WelcomeWelcome | FAQFAQ | DownloadsDownloads | WikiWiki

Author Topic: "SWAP" on "RAM" is unacceptable, there is a logic error!  (Read 2509 times)

Offline xor

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1259
"SWAP" on "RAM" is unacceptable, there is a logic error!
« on: June 05, 2019, 09:24:16 AM »
"SWAP" on "RAM" is unacceptable, there is a logic error!


there is a logic error; HTOP.TCZ shows that there is a 800MB SWAP field in the system.

Logically, SWAP is the temporary space allocated in other storage units when RAM is not enough. You shouldn't have SWAP on RAM !!!

RAM on "tmp" is logical
but it is unreasonable to have a "swap"

Reference:
https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/swap_(computer_programming)

you can look at yourself and check the situation

  ((800MB Swap space appears on the system with 4gb RAM!))

Offline curaga

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 10957
Re: "SWAP" on "RAM" is unacceptable, there is a logic error!
« Reply #1 on: June 05, 2019, 09:33:45 AM »
It is compressed swap, which does make sense.
The only barriers that can stop you are the ones you create yourself.

Offline Rich

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 11178
Re: "SWAP" on "RAM" is unacceptable, there is a logic error!
« Reply #2 on: June 05, 2019, 09:38:21 AM »
Hi xor
There is no error.
The swap space in RAM is compressed swap. It allows for some fast swap space.
If you do not want any RAM based swap, use the  nozswap  boot code.

Offline xor

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1259
Re: "SWAP" on "RAM" is unacceptable, there is a logic error!
« Reply #3 on: June 05, 2019, 09:35:46 PM »
Hi xor
There is no error.
The swap space in RAM is compressed swap. It allows for some fast swap space.
If you do not want any RAM based swap, use the  nozswap  boot code.

logically; It should be a standard

Offline bmarkus

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 7183
    • My Community Forum
Re: "SWAP" on "RAM" is unacceptable, there is a logic error!
« Reply #4 on: June 05, 2019, 10:14:29 PM »
Compressed swap is a great asset of TC/piCore. When first installed, no any traditional (mass storage based) swap available, it is a must have in many cases. When bigger size swap configured on SD card RAM swap has higher priority then SD swap. All together it is a big performance boost. It must be enabled by default.

Beauty of LINUX and specially TC its flexibility. If you dont like zswap that's fine, you are free to disable.
Béla
Ham Radio callsign: HA5DI

"Amateur Radio: The First Technology-Based Social Network."

Offline hiro

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1217
Re: "SWAP" on "RAM" is unacceptable, there is a logic error!
« Reply #5 on: June 05, 2019, 11:09:43 PM »
tinycore is not at fault here if programs allocate so much memory.

Offline xor

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1259
Re: "SWAP" on "RAM" is unacceptable, there is a logic error!
« Reply #6 on: June 06, 2019, 01:16:25 AM »
compression process; does it cause processing power and time loss !?

http://tinycorelinux.net/corebook.pdf

Code: [Select]
10.33. nozswap - disable compressed
swap in RAM
By default, Core uses a RAM compression technique allowing
you to use more RAM than you actually have. If you experience
problems with this, the nozswap bootcode lets you disable this.
Example:
• nozswap
« Last Edit: June 06, 2019, 01:20:08 AM by xor »

Offline hiro

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1217
Re: "SWAP" on "RAM" is unacceptable, there is a logic error!
« Reply #7 on: June 06, 2019, 01:42:23 AM »
no