WelcomeWelcome | FAQFAQ | DownloadsDownloads | WikiWiki

Author Topic: Core v4.7rc3  (Read 23243 times)

Offline roberts

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 7361
  • Founder Emeritus
Core v4.7rc3
« on: October 17, 2012, 08:12:03 PM »
The thrid release candidate of Core 4.7 is ready for public testing:
http://distro.ibiblio.org/pub/linux/distributions/tinycorelinux/4.x/x86/release_candidates

Change Log: RC1

    Updated filetool - New GUI access to ,filetool.lst, .xfiletool.lst, and backup options.
    Updated filetool.sh to interface to updated filetool GUI.
    Updated ondemand to suport scm extensions.
    Updated scmapps GUI for new ondemand maintenace.
    Updated scm to interface to updated scmaps GUI
    Updated apps GUI - New Check Onboot Unneeded and changes required by ondemand scm support.
    New chkonboot.sh for cli Core only use.
    Updated tce-setup for consistency in handling onboot.lst and scmlist.lst, dropped .scm from scmlist.lst items.

Note: Requires new Xprogs.tcz (apps, scmapps, filetool) also in the rc testing area until final release.

Change Log RC2:

    Updated loadcpufreq to allow blacklisting
    Fixed reported issues with OnBoot checking
    Fixed reported issues with OnDemand scm launching
    Updated apps and scmaps GUI to support relative path.
    Updated wbar as required for new OnDemand structure

Change Log RC3"

  • New scm-run
  • Updated scmapps - new OnDemand download option.
  • Updated scm-load - new option -wo ondemand download
  • Updated tc-functions - added new support functions
  • Updated ondemand - now supports icons from both tcz and scm
  • Updated wbar - to support on demand icons
  • Updated Apps GUI - Check OnBoot Unneeded added "Scan complete" message
  • Updated filetool GUI - added directory support and enhanced tab labels


Note: Requires new wbar.tcz and Xprogs.tcz (apps, scmapps, filetool) also in the rc testing area until final release.

Note:
Having both scm and tcz in ondemand means changes to tcz ondemand. Specifically, icons would only be
displayed when extensions are loaded.
All ondemand items both scm and tcz will be available in the ondemand menu.
From ondemand menu, item will be loaded and if specified by a freedesktop item will also be launched.
Then the regular menu item and icon, if any, will be updated and displayed. Subsequent launching of the item
will be via the regular menu or displayed icon. Subsequent ondemand menu selection for an scm item will
unmount,  remove the regular menu item, and associated icon if any. Subsequent ondemand menu selection
for a tcz will produce no action, use regular menu item or icon.

All ondemand items need to be re-created for the new format.
10+ Years Contributing to Linux Open Source Projects.

Offline netnomad

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1027
Re: Core v4.7rc3
« Reply #1 on: October 17, 2012, 10:01:53 PM »
hi roberts,

i tested all discussed items of the rc3 and i can confirm their flawlessness for my configuration.

i'm very happy with that scm-run option and i see your new scm-infrastructure as a real enhancement.

there is still a tiny, little bug:
in the scm-gui ondemand maintenance the delete function doesn't work for me,
that means that i cannot delete a scm-ondemand-item with the help of the gui.

but never mind, it's so tiny that it can wait.
thank you for the recent improvements.
« Last Edit: October 17, 2012, 10:03:30 PM by netnomad »

Offline netnomad

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1027
Re: Core v4.7rc3
« Reply #2 on: October 17, 2012, 10:26:35 PM »
i successfully included my libreoffice-shortcut strg-alt-o in my actkbd.conf
and everything works as expected :) :
29+56+24:key:exec:su tc -c -l "scm-run libreoffice3.6" &

Offline netnomad

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1027
Re: Core v4.7rc3
« Reply #3 on: October 17, 2012, 10:33:49 PM »
hi roberts,

i guess you did it on purpose:
in the last cuts you showed some more informations during the backup-process in the backup-gui.
i guess you showed the size of the different files and at the end the total size of the compressed backup.
i think that was a informative feature and it could be useful for some occasions...
is the overhead too big?
or are there other reasons that you changed it?

thank you for your help.

Offline roberts

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 7361
  • Founder Emeritus
Re: Core v4.7rc3
« Reply #4 on: October 17, 2012, 10:37:13 PM »
hi roberts,

i tested all discussed items of the rc3 and i can confirm their flawlessness for my configuration.

i'm very happy with that scm-run option and i see your new scm-infrastructure as a real enhancement.

there is still a tiny, little bug:
in the scm-gui ondemand maintenance the delete function doesn't work for me,
that means that i cannot delete a scm-ondemand-item with the help of the gui.

but never mind, it's so tiny that it can wait.
thank you for the recent improvements.

I have not been able to reproduce. The OnDemand maintenance delete button removes both ondemand items, script and icon (if any).

I want to fix this before final release.

If you run scmapps from an xterm does it display any error?
10+ Years Contributing to Linux Open Source Projects.

