WelcomeWelcome | FAQFAQ | DownloadsDownloads | WikiWiki

Author Topic: 2 alpha 3 & 4 won`t boot.  (Read 4502 times)

Offline alanl

  • WikiUser
  • *
  • Posts: 48
2 alpha 3 & 4 won`t boot.
« on: April 25, 2009, 08:51:11 PM »
With both these releases I get this message:
----IO APIC resources could be not be allocated---
This is a Gigabyte mb(GA-5) with SIS.
The 1.3 version works great!

Offline ^thehatsrule^

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1726
Re: 2 alpha 3 & 4 won`t boot.
« Reply #1 on: April 25, 2009, 11:29:05 PM »
Maybe try some apic related boot kernel options, such as "noapic"

Offline alanl

  • WikiUser
  • *
  • Posts: 48
Re: 2 alpha 3 & 4 won`t boot.
« Reply #2 on: April 27, 2009, 02:15:24 PM »
I used ....tinycore noapic & noIO APIC....but got the same result.  I downloaded rc1 and it
works fine on my main computer but I get the same error message on the gigabyte.
Right now i`m using the gigabyte to post this with the 1.3 version.  It works great so
something must have changed on the 2 version.

Offline curaga

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 10314
Re: 2 alpha 3 & 4 won`t boot.
« Reply #3 on: April 28, 2009, 08:57:26 AM »
Quote
1.) Make sure that APIC is enabled in the BIOS, if you can find it there.
2.) Just add 'lapic' to the end of your Grub boot line, not 'lapic=yes' (might not make a difference). If your PC can do APIC, this will force it on.
From
http://bbs.archlinux.org/viewtopic.php?id=63641
The only barriers that can stop you are the ones you create yourself.

Offline gerald_clark

  • TinyCore Moderator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 4254
Re: 2 alpha 3 & 4 won`t boot.
« Reply #4 on: June 10, 2009, 04:33:27 PM »
I have the same problem with 2.0

CPU: vendor_id 'SiS SiS SiS' unknown, using generic init.
CPU: Your system may be unstable.
IO APIC resources could be not be allocated.
kernel panic - not syncing: Attempted to kill init!

1.4.3 works.
My computer is an eBox-2300 with a Vortex86 (SoC: System-on-Chip)

noapic boot option does not solve the problem.

Offline Akkiesoft

  • WikiUser
  • *
  • Posts: 1
Re: 2 alpha 3 & 4 won`t boot.
« Reply #5 on: March 06, 2010, 08:54:39 AM »
I also have an eBox-2300. And I had same problem.

In tinycore 2.9.
This message is still displayed.

>CPU: vendor_id 'SiS SiS SiS' unknown, using generic init.
>CPU: Your system may be unstable.
>IO APIC resources could be not be allocated.

But, boot seems to succeed ;)

Offline gerald_clark

  • TinyCore Moderator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 4254
Re: 2 alpha 3 & 4 won`t boot.
« Reply #6 on: March 06, 2010, 09:20:41 AM »
Those are informational messages from the kernel, and are not a problem.
There never was a problem booting.
The problem was with the libraries used by the init scripts.
The libraries were fixed in 2.9.