WelcomeWelcome | FAQFAQ | DownloadsDownloads | WikiWiki

Author Topic: Learning about multi subnet networks  (Read 5148 times)

Offline remus

Learning about multi subnet networks
« on: April 29, 2012, 04:46:23 PM »
Hi all,

I need to learn how to allow network communication between two isolated networks.

Network 1
IP : 192.168.11.xxx

Network 2
Ip : 192.168.251.xxx

Each network has its own router, and I think network 2's router is a firewall/router appliance of some kind.

I am in the process of geting exact brand/model numbers for the network hardware.

they are about 150m apart as the crow flys, and they have already tried a direct cat5 network link, but get huge signal loss on that cable.

I'm thinking of using something like this http://bilcowifi.com/ as it seems to be fairly tough.

So I have to find a way to allow network communication between these two networks. I've never done this sort of thing before, and am starting by googling "bridge multi subnet linux"
Any suggestions welcome :)
Live long and prosper.

Offline Rich

• Administrator
Re: Learning about multi subnet networks
« Reply #1 on: April 29, 2012, 06:31:58 PM »
Hi remus
they are about 150m apart as the crow flys, and they have already tried a direct cat5 network link, but get huge signal loss on that cable.
100 meters is the accepted maximum distance of a cat5 cable running at 100Mbits/sec. Install a repeater if you
need to go further. You can use 2 ports of a low cost 4 port network switch for this.

Offline remus

« Reply #2 on: April 29, 2012, 09:26:17 PM »
That's exactly what they have done.

They put some 4 port switch's along the line, and I'm told that it worked for about two weeks. When I inspected the line, it was all badly corroded with water. It rains there for about an hour every day ! and in wet season it never stops. I think that a hard wire solution would require some heavy duty insulation + very weather resistant gear.
Live long and prosper.

Offline Rich

• Administrator