WelcomeWelcome | FAQFAQ | DownloadsDownloads | WikiWiki

Author Topic: changing boot options  (Read 14596 times)

Offline littleknowledge

changing boot options
« on: July 31, 2012, 03:37:05 PM »
Good day, please allow me to begin by saying I am new to tiny core (not new to linux) and I have to say this flavour is AWESOME! (a heck of a learning curve from ubuntu) 
I am in a little jam, I have searched for an answer high and low and i am sure the answer is simple. I installed TC onto a hard disk the installer allowed me to specify boot options and now (after the install) would like to change the boot options the system begins with, but i cannot find the files to edit, normally i would just edit grub conf, then update-grub and done. but it doesnt seem to be like that with TC,

Any direction would be greatly appreciated.

Offline Rich

• Administrator
Re: changing boot options
« Reply #1 on: July 31, 2012, 04:16:50 PM »
Hi littleknowledge
Check for a   boot   directory, probably under /mnt/sda1.

Offline TinyCoreFltk

« Reply #2 on: July 31, 2012, 07:08:26 PM »
if you have used the tc-install there is a different bootloader configuration. you should see a file //mnt/sda1/tce/boot/extlinux/extlinux.conf. open this as root (with a text editor). you should see something similar to the file shown below (menu.lst of the classic grub bootloader).the difference is that in the extilinux bootloader (the one than tc-install uses) the bootcodes (or boot options if you prefer) are not beside kernel lines (as shown below), but in a new line starting with "APPEND". you just do the same as in grub, delete the bootcodes you don't want, or leave a space at the end of the line and add the bootcode you want. save it and done.

timeout   2

title      TinyCore Linuks 4.1
uuid      0f38de3b-0068-43b9-b898-619115df2157
kernel      /boot/vmlinuz norestore nozswap noicons xsetup root=sda1 tce=sda1 opt=sda1 home=sda1
initrd      /boot/tinycore.cpio