WelcomeWelcome | FAQFAQ | DownloadsDownloads | WikiWiki

Author Topic: WiFi problem  (Read 2447 times)

Offline wolf_core

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 69
WiFi problem
« on: August 11, 2012, 10:18:21 AM »
Hi, i have installed an USB WiFi key on my microserver tuning TC 4.5.6 and the kay established a wifi connection to the router but if i disconnect the ethernet cable the wifi connection is lost. The problem is that the link will not work if i didn't ping the router to start the connection.

Code: [Select]
tc@box:~$ dmesg
............
rtl8192cu: MAC address: 00:0b:81:84:37:18
rtl8192cu: Board Type 0
rtl8192cu: rx_max_size 15360, rx_urb_num 8, in_ep 1
ieee80211 phy0: Selected rate control algorithm 'rtl_rc'
usbcore: registered new interface driver rtl8192cu
8139too 0000:00:0d.0: eth0: link down
rtl8192cu: MAC auto ON okay!
rtl8192cu: Tx queue select: 0x05
rtl8192c: Loading firmware file rtlwifi/rtl8192cufw.bin
wlan0: authenticate with 00:18:3f:78:c4:29 (try 1)
wlan0: authenticated
wlan0: associate with 00:18:3f:78:c4:29 (try 1)
wlan0: RX AssocResp from 00:18:3f:78:c4:29 (capab=0x431 status=0 aid=1)
wlan0: associated



Code: [Select]
tc@box:~$ ifconfig
eth0      Link encap:Ethernet  HWaddr 00:50:f6:26:1b:da
          inet addr:192.168.1.100  Bcast:192.168.1.255  Mask:255.255.255.0
          UP BROADCAST RUNNING MULTICAST  MTU:1500  Metric:1
          RX packets:4442 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 frame:0
          TX packets:3312 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 carrier:0
          collisions:0 txqueuelen:1000
          RX bytes:275085 (268.6 KiB)  TX bytes:944443 (922.3 KiB)
          Interrupt:11 Base address:0xa000

lo        Link encap:Local Loopback
          inet addr:127.0.0.1  Mask:255.0.0.0
          UP LOOPBACK RUNNING  MTU:16436  Metric:1
          RX packets:105 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 frame:0
          TX packets:105 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 carrier:0
          collisions:0 txqueuelen:0
          RX bytes:9532 (9.3 KiB)  TX bytes:9532 (9.3 KiB)

wlan0     Link encap:Ethernet  HWaddr 00:0b:81:84:37:18
          inet addr:192.168.1.101  Bcast:192.168.1.255  Mask:255.255.255.0
          UP BROADCAST RUNNING MULTICAST  MTU:1500  Metric:1
          RX packets:7473 errors:0 dropped:1486 overruns:0 frame:0
          TX packets:120 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 carrier:0
          collisions:0 txqueuelen:1000
          RX bytes:775184 (757.0 KiB)  TX bytes:7200 (7.0 KiB)

tc@box:~$

Code: [Select]
tc@box:/opt$ cat eth0.sh
#!/bin/sh
#pkill udhcpc
ifconfig eth0 192.168.1.100 netmask 255.255.255.0 broadcast 192.168.1.255 up
route add default gw 192.168.1.254
echo nameserver 192.168.1.254 > /etc/resolv.conf
echo nameserver 8.8.8.8 >> /etc/resolv.conf
tc@box:/opt$
tc@box:/opt$
tc@box:/opt$ cat wlan0.sh
#!/bin/sh
#pkill udhcpc
wpa_supplicant -Dwext -iwlan0 -c/etc/wpa_gui.conf -B
sleep=15
ifconfig wlan0 192.168.1.101 netmask 255.255.255.0 broadcast 192.168.1.255 up
route add default gw 192.168.1.254
echo nameserver 192.168.1.254 > /etc/resolv.conf
echo nameserver 8.8.8.8 >> /etc/resolv.conf
tc@box:/opt$


