WelcomeWelcome | FAQFAQ | DownloadsDownloads | WikiWiki

Author Topic: How to boot CorePlus-4.5.5.iso frugally?  (Read 11458 times)

Offline Benny7440

  • WikiUser
  • *
  • Posts: 20
Re: How to boot CorePlus-4.5.5.iso frugally?
« Reply #15 on: July 29, 2012, 09:29:38 PM »
After reading your posts I looked at the tc folder & found that now there's a tce folder besides it as well as inside tc (empty), the former has 2 folders: ondemand & optional both empty & the empty file onboot.lst. Hope that to fix this is something as simple as to know what to put inside this last file...

I don't get it gerald_clark, is this post of you another boot code to be inserted inside menu.lst or a bash command to run once I'm there?

Thank you a lot Rich, Juanito & gerald_clark for your support!

Offline Rich

  • TinyCore Moderator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 5897
Re: How to boot CorePlus-4.5.5.iso frugally?
« Reply #16 on: July 29, 2012, 09:34:00 PM »
Hi Benny7440
Enter that command at the console.

Offline Benny7440

  • WikiUser
  • *
  • Posts: 20
Re: How to boot CorePlus-4.5.5.iso frugally?
« Reply #17 on: July 29, 2012, 11:02:49 PM »
Sorry but that command didn't work, gave me "X is a wrong tag" or something like that. Now that I'm writing this I recall that I didn't tried it with x (lower case).

Here in PR is late in the morning & I'm quitting for today... Thanks!

Offline Rich

  • TinyCore Moderator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 5897
Re: How to boot CorePlus-4.5.5.iso frugally?
« Reply #18 on: July 30, 2012, 06:13:26 AM »
Hi Benny7440
Linux is case sensitive, the uppercase X is correct.
Quote
gave me "X is a wrong tag" or something like that.
If you get an error, you need to be precise about what it says.

Offline Benny7440

  • WikiUser
  • *
  • Posts: 20
Re: How to boot CorePlus-4.5.5.iso frugally?
« Reply #19 on: August 02, 2012, 02:44:32 PM »
I tried that command again & this time I received the following:

"bash: tce-load: command not found"

Who knows, I might have got one or two letters wrong the first time (I was too sleepy).

I don't know if I'm running that command as su or not. How can I be super user here? What are the user id & pwd?

Offline gerald_clark

  • TinyCore Moderator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 4254
Re: How to boot CorePlus-4.5.5.iso frugally?
« Reply #20 on: August 02, 2012, 03:10:25 PM »
You must run tce-load as user tc.

Offline tinypoodle

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 3857
Re: How to boot CorePlus-4.5.5.iso frugally?
« Reply #21 on: August 02, 2012, 04:53:10 PM »
Why bash?
"Software gets slower faster than hardware gets faster." Niklaus Wirth - A Plea for Lean Software (1995)

Offline Benny7440

  • WikiUser
  • *
  • Posts: 20
Re: How to boot CorePlus-4.5.5.iso frugally?
« Reply #22 on: August 02, 2012, 05:20:12 PM »
To tinypoodle: If your question "Why bash?" refers to what I've posted the answer is that bash was included there because the system included that with the message after the said command.

To gerald_clark: if I identify myself as user=tc, what it would be the pwd?

Thanks!

Offline Rich

  • TinyCore Moderator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 5897
Re: How to boot CorePlus-4.5.5.iso frugally?
« Reply #23 on: August 02, 2012, 05:33:01 PM »
Hi Benny7440
Do you have a command prompt? What does  whoami  return?

Offline Benny7440

  • WikiUser
  • *
  • Posts: 20
Re: How to boot CorePlus-4.5.5.iso frugally?
« Reply #24 on: August 02, 2012, 05:53:58 PM »
Thank you Rich for replying!

I'm root. The command prompt is: #.

Edit: I already installed FF 14.0.1. I'm going to test it right now.
« Last Edit: August 02, 2012, 05:56:24 PM by Benny7440 »

Offline Rich

  • TinyCore Moderator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 5897
Re: How to boot CorePlus-4.5.5.iso frugally?
« Reply #25 on: August 02, 2012, 06:01:12 PM »
Hi Benny7440
Try   login tc
If it asks for a password, just hit enter. Then try the command gerald_clark gave you again.

Offline Rich

  • TinyCore Moderator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 5897
Re: How to boot CorePlus-4.5.5.iso frugally?
« Reply #26 on: August 02, 2012, 06:19:31 PM »
Hi Benny7440
Quote
Edit: I already installed FF 14.0.1. I'm going to test it right now.
Until you have X running, I wouldn't expect Firefox to run.

Offline tinypoodle

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 3857
Re: How to boot CorePlus-4.5.5.iso frugally?
« Reply #27 on: August 03, 2012, 12:41:09 AM »
What does "ls -l `which sh`" return?
"Software gets slower faster than hardware gets faster." Niklaus Wirth - A Plea for Lean Software (1995)

Offline Benny7440

  • WikiUser
  • *
  • Posts: 20
Re: How to boot CorePlus-4.5.5.iso frugally?
« Reply #28 on: August 04, 2012, 08:01:00 PM »
I'll ask from all that have helped me in this issue your excuses because, for an urgent issue with a friends computer, had to take out Tiny Core from the CFCard & use it in another way.

The OS still attracts me. Have learned that it should be possible for me to boot it right from the internet at: http://www.netboot.me/help#chainload. Does any of you have tried this before?

I'm thinking that, if I'm booting up frugally some pups at the VAIO, can't I give some instructions to grub for fetching that iso file from the internet and boot it up? Or booting it up frugally right away?

Which way to go (your recommendations)?

PS. Do you recommend me to open another thread instead of pursuing this here?

Thanks!

Offline gerald_clark

  • TinyCore Moderator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 4254
Re: How to boot CorePlus-4.5.5.iso frugally?
« Reply #29 on: August 04, 2012, 08:08:07 PM »
No, you cannot boot over the internet.
The closest would be a pxe boot over your LAN.
The wiki has some information on network booting.