WelcomeWelcome | FAQFAQ | DownloadsDownloads | WikiWiki

Author Topic: Using mount in bootlocal.sh  (Read 6373 times)

Offline Rich

  • TinyCore Moderator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 6965
Re: Using mount in bootlocal.sh
« Reply #30 on: September 23, 2012, 06:56:58 AM »
Hi suxi
I suggested ntfsprogs.tcz because it was installed on my system for gparted.tcz and because I could not
reproduce your mount problems, fuse.tcz is an optional dependency of ntfsprogs.tcz.
Using  mount -t  lets you tell mount what kind of file system is on the device. I created and formatted an
NTFS file system on a spare partition and did not need the -t option to mount it. I did need to use  mount.ntfs-fuse
to mount it as RW, otherwise it got mounted as RO. Maybe you could post a copy of one of the scripts in its
current form.

Offline suxi

  • WikiUser
  • *
  • Posts: 25
Re: Using mount in bootlocal.sh
« Reply #31 on: October 04, 2012, 03:07:41 PM »
Hi Rich

Thanks for your explanation. Maybe I'll give ntfsprogs another try, as I am having problems unmounting the partitions in another backup script. I can only unmount -l them.

This is one of the boot scripts I am using now. Do you aprove?

Best wishes

suxi

Code: [Select]
#!/bin/sh
RAID1UUID="2C20120C2011DE20"
RAID1Dev=""

while [ -z "$RAID1Dev" ]
do
  sleep 1
  RAID1Dev=`blkid -U $RAID1UUID`
done

until cat /etc/fstab | grep $RAID1Dev
do
  sleep 1
done

sudo mkdir /mnt/godzilla1
sudo mount -t ntfs $RAID1Dev /mnt/godzilla1

Offline Rich

  • TinyCore Moderator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 6965
Re: Using mount in bootlocal.sh
« Reply #32 on: October 04, 2012, 06:45:14 PM »
Hi suxi
Quote
I am having problems unmounting the partitions in another backup script. I can only unmount -l them.
If you are getting the message:
Code: [Select]
Device or resource busyit means the device is still in use. Examples of in use include:
1. Open a terminal and  cd /mnt/godzilla1
2. Viewing a directory in  /mnt/godzilla1  with a file manager
3. Your backup script executed a  cd /mnt/godzilla1  command and did not  cd  back out (sounds likely)

The boot script looks fine.