WelcomeWelcome | FAQFAQ | DownloadsDownloads | WikiWiki

Author Topic: Guake terminal  (Read 3886 times)

Offline meo

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 563
Guake terminal
« on: January 17, 2012, 11:34:10 AM »
Hi there!

I would very much have the guake terminal as an extension. Why! I want to have an ubiquitous terminal running pretty much in every session using TC. Then, when a need arises, I can just invoke it as I see fit.

Have fun and thank you very much for all the extraordinary extensions we already have,
meo
"All that is very well," answered Candide, "but let us cultivate our garden." - Francois-Marie Arouet Voltaire

Offline vinnie

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1104
  • HandMace informatic works
Re: Guake terminal
« Reply #1 on: January 18, 2012, 03:22:46 AM »
Try stjerm, is in repository and I think it's great!

Offline meo

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 563
Re: Guake terminal
« Reply #2 on: January 18, 2012, 05:47:37 AM »
Hi vinnie!

I've tried stjerm but I can't make it work and I don't know what I'm doing wrong. I you can give me some hints (beyond the info file for stjerm) I would really appreciate it!!!

Have fun with TC and it's extendability,
meo
"All that is very well," answered Candide, "but let us cultivate our garden." - Francois-Marie Arouet Voltaire

Offline vinnie

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1104
  • HandMace informatic works
Re: Guake terminal
« Reply #3 on: January 19, 2012, 02:48:50 AM »
I test on my fluxbox installation workspace and:
1 install stjerm
2 install bash
3 edit ~/.Xdefaults and add this string
Code: [Select]
stjerm.key: backslash
stjerm.mod: alt
stjerm.shell: /bin/bash
stjerm.autohide: false
stjerm.font: 16
stjerm.foreground: gray
stjerm.width: 100%
stjerm.height: 60%
stjerm.scrollbar: right
stjerm.allowreorder
4 start stjerm
5 press alt + backslash and stjerm appear
6 set stjerm to autostart (i do this in .xsession but i think you have more alternative)

Offline meo

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 563
Re: Guake terminal
« Reply #4 on: January 19, 2012, 11:35:37 AM »
Hi vinnie!

Thanks for your reply! I've done all that and even more and still I haven't even seen stjerm. I don't know what to do. When I start stjerm from a terminal I get an error message that tells me that I've started stjerm without shortcut options or something lilke that. If you have an idea what to do I'd really appreciate it.

Have fun with TC,
meo
"All that is very well," answered Candide, "but let us cultivate our garden." - Francois-Marie Arouet Voltaire

Offline vinnie

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1104
  • HandMace informatic works
Re: Guake terminal
« Reply #5 on: January 20, 2012, 12:51:14 AM »
this happens because it does not see the configurations Xdefaults, try starting the program with this command and press F12:
tc@box:~$ stjerm -k f12 -sh /usr/local/bin/bash
(looks at stjerm --help for all configurations)

you can try to temporarily put my Xdefaults in your home to see what happens, I attach it to this message.

Alternatively you can use a command run that includes all parameters that you need