WelcomeWelcome | FAQFAQ | DownloadsDownloads | WikiWiki

Author Topic: Core v4.7rc3  (Read 40565 times)

Offline roberts

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 7361
  • Founder Emeritus
Re: Core v4.7rc3
« Reply #30 on: October 21, 2012, 09:11:50 AM »
http://forum.tinycorelinux.net/index.php/topic,14193.msg79918.html#msg79918
maybe possible to bind registered file mime types with apps installed ondemand
and also provide ability to run them from command line with parameters
if transmit parameters together with app name for processing in ondemand script
something like this
Code: [Select]
#!/bin/sh
ondemand -e extension.tcz $@
and
Code: [Select]
#!/bin/sh
ondemand -e application.scm $@
and there after shifting of app name then add remained parameters to executable line

I don't think that this suggestion is easily accessible for the user. Likey buried for experts only.
However I did implement it.
10+ Years Contributing to Linux Open Source Projects.

Offline AbNoRMiS

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 550
  • nothing can be impeccable in this imperfect world
    • @ß№®M!$
Re: Core v4.7rc3
« Reply #31 on: October 21, 2012, 10:27:01 AM »
yes indeed i always forget that now scm apps have also could be installed ondemand and just did not thought about it
scm extensions need an additional filter in order to support non-standard pixmap locations, e.g.,
 [ "$TYPE" == "scm" ] && ICONCHECK="${ICONCHECK#*$APPNAME/}"
may be is possible to avoid checking apps type if filter together with apps folder name
Code: [Select]
[ -e "$ICONCHECK" ] || ICONCHECK=/mnt/test${ICONCHECK#*apps/$APPNAME}for example
Code: [Select]
tc@box:~$ ICONCHECK=/apps/chromium-browser/local/share/icons/hicolor/64x64/apps/chromium-browser.png
tc@box:~$ echo /mnt/test${ICONCHECK#*apps/chromium-browser}
/mnt/test/local/share/icons/hicolor/64x64/apps/chromium-browser.png
or if X-FullPathIcon will changed to /apps/chromium-browser/share/pixmaps/chromium-browser.png
Code: [Select]
tc@box:~$ ICONCHECK=/apps/chromium-browser/share/pixmaps/chromium-browser.png
tc@box:~$ echo /mnt/test${ICONCHECK#*apps/chromium-browser}
/mnt/test/share/pixmaps/chromium-browser.png
that will not affect for tcz extensions
Code: [Select]
tc@box:~$ ICONCHECK=/usr/local/share/icons/hicolor/32x32/apps/meld.png
tc@box:~$ echo /mnt/test${ICONCHECK#*apps/chromium-browser}
/mnt/test/usr/local/share/icons/hicolor/32x32/apps/meld.png
« Last Edit: October 21, 2012, 10:36:50 AM by AbNoRMiS »
Basic Design Concept © @ß№®M!$
please forgive my terrible english :)

Offline roberts

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 7361
  • Founder Emeritus
Re: Core v4.7rc3
« Reply #32 on: October 21, 2012, 10:40:55 AM »
The whole reason for this rc is to implement scm ondemand.
Otherwise there would be no change to the ondemand code.
And we could even have an obfuscation contest!  8)
I hope you understand that I ask for use cases and not code. Many ways to accomplish the same task. Submitted code only slows me down because of needed detail review and testing as this whole senario has clkearly shown.
10+ Years Contributing to Linux Open Source Projects.

Offline roberts

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 7361
  • Founder Emeritus
Re: Core v4.7rc3
« Reply #33 on: October 21, 2012, 10:45:47 AM »
@netnomad I did find a bug and fixed it with regard to ondemand current item list, which could have accounted for a deletion issue. However what I found was related to tcz and not scm.  Any  update on your scm deletion issue?
10+ Years Contributing to Linux Open Source Projects.

