GB SD card using RedHat Disk Utility 2.30.1.

I installed rpiCore-20121103.img.gz to the SD card with the following:

Code: [Select]
gunzip < rpiCore-20121103.img.gz | dd of=/dev/sdf bs=1M
I viewed contents of the SD card (using RedHat Disk Utility 2.30.1).  There is now a 39MB FAT32 (0x0c) partition on the SD card.

I created a 1GB ext4 (0x83) partition named tce (again using RedHat Disk Utility 2.30.1)

I mounted the partition and created a folder named "tce" on the root of this partition.

I unzipped the contents of the TC.ZIP file to the tce folder (contained ondemand, optional, firstrun, onboot.lst, xwbar.lst)

I created a 1GB Linux swap (0x82) partition (again using using RedHat Disk Utility 2.30.1)

I installed the SD card into the Raspberry Pi and was booted into the CLI

I typed startx at the command line and received the following response

Quote
-sh: startx: not found

I typed the following:

Code: [Select]
ls /mnt
and received the following response:

Quote
mmcblk0p1/ mmcblk0p2/

Offline bmarkus

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 7179
    • My Community Forum
Re: Adding X Desktop to rpiCore
« Reply #9 on: November 09, 2012, 08:14:29 AM »
Are extensions installed? Try mc for checking and look at the /usr/local/tce.installed dir.
Béla
Ham Radio callsign: HA5DI

"Amateur Radio: The First Technology-Based Social Network."

Offline phillip.toone

  • WikiUser
  • *
  • Posts: 40
Re: Adding X Desktop to rpiCore
« Reply #10 on: November 09, 2012, 08:19:10 AM »
Try mc for checking and look at the /usr/local/tce.installed dir.

I typed

Code: [Select]
mc
at the command line and got

Quote
-sh: mc: not found

I typed

Code: [Select]
ls /usr/local/tce.installed/
at the command line and got nothing in response (directory exists but is empty).

Offline bmarkus

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 7179
    • My Community Forum
Re: Adding X Desktop to rpiCore
« Reply #11 on: November 09, 2012, 08:24:30 AM »
For some reason extensions not loaded

Type

ls -l /etc/sysconfig

and check tcedir which is a symlink to used tce directory

Is the new partion, mmcblk0p2 mounted? If not, can you mount it? Is tce der with the expected structure?
Béla
Ham Radio callsign: HA5DI

"Amateur Radio: The First Technology-Based Social Network."

Offline phillip.toone

  • WikiUser
  • *
  • Posts: 40
Re: Adding X Desktop to rpiCore
« Reply #12 on: November 09, 2012, 08:31:57 AM »
ls -l /etc/sysconfig

Yes the link tcedir is pointing at /mnt/mmcblk0p2/tce

I'm not sure how to assess the contents of the link.  The following

Code: [Select]
cd /mnt/mmcblk0p2/
yields

Quote
-sh: cd: can't cd to mmcblk0p2/

(note, I am an ubuntu user and I am used thing automatically mounting to /media when I plug them in)

Offline bmarkus

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 7179
    • My Community Forum
Re: Adding X Desktop to rpiCore
« Reply #13 on: November 09, 2012, 08:38:04 AM »
Try:

sudo mount /mnt/mmcblk0p2
ls /mnt/mmcblk0p2
ls /mnt/mmcblk0p2/tce
ls /mnt/mmcblk0p2/tce/optional

At the last command you must see extensions inside.

Try to install mc:

tce-load -i mc

What happenes?



Béla
Ham Radio callsign: HA5DI

"Amateur Radio: The First Technology-Based Social Network."

Offline phillip.toone

  • WikiUser
  • *
  • Posts: 40
Re: Adding X Desktop to rpiCore
« Reply #14 on: November 09, 2012, 08:52:18 AM »
tce-load -i mc

I rebooted the device and typed

Code: [Select]
tce-load -i mc
but nothing happens.

The contents of tce partition are mounted correctly but are only viewable as su

Code: [Select]
sudo ls /mnt/mmcblk0p2/tce/optional