WelcomeWelcome | FAQFAQ | DownloadsDownloads | WikiWiki

Author Topic: (Solved) MK802 imported packages don't run  (Read 5318 times)

Offline athouston

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 143
(Solved) MK802 imported packages don't run
« on: August 07, 2013, 03:17:04 AM »
I have just built a new A10core on MK802.

When I Import a package it won't run. I have imported gparted and hexedit. When I use the "run program" icon and specify gparted nothing happens. When I try and type in hexedit I get to hex and it automatically completes hexdump and won't let me change it. Hexdump does not exist anywhere I can see.

Neither program runs from the command line and both programs are in the sce directory with the others that do run.

Any pointers please?
« Last Edit: August 08, 2013, 02:43:52 PM by athouston »

Offline roberts

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 7361
  • Founder Emeritus
Re: MK802 imported packages don't run
« Reply #1 on: August 07, 2013, 09:00:49 AM »
I just tried hexedit. import OK. loadsce OK.
From CLI typing hexedit started by clearing screen and prompted for filename.
Entering a filename it displayed in hex as expected.
10+ Years Contributing to Linux Open Source Projects.

Offline athouston

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 143
Re: MK802 imported packages don't run
« Reply #2 on: August 07, 2013, 03:51:38 PM »
They were working OK on the previous build before I broke it (them). This is a new build and I don't know where to start looking.

There is no ondemand item in the menu and I get the same results either run programs or at the CLI.

 :'( :'(

Offline roberts

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 7361
  • Founder Emeritus
Re: MK802 imported packages don't run
« Reply #3 on: August 07, 2013, 07:06:06 PM »
I don't know what you broke, but starting fresh works unless this is a remaster then even more difficult to know. Are any extensions being loaded?  Does mount show all that is expected? Is PATH correct?
10+ Years Contributing to Linux Open Source Projects.

Offline athouston

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 143
Re: MK802 imported packages don't run
« Reply #4 on: August 07, 2013, 07:52:04 PM »
This is a brand new clean install (remaster). All the wifi extensions are loading OK, wifi is working and the import process seems to show all the correct responses. It asks if I want to import and then later if I want to build the sce. The sce's are in the /tce/sce directory.

I don't see an ondemand selection in the drop down screen menu, just applications, systems tools, etc, but I can't remember if that was the same as last time.



Offline athouston

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 143
Re: MK802 imported packages don't run
« Reply #5 on: August 08, 2013, 06:41:03 AM »
More info...

I just built a(nother) completely new install. I erased the partitions on the sd card, downloaded all the files again and rebuilt the install from scratch.

The wifi is working (very fast) as is wflm_topside gui.

I imported hexedit and it seemed to show the applicable responses, asking if it want me to import it and then create the sce.

Hexedit.sce is in the sce directory.

When I select run program and try to type in hexedit I get to hex and it autocompletes to hexdump and will not let me change that. When I type hexedit at the cli it just drops back to the command prompt.

Apparently something has changed. Is there a change log we can look back through to find the culprit (file that is - not person).

Offline roberts

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 7361
  • Founder Emeritus
Re: MK802 imported packages don't run
« Reply #6 on: August 08, 2013, 07:09:14 AM »
In your post I don't see a mention of loadsce. The import command creates the sce.
After an import, a loadsce is required to actually mount and make available the application.
« Last Edit: August 08, 2013, 08:01:03 AM by roberts »
10+ Years Contributing to Linux Open Source Projects.

Offline athouston

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 143
Re: MK802 imported packages don't run
« Reply #7 on: August 08, 2013, 02:42:39 PM »
Sorry, it was a bit late when I posted that last and I was a bit tired. Yes I had run loadsce, I was just trying to be a bit brief.

Anyway, I had an epiphany at 0230 this morning (as well as extremely low blood sugar level - thanks diabetes) and it turns out the problem is a faulty sd card. I have seen this sort of problem a few times previously on hard drives: in 38 years you see a lot - sometimes it takes some effort to drag the memory out of archive - and there's nothing like the sugar hit of 6 jellybeans to give the brain a kickstart (with the emphasis on hit and kick).

I always get a bad case of insomnia when I go low so I rebuilt again on a new card this morning and all seems well.

Sorry to bother; Its 0740, the wife just left for work, the dogs have been fed, so I'm going back to bed.


Offline roberts

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 7361
  • Founder Emeritus
Re: (Solved) MK802 imported packages don't run
« Reply #8 on: August 08, 2013, 03:04:27 PM »
Good to hear. I felt kinda silly for the need to suggest loadsce.
Often, I find that I need to zero out an sdcard.
# dd if=/dev/zero of=/dev/sdX bs=50 count=1
Sometimes it helps.
10+ Years Contributing to Linux Open Source Projects.

Offline athouston

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 143
Re: (Solved) MK802 imported packages don't run
« Reply #9 on: August 08, 2013, 03:52:59 PM »
Thanks for the zero tip, I'll try that later.

BTW...I didn't get this old and this ugly by being thin skinned so I don't take offence when someone suggests the obvious - sometimes brain fade is the end result of the root cause analysis.

Cheers.