Offline netnomad

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1027
Re: Core v4.7rc3
« Reply #5 on: October 17, 2012, 11:25:36 PM »
Quote
If you run scmapps from an xterm does it display any error?

there are no messages at all.

the OnDemand maintenance delete button gets just greyed out, the ondemand-entry stays in the window on the right hand side and nothing else happens, nothing is removed.
also a reboot shows no improvement, so the ondemand-entry stays in the wm-standard-ondemand-menue.
« Last Edit: October 17, 2012, 11:28:04 PM by netnomad »

Offline coreplayer2

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 3020
Re: Core v4.7rc3
« Reply #6 on: October 18, 2012, 12:04:04 AM »
Thanks Roberts, the " Check OnBoot Unneeded " items feature is performing as expected

 Nice work, I can't tell you how much work this has saved,  thanks again

Offline Juanito

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 11212
Re: Core v4.7rc3
« Reply #7 on: October 18, 2012, 01:00:44 AM »
'seems to be working fine for me :)

Offline roberts

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 7361
  • Founder Emeritus
Re: Core v4.7rc3
« Reply #8 on: October 18, 2012, 07:03:12 AM »
hi roberts,

i guess you did it on purpose:
in the last cuts you showed some more informations during the backup-process in the backup-gui.
i guess you showed the size of the different files and at the end the total size of the compressed backup.
i think that was a informative feature and it could be useful for some occasions...
is the overhead too big?
or are there other reasons that you changed it?

thank you for your help.

No. All backup options still work fine here.
Perhaps you should md5sum check your download, or fsck check disk drive, or memcheck.
10+ Years Contributing to Linux Open Source Projects.

Offline netnomad

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1027
Re: Core v4.7rc3
« Reply #9 on: October 18, 2012, 09:32:14 AM »
hi roberts,

i guess you did it on purpose:
in the last cuts you showed some more informations during the backup-process in the backup-gui.
i guess you showed the size of the different files and at the end the total size of the compressed backup.
i think that was a informative feature and it could be useful for some occasions...
is the overhead too big?
or are there other reasons that you changed it?

thank you for your help.

No. All backup options still work fine here.
Perhaps you should md5sum check your download, or fsck check disk drive, or memcheck.

all backup options still work fine for me, too.
it doesn't matter, but in a early stage of your new backup-gui the messages of the backup-process showed some additional informations like the size of every single file in the backup, then the summary size of all backup-files and at the end the size of the compressed and encrypted backup-file.
these informations were a nice additional feature, but nothing essential.
so it's not such a big problem that this changed.

Offline roberts

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 7361
  • Founder Emeritus
Re: Core v4.7rc3
« Reply #10 on: October 18, 2012, 01:17:46 PM »
Dry Run is still a working option and displays the same info that the command line

filetool.sh -d
10+ Years Contributing to Linux Open Source Projects.

Offline roberts

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 7361
  • Founder Emeritus
Re: Core v4.7rc3
« Reply #11 on: October 18, 2012, 01:22:36 PM »
Quote
If you run scmapps from an xterm does it display any error?

there are no messages at all.

the OnDemand maintenance delete button gets just greyed out, the ondemand-entry stays in the window on the right hand side and nothing else happens, nothing is removed.
also a reboot shows no improvement, so the ondemand-entry stays in the wm-standard-ondemand-menue.

Cannot duplicate.

Perhaps you are running a sequence of events in scmapps prior to selecting OnDemand delete. If so, please state exactly which sequence of events so that I will be able to reproduce.
10+ Years Contributing to Linux Open Source Projects.

Offline AbNoRMiS

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 551
  • nothing can be impeccable in this imperfect world
    • @ß№®M!$
Re: Core v4.7rc3
« Reply #12 on: October 18, 2012, 01:56:42 PM »
if extension has desktop-file with X-FullPathIcon key such as
Code: [Select]
X-FullPathIcon=/usr/local/share/icons/hicolor/48x48/apps/extension.pngthen img-file not added to tce/ondemand folder by using ondemand maintanance

p.s.
in versions tc4.1-4.6.2 it has worked as expected
« Last Edit: October 18, 2012, 02:12:18 PM by AbNoRMiS »
Basic Design Concept © @ß№®M!$
please forgive my terrible english :)

Offline AbNoRMiS

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 551
  • nothing can be impeccable in this imperfect world
    • @ß№®M!$
Re: Core v4.7rc3
« Reply #13 on: October 18, 2012, 02:04:01 PM »
it seems to me that choice 'None' is not required for backup gui
moreover that it does not work and just gives error

p.s.
nevertheless 'Clear' button near 'Delete' button little scares away me, even though i know for what it is used :)
perhaps can be better somehow different name it for example deselect/unselect, uncheck or unmark
« Last Edit: October 18, 2012, 02:46:23 PM by AbNoRMiS »
Basic Design Concept © @ß№®M!$
please forgive my terrible english :)

Offline AbNoRMiS

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 551
  • nothing can be impeccable in this imperfect world
    • @ß№®M!$
Re: Core v4.7rc3
« Reply #14 on: October 18, 2012, 03:17:11 PM »
it seems to me that choice 'None' is not required for backup gui
moreover that it does not work and just gives error
sorry, i mistakenly thought that pops error message
but when looked closely i saw that pops up warning
Code: [Select]
This will clear the selected backup device and prevent the backup from occurring.i can not understand what means 'clear the selected backup device'
it only clean 'Device:' textbox?
Basic Design Concept © @ß№®M!$
please forgive my terrible english :)