Offline AbNoRMiS

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 550
  • nothing can be impeccable in this imperfect world
    • @ß№®M!$
Re: Core v4.7rc3
« Reply #34 on: October 21, 2012, 11:11:53 AM »
Submitted code only slows me down because of needed detail review and testing as this whole senario has clkearly shown.
it seems that should not hurry with analysis and testing of code
taking in mind such major changes as in this version
even if will be need release more than one rc yet
Basic Design Concept © @ß№®M!$
please forgive my terrible english :)

Offline netnomad

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1026
Re: Core v4.7rc3
« Reply #35 on: October 21, 2012, 11:22:24 AM »
@netnomad I did find a bug and fixed it with regard to ondemand current item list, which could have accounted for a deletion issue. However what I found was related to tcz and not scm.  Any  update on your scm deletion issue?

hi roberts,

i still experience the reported behavior in v4.7rc3...

Quote
the OnDemand maintenance delete button gets just greyed out, the ondemand-entry stays in the window on the right hand side and nothing else happens, nothing is removed.
also a reboot shows no improvement, so the ondemand-entry stays in the wm-standard-ondemand-menue.

... or do you mean that i can change or influence something according to that issue?

thank you for your work and help.
« Last Edit: October 21, 2012, 11:30:23 AM by netnomad »

Offline AbNoRMiS

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 550
  • nothing can be impeccable in this imperfect world
    • @ß№®M!$
Re: Core v4.7rc3
« Reply #36 on: October 21, 2012, 12:27:58 PM »
I don't think that this suggestion is easily accessible for the user. Likey buried for experts only.
However I did implement it.
thank roberts
it will also be useful for those users who use file managers like pcmanfm or xfe
to open documents, images, isos etc in those applications which process them
Basic Design Concept © @ß№®M!$
please forgive my terrible english :)

Offline roberts

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 7361
  • Founder Emeritus
Re: Core v4.7rc3
« Reply #37 on: October 21, 2012, 03:22:05 PM »
@netnomad I did find a bug and fixed it with regard to ondemand current item list, which could have accounted for a deletion issue. However what I found was related to tcz and not scm.  Any  update on your scm deletion issue?

hi roberts,

i still experience the reported behavior in v4.7rc3...

Quote
the OnDemand maintenance delete button gets just greyed out, the ondemand-entry stays in the window on the right hand side and nothing else happens, nothing is removed.
also a reboot shows no improvement, so the ondemand-entry stays in the wm-standard-ondemand-menue.

... or do you mean that i can change or influence something according to that issue?

thank you for your work and help.
I just updated Xprogs.tcz in the release_candidate area. However, the bug fix was with tcz and current ondemand list and not scm. Anyway, please download this new version.

Now lets take this step by step. If you open scmapps, select Maintenance, select OnDemand Maintainenace, then select an ondemand item from the right hand side, i.e., Current Ondemand Items, that the Delete button remains inactive? If this is so, then something is wrong with your setup. Check md5sum etc.

If, on the other hand, it works when used directly, but fails when using other parts of scmapps, then please explain step by step which actions lead to this failure. As I have not be able to reproduce it.

10+ Years Contributing to Linux Open Source Projects.

Offline netnomad

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1026
Re: Core v4.7rc3
« Reply #38 on: October 21, 2012, 09:18:43 PM »
Quote
I just updated Xprogs.tcz in the release_candidate area. However, the bug fix was with tcz and current ondemand list and not scm. Anyway, please download this new version.

hi roberts,

i downloaded your recent Xprogs.tcz and checked the md5sums.

tc@box:~/.TCE/optional$ md5sum -c libreoffice3.6.scm.md5.txt                   
libreoffice3.6.scm: OK                                                         
tc@box:~/.TC/4.x/optional$ md5sum -c Xprogs.tcz.md5.txt                         
Xprogs.tcz: OK
tc@box:~/.TC/4.x/optional$ ls -la Xprogs.tcz
-rw-rw-r--    1 tc       staff       131072 Oct 22 06:09 Xprogs.tcz
tc@box:~/.TC/4.x/optional$ cat Xprogs.tcz.md5.txt
a7a0d442a42a933e1e23131a8b6a9094  Xprogs.tcz