Code: [Select]
tc@box:/opt$ cat bootlocal.sh
#!/bin/sh
# put other system startup commands here
/opt/eth0.sh &
/opt/wlan0.sh &
/etc/init.d/dropbear start
tc@box:/opt$


Code: [Select]
tc@box:/etc$ cat wpa_gui.conf
ctrl_interface=/var/run/wpa_supplicant
ctrl_interface_group=staff
update_config=1

network={
        ssid="2WIRE589"
        key_mgmt=NONE
        auth_alg=OPEN
        wep_key0=xxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxx
        wep_tx_keyidx=0
        priority=5
}
tc@box:/etc$

Thanks in advance Luca

Offline tinypoodle

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 3857
Re: WiFi problem
« Reply #1 on: August 11, 2012, 11:02:46 AM »
I'd suspect that adding 2 concurrent default gateway routes might lead to unpredictable results.
"Software gets slower faster than hardware gets faster." Niklaus Wirth - A Plea for Lean Software (1995)

Offline tinypoodle

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 3857
Re: WiFi problem
« Reply #2 on: August 11, 2012, 11:58:33 AM »
After a bit of googling found this:

http://www.ni.com/white-paper/12558/en

HTH
"Software gets slower faster than hardware gets faster." Niklaus Wirth - A Plea for Lean Software (1995)

Offline wolf_core

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 69
Re: WiFi problem
« Reply #3 on: August 11, 2012, 12:08:08 PM »
Hi tinypoodle, i have modified eth0.sh and now it  seems working.

Code: [Select]
tc@box:/opt$ cat eth0.sh
#!/bin/sh
#pkill udhcpc
ifconfig eth0 192.168.1.100 netmask 255.255.255.0 broadcast 192.168.1.255 up
#route add default gw 192.168.1.254
#echo nameserver 192.168.1.254 > /etc/resolv.conf
#echo nameserver 8.8.8.8 >> /etc/resolv.conf
ifconfig eth0 down
tc@box:/opt$

Thanks again Luca

Offline wolf_core

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 69
Re: WiFi problem
« Reply #4 on: August 16, 2012, 11:08:14 AM »
Hi, the strange thing is that i can connect to the ip 192.168.1.100 and 192.168.1.101 though i have deactivated eth0 (192.168.1.100)

Code: [Select]
tc@box:~$ ifconfig
lo        Link encap:Local Loopback
          inet addr:127.0.0.1  Mask:255.0.0.0
          UP LOOPBACK RUNNING  MTU:16436  Metric:1
          RX packets:24 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 frame:0
          TX packets:24 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 carrier:0
          collisions:0 txqueuelen:0
          RX bytes:1200 (1.1 KiB)  TX bytes:1200 (1.1 KiB)

wlan0     Link encap:Ethernet  HWaddr 00:0b:81:84:37:18
          inet addr:192.168.1.101  Bcast:192.168.1.255  Mask:255.255.255.0
          UP BROADCAST RUNNING MULTICAST  MTU:1500  Metric:1
          RX packets:30867 errors:0 dropped:6816 overruns:0 frame:0
          TX packets:3741 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 carrier:0
          collisions:0 txqueuelen:1000
          RX bytes:3528319 (3.3 MiB)  TX bytes:682099 (666.1 KiB)

tc@box:~$

Code: [Select]
tc@box:/opt$ cat eth0.sh
#!/bin/sh
#pkill udhcpc
ifconfig eth0 192.168.1.100 netmask 255.255.255.0 broadcast 192.168.1.255 up
#route add default gw 192.168.1.254
#echo nameserver 192.168.1.254 > /etc/resolv.conf
#echo nameserver 8.8.8.8 >> /etc/resolv.conf
ifconfig eth0 down
tc@box:/opt$

