WelcomeWelcome | FAQFAQ | DownloadsDownloads | WikiWiki

Author Topic: Wireless Issues: Broadcom BCM43xx  (Read 3400 times)

Offline idoit

  • WikiUser
  • *
  • Posts: 10
Wireless Issues: Broadcom BCM43xx
« on: August 20, 2012, 12:33:25 AM »
Hi all,
I use CorePlus 4.5.4 in my HP DV9000 series laptop and the wireless doesn't work out of box. dmesg indicates that a firmware is missing (please look at my attachment for the log).

Finally I found the correct driver for my Wireless. Following http://ubuntuforums.org/showthread.php?t=781747, I downloaded these:

Code: [Select]
http://downloads.openwrt.org/sources/wl_apsta-3.130.20.0.o
http://downloads.openwrt.org/sources/broadcom-wl-4.80.53.0.tar.bz2

and extracted the needed firmwares with b43-fwcutter (v0.12 NOT v0.15) using http://linuxwireless.org/en/users/Drivers/b43/#Other_distributions_not_mentioned_above as instruction. (The Broadcom files mentioned in this article didn't do it for me.)

Then, I copied 3 files to /usr/local/lib/firmware/b43 :
Code: [Select]
b0g0bsinitvals13.fw
b0g0initvals13.fw
ucode13.fw

Now, when I use Wifi app to connect to my WLAN, it scans and detects it... I connect to it, it shows that an IP is assigned by dhcpd (please look at first screenshot, bottom) but I don't have internet access! (second screenshot, 3rd line shows my Wireless IP but hostname is unknown whereas my Ethernet connection [that I used to post this message] correctly has the hostname box.)

Please take a look at (first screenshot, top) to know specification of my HP laptop.

Thanks.


P.S. -1.My router is SpeedStream 6520 Series and it supports 802.11g protocol, so that shouldn't be issue!
P.S. 0. I connet to internet with WiFi of this laptop in Windows and Ubuntu, no problem there.
P.S. 1. With every restart (Reboot + Backup Option), /usr/local/lib/firmware/b43 loses my 3 files and I have to copy! How can it be done so they'll stay there?!
P.S. 2. Hopefully this thread can be a place to report all issues regarding B43xx wireless cards.
P.S. 3. When I disconnect my Ethernet cable, I can't even ping or access 192.168.2.1!
P.S. 4. ifconfig shows packages are dropped?!!!
« Last Edit: August 20, 2012, 02:54:14 AM by idoit »

Offline tinypoodle

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 3857
Re: Wireless Issues: Broadcom BCM43xx
« Reply #1 on: August 20, 2012, 02:52:59 AM »
Please read through this thread
http://forum.tinycorelinux.net/index.php/topic,13826.msg77508.html
to find pointers regarding the configuration of multiple network interfaces on same host.
"Software gets slower faster than hardware gets faster." Niklaus Wirth - A Plea for Lean Software (1995)

Offline idoit

  • WikiUser
  • *
  • Posts: 10
Re: Wireless Issues: Broadcom BCM43xx
« Reply #2 on: August 20, 2012, 03:40:44 AM »
Brilliant tinypoodle! Thanks aloud! :) Work like a charm.
How can I make it persistent, because when I reboot (with backup), /usr/local/lib/firmware/b43 deletes my firmware!

Offline gerald_clark

  • TinyCore Moderator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 4254
Re: Wireless Issues: Broadcom BCM43xx
« Reply #3 on: August 20, 2012, 11:14:42 AM »
Did  you try firmware-openfwwf.tcz and wireless-tools.tcz ?
Works for my bcm4311.

Offline Rich

  • TinyCore Moderator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 6841
Re: Wireless Issues: Broadcom BCM43xx
« Reply #4 on: August 20, 2012, 05:44:36 PM »
Hi idoit
Quote
How can I make it persistent,
Did you remember to add the line:
Code: [Select]
usr/local/lib/firmware/b43to your  /opt/.filetool.lst  file?

Offline tinypoodle

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 3857
Re: Wireless Issues: Broadcom BCM43xx
« Reply #5 on: August 20, 2012, 05:53:23 PM »
Also, you could use boot code "nodhcp" to prevent udhcpc from being started for eth0.
« Last Edit: August 22, 2012, 03:23:25 AM by tinypoodle »
"Software gets slower faster than hardware gets faster." Niklaus Wirth - A Plea for Lean Software (1995)

Offline idoit

  • WikiUser
  • *
  • Posts: 10
Re: Wireless Issues: Broadcom BCM43xx
« Reply #6 on: August 22, 2012, 12:27:47 AM »
@gerald_clark and @tinypoodle: Thanks!
As the issue is resolved I think I'm good for now, and I won't load more extensions.

@Rich: I love you!!!  ;D