Quote
Now lets take this step by step. If you open scmapps, select Maintenance, select OnDemand Maintainenace, then select an ondemand item from the right hand side, i.e., Current Ondemand Items, that the Delete button remains inactive?

in the first step the Delete button is just shiny...
so i do everything as you describe above... i choose my libreoffice3.6-file on the right hand side and after pressing the shiny Delete button it gets inactive, although nothing happens.
afterwards i can choose the ondemand item again, i get again a shiny delete button and after pressing the button nothing happens (started in a terminal the command line shows nothing, too).
[/quote]

Quote
If this is so, then something is wrong with your setup. Check md5sum etc.

i guess that i'm a tester of details... so i see no hint for a wrong setup.

now i md5summ-check my core-file:

tc@box:~/.MNT/sdb1/live/core-testing/boot$ md5sum -c core.gz.md5.txt
core.gz: OK

Quote
If, on the other hand, it works when used directly, but fails when using other parts of scmapps, then please explain step by step which actions lead to this failure. As I have not be able to reproduce it.

everything works in scmapps... only the delete function seems to do nothing without any other misfunction and no further error message or behavior.

i use fluxbox, but i see there no cause in my configuration.

now i have an idea:
i use something like "my personal standard paths" that keep "fixed" for different setups:

f.e.

tc@box:~$ ls -la
total 608
drwxr-sr-x     32 tc       staff       1480 Oct 22 06:28 ./
drwxr-xr-x       3 tc       staff           60 Dec 27  2011 ../
lrwxrwxrwx     1 root     staff            4 Oct 22 06:12 .MNT -> /mnt/
lrwxrwxrwx    1 root     staff           10 Oct 22 06:12 .TC -> /mnt/sdb2//
lrwxrwxrwx    1 root     staff           14 Oct 22 06:12 .TCE -> /mnt/sdb2/tce4/

tc@box:/mnt$ ls -la
total 8
drwxr-xr-x   11 root     root          260 Oct 22 06:12 ./
drwxr-xr-x   17 root     root          360 Aug 14  2011 ../
lrwxrwxrwx    1 root     root              5 Oct 22 06:12 TC -> sdb2//
lrwxrwxrwx    1 root     root            14 Oct 22 06:12 TCE -> /mnt/sdb2/tce4/

tc@box:~/.TC$ ls -la
total 11780
drwxr-xr-x       10 tc       staff         4096 Oct 22 06:37 ./
drwxr-xr-x   11 root     root              260 Oct 22 06:12 ../
lrwxrwxrwx    1 root     root                 4 Mar 24  2012 4.x -> tce4/
-rw-r--r--        1 root     root    1656866 Oct  9 20:58  core-test.tgz.bfe
-rw-r--r--        1 root     root    1656290 Oct  9 18:12  core-testbk.tgz.bfe
drwxrwxr-x    4 tc       staff            4096 Oct 18 07:07 tce4/


that's my boot-setup:

waitusb=5:LABEL=tc
protect
restore=LABEL=tc
tce=LABEL=tc/tce4
lst=onboot.lst
vga=795
psmouse.proto=imps
settime
tz=CET-1CEST,M3.5.0,M10.5.0/3
laptop
kmap=de
multivt
lang=de_DE.UTF-8
mydata=core-test
intel_rng.no_fwh_detect=-1
printk.time=1
initrd=/live/core-testing/boot/core.gz
BOOT_IMAGE=/live/core-testing/boot/vmlinuz

thank you for your help.
« Last Edit: October 21, 2012, 09:57:46 PM by netnomad »

Offline roberts

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 7361
  • Founder Emeritus
Re: Core v4.7rc3
« Reply #39 on: October 21, 2012, 10:06:52 PM »
It would appear that your tcedir is simply  /mnt/sdb2tce4.
I can not imagine why all those links would be desired, when one should be able to reference their tce directory by way of /etc/sysconfig/tcedir. Pray tell what is your /etc/sysconfig/tcedir referencing?
10+ Years Contributing to Linux Open Source Projects.