Code: [Select]
tc@box:~$ ping 192.168.1.101
PING 192.168.1.101 (192.168.1.101): 56 data bytes
64 bytes from 192.168.1.101: seq=0 ttl=64 time=2.266 ms
64 bytes from 192.168.1.101: seq=1 ttl=64 time=0.351 ms
64 bytes from 192.168.1.101: seq=2 ttl=64 time=0.473 ms
^C
--- 192.168.1.101 ping statistics ---
3 packets transmitted, 3 packets received, 0% packet loss
round-trip min/avg/max = 0.351/1.030/2.266 ms

Code: [Select]
tc@box:~$ ping 192.168.1.100
PING 192.168.1.100 (192.168.1.100): 56 data bytes
64 bytes from 192.168.1.100: seq=0 ttl=64 time=0.582 ms
64 bytes from 192.168.1.100: seq=1 ttl=64 time=0.352 ms
64 bytes from 192.168.1.100: seq=2 ttl=64 time=0.351 ms
64 bytes from 192.168.1.100: seq=3 ttl=64 time=0.350 ms
^C
--- 192.168.1.100 ping statistics ---
4 packets transmitted, 4 packets received, 0% packet loss
round-trip min/avg/max = 0.350/0.408/0.582 ms

Thanks Luca

Offline Rich

  • TinyCore Moderator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 6965
Re: WiFi problem
« Reply #5 on: August 16, 2012, 08:12:00 PM »
Hi wolf_core
That does sound strange. I executed an  ifconfig down  command on one of my machines, and it too responded
to a local ping command. It could not, however, ping a second machine, nor did it respond to a ping from a
second machine.

Offline tinypoodle

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 3857
Re: WiFi problem
« Reply #6 on: August 17, 2012, 12:26:11 AM »
1. What is strange is your configuration, so you shouldn't be too surprised about any results.
From the paper I linked to in an earlier post:

Quote
Rule 2: Avoid Assigning Multiple NICs in the Same Computer to the Same Subnet

Using multiple NICs on the same subnet is the #1 cause of connectivity issues on multi-NIC systems.

2. You are not pinging an interface, but an IP - and when sending packets to one of your hosts own IP addresses, they may be routed to the loopback interface in either case (which may explain Rich's observation).
"Software gets slower faster than hardware gets faster." Niklaus Wirth - A Plea for Lean Software (1995)

Offline tinypoodle

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 3857
Re: WiFi problem
« Reply #7 on: August 17, 2012, 12:51:40 AM »
Hi wolf_core
That does sound strange. I executed an  ifconfig down  command on one of my machines, and it too responded
to a local ping command. It could not, however, ping a second machine, nor did it respond to a ping from a
second machine.

I think for ping responses of local host it is only of relevance if the loopback interface is up or down, the up/down status of the NIC interface is irrelevant. ;)
"Software gets slower faster than hardware gets faster." Niklaus Wirth - A Plea for Lean Software (1995)

Offline Rich

  • TinyCore Moderator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 6965
Re: WiFi problem
« Reply #8 on: August 17, 2012, 05:44:19 AM »
I don't have any wireless equipment so I don't know if this is normal, but reply #4 shows over 20% of the RX
packets as being dropped.

Offline wolf_core

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 69
Re: WiFi problem
« Reply #9 on: August 17, 2012, 03:36:59 PM »
Thanks Rich and tinypoodle, i will try to change the ip address of eth0 interface  from 192.168.1.100 to 10.10.10.100 before changing it's state to down and than i try to ping the interface and looking if the interface will answer.

Offline tinypoodle

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 3857
Re: WiFi problem
« Reply #10 on: August 18, 2012, 03:20:16 AM »
That should exclude conflicts, but what I still cannot understand is why you would even configure and bring up eth0 in the first place.

Please read Reply #6 again - as you still talk about pinging an interface...
"Software gets slower faster than hardware gets faster." Niklaus Wirth - A Plea for Lean Software (1995)