WelcomeWelcome | FAQFAQ | DownloadsDownloads | WikiWiki

Author Topic: Wifi acer aspire one  (Read 6660 times)

Offline droid

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 14
Wifi acer aspire one
« on: April 29, 2009, 06:11:23 AM »
Hi, could anyone explain to me how to get wifi to work?
Thanks


Offline Onyarian

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 337
Re: Wifi acer aspire one
« Reply #1 on: April 29, 2009, 12:16:12 PM »
Yes.
It was explained before.

load extensions:
Quote
madwifi-hal.tcem
wireless_tools.tcel

with this you can see with lsmod that the modules are loaded:
ath_hal, wlan, ath_pci

now go to control panel and select Netcardconfig:
substitute eth0 with ath0 and if you have static ip put the dates and saves

then in a terminal:
Quote
sudo ifconfig ath0 up
sudo iwconfig ath0 essid " :o your essid :o"
sudo iwconfig ath0 key  :-X yourkey :-X

with this you should have the connection ready

if you want to automate all at boot:

put the extensions in a tce directory to load at boot
add to /opt/bootlocal.sh: /opt/ath0.sh &  (this is the result of the Netcardconfig from control panel)
add to .xsession in tc home: connection.sh &
create in tc home a file called connection.sh (and change permissions to execute it) with:
Quote
sudo ifconfig ath0 up
sudo iwconfig ath0 essid " :o your essid :o"
sudo iwconfig ath0 key  :-X yourkey :-X

and the next time you boot you have the connection running

(the light of wifi connection is down but the connection-key works)

Hope works for you, in my AAO works OK

Offline droid

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 14
Re: Wifi acer aspire one
« Reply #2 on: April 29, 2009, 12:34:39 PM »
Thank you, where can I find the madwifi-hal extension? cant find it in appbrowser.

Offline tobiaus

  • Suspended
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 599
Re: Wifi acer aspire one
« Reply #3 on: April 29, 2009, 01:31:55 PM »
Thank you, where can I find the madwifi-hal extension? cant find it in appbrowser.

there does not seem to be madwifi-hal for 2.x yet. i can only find it for 1.x, which i assume means the 1.x version is not compatible. (or it may not be needed in 2.x?)

Offline curaga

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 10960
Re: Wifi acer aspire one
« Reply #4 on: April 29, 2009, 01:44:02 PM »
It would need a recompile to work with the new kernel. On the other hand ath5k and ath9k are in the wireless extension for tc 2.x, so one of them might be able to run your wifi card. Worth a try I think.
The only barriers that can stop you are the ones you create yourself.

Offline droid

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 14
Re: Wifi acer aspire one
« Reply #5 on: April 30, 2009, 12:00:20 AM »
ok, how do I go about using the ath5k driver?

Offline alu

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 429
Re: Wifi acer aspire one
« Reply #6 on: April 30, 2009, 04:15:46 AM »
appbrowser --> look for wireless --> download both of the related extensions (wireless_2.6.29.1 and wireless_tools)

Offline alanbcohen

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 19
Re: Wifi acer aspire one
« Reply #7 on: April 30, 2009, 07:40:51 AM »
It would need a recompile to work with the new kernel.
I guess I'm just going to wait for 2.0rc(x).

Offline droid

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 14
Re: Wifi acer aspire one
« Reply #8 on: April 30, 2009, 01:36:15 PM »
right, got the two wireless extensions and tried

iwconfig
ifconfig wlan0 up
iwconfig wlan0 essid <ESSID>
iwconfig wlan0 key <KEY>
udhcpc wlan0

if I use, "iwlist wlan0 scan" i can see my router.

I dont seem to be getting an error, but still cant get online.

Offline philip

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 125
Re: Wifi acer aspire one
« Reply #9 on: April 30, 2009, 10:59:20 PM »
Is your router using some kind of encryption? (If not, it should be.) If it is, you may need to acquire and configure the package wpa-supplicant.tce. This is what got my Acer Aspire One working with the home wireless network. If you need help setting up the file /etc/wpa_supplicant.conf, search the forums for examples to get you started.

Offline droid

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 14
Re: Wifi acer aspire one
« Reply #10 on: May 02, 2009, 02:56:54 AM »
yes, router does use encryption. looked up wpa_supplicant and trying to create /etc/wpa_supplicant.conf with

network={
ssid="home"
scan_ssid=1

key_mgmt=WPA-PSK

psk="key"

}

but I cant seem to create the file with vi, I can open the editor but cant save anything, tried using sudo. google suggested ZZ, WQ and <esc> followed by <ENTER> <X>, none of which work...help?!?

Offline tobiaus

  • Suspended
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 599
Re: Wifi acer aspire one
« Reply #11 on: May 02, 2009, 03:14:20 AM »
sudo su

echo "network={" > /etc/wpa_supplicant.conf
echo "ssid=\"home\"" >> /etc/wpa_supplicant.conf
echo "scan_ssid=1" >> /etc/wpa_supplicant.conf
echo "" >> /etc/wpa_supplicant.conf
echo "key_mgmt=WPA-PSK" >> /etc/wpa_supplicant.conf
echo "" >> /etc/wpa_supplicant.conf
echo "psk=\"key\"" >> /etc/wpa_supplicant.conf
echo "" >> /etc/wpa_supplicant.conf
echo "}" >> /etc/wpa_supplicant.conf

edit:

you could also just sudo su, then cat > /etc/wpa_supplicant.conf, then type your lines in and ctrl+c.
« Last Edit: May 02, 2009, 03:21:02 AM by tobiaus »

Offline ^thehatsrule^

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1726
Re: Wifi acer aspire one
« Reply #12 on: May 02, 2009, 02:48:47 PM »
but I cant seem to create the file with vi, I can open the editor but cant save anything, tried using sudo. google suggested ZZ, WQ and <esc> followed by <ENTER> <X>, none of which work...help?!?
You can see an example in TC's installation guide on our website.  Some of the commands are as follows:
Code: [Select]
<esc>ZZor
Code: [Select]
<esc>:wqor
Code: [Select]
<esc>:xNote that they are case sensitive.

[...]then cat > /etc/wpa_supplicant.conf, then type your lines in and ctrl+c.
Afaik using eof is the standard (ctrl+d)

Offline tobiaus

  • Suspended
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 599
Re: Wifi acer aspire one
« Reply #13 on: May 02, 2009, 08:19:53 PM »
Afaik using eof is the standard (ctrl+d)

ah, i once thought it was ctrl-z, but you know what that does. ctrl-c works so i use that. i didn't know about ctrl-d, thanks.

Offline ^thehatsrule^

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1726
Re: Wifi acer aspire one
« Reply #14 on: May 03, 2009, 01:54:56 AM »
Probably thinking with win/dos