WelcomeWelcome | FAQFAQ | DownloadsDownloads | WikiWiki

Author Topic: Too new to know better  (Read 6782 times)

Offline Derfdog

Too new to know better
« on: March 17, 2013, 09:29:27 AM »
Hello
Got problems, and I will be the first to admit the primary one is sitting right behind this keyboard.
Yes I am somewhat new to Linux, I have loaded the bloated distros on a much more powerful pc and soon became bored with them. 
I was given an old Dell C400 latop with a PIII-866/667 MHz mobile, 512 ram, 20 gig HD, Intel 830M graphics and Crystal 4205 audio controller.  It has network capabillities, no floppy drive, no CDrom, and no OS.  The previous owner had wiped it clean...

I was able to install TC by pulling the hard drive, finding a similar but newer Dell laptop with a CDrom drive and placing the hard drive in it and installing.  I then plopped the HD back in the C400 and it booted right up.
I've tried a half dozen or so distros and TC is the only one that I was able to get to run, for that I want to say thanks, (I think).

OK, I have browsed your documentation, and have glanced at the forums, and I see a lot but my problem is that I do not know what to look for.  I understand that this distro is not for a noob like me but...

I got my network up and running - both wired and wireless.
I downloaded a web browser (opera), but it does not appear in my apps
But opera requires a higher resolution than what my screen shows, if I click on Xvesa is shows 640x480x16.

So I guess that my first step needs to be setting up an X environment, any recommendations?

Offline Derfdog

Re: Too new to know better
« Reply #2 on: March 17, 2013, 03:56:17 PM »
Thane

I installed Xorg-7.6.tcz (OnBoot) and it said that installed OK but when I look for the logs I see nothing for Xorg, nor is there an xorg.conf file. 
If I do a "ps -ef" I see a reference for Xvesa -br -screen 1024x768x32 -shadow -2button -mouse /dev/input/mice,5 -nolisten tcp -I

what should I look for and where?