Offline netnomad

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1026
Re: Core v4.7rc3
« Reply #40 on: October 21, 2012, 10:38:31 PM »

tc@box:/etc/sysconfig$ ls -la
lrwxrwxrwx    1 root     root            14 Oct 22 06:11 tcedir -> /mnt/sdb2/tce4

tc@box:/mnt/sdb2/tce4$ ls -la
total 92
drwxrwxr-x    4 tc       staff         4096 Oct 18 07:07 ./
drwxr-xr-x   10 tc       staff         4096 Oct 22 06:37 ../
-rw-rw----    1 tc       staff            0 Aug 19 11:29 firstrun
-rw-rw-r--    1 tc       staff          290 Oct 22 06:11 onboot.lst
drwxrwxr-x    2 tc       staff         4096 Oct 21 21:34 ondemand/
drwxrwxr-x    3 tc       staff        69632 Oct 22 06:09 optional/
-rw-rw-r--    1 tc       staff          610 Oct 18 07:07 xwbar.lst


« Last Edit: October 21, 2012, 10:42:34 PM by netnomad »

Offline Rich

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 11179
Re: Core v4.7rc3
« Reply #41 on: October 21, 2012, 10:43:40 PM »
Hi netnomad
Quote
lrwxrwxrwx    1 root     staff           10 Oct 22 06:12 .TC -> /mnt/sdb2//
Quote
lrwxrwxrwx    1 root     root              5 Oct 22 06:12 TC -> sdb2//
What's with the extra / in these two entries?

Offline netnomad

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1026
Re: Core v4.7rc3
« Reply #42 on: October 21, 2012, 11:05:03 PM »
hi roberts,

you are right, that looks a little bit odd, but i had never a negative side effect.
i just checked my links and they work properly to navigate easily from one dir to the next.
(btw, i use these links to navigate to these dirs, in really high speed with the help of mc, like a flash of lightning ;) )

with the help of /opt/bootlocal.sh i create these links with tc-dev and tce-dir.
i get this additional / at the end of the link,
caused by /etc/sysconfig/backup_device: there is a / at the end of the device-variable.

tc@box:/etc/sysconfig$ cat backup_device
sdb2/

my tc-dev
#!/bin/sh
sudo ln -s /mnt/"$(cat /etc/sysconfig/backup_device)" /home/tc/.TC &
sudo ln -s "$(cat /etc/sysconfig/backup_device)" /mnt/TC

my tce-dir
#!/bin/sh
TCEDIR=`readlink /etc/sysconfig/tcedir`
rm -f /home/tc/.TCE
rm -f /mnt/TCE
ln -s $TCEDIR /home/tc/.TCE
ln -s $TCEDIR /mnt/TCE
« Last Edit: October 21, 2012, 11:29:18 PM by netnomad »

Online Juanito

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 14516
Re: Core v4.7rc3
« Reply #43 on: October 22, 2012, 02:32:45 AM »
if I use the apps gui to "download and load" an extension that is already present locally, the md5 checksum is doubled and triggers "check for updates" next time it is called.

eg:
Code: [Select]
6de4bf4bdb0ec53bc60e7729b2c397a9  lame-dev.tcz
6de4bf4bdb0ec53bc60e7729b2c397a9  lame-dev.tcz

Offline roberts

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 7361
  • Founder Emeritus
Re: Core v4.7rc3
« Reply #44 on: October 22, 2012, 06:08:06 AM »
It is not possible to have two files of the same name as the second instance would overwrite the first.

If this were a bug in apps then such behavior would involve all extensions and not a specific one.

I suspect one of those two files has a control character (non-visible). Perhaps caused by line noise. I would suggest to delete both md5 files and tce-fetch.sh lame-dev.tcz.md5.txt  Be aware that tce-fetch.sh downloads to current directory..
10+ Years Contributing to Linux Open Source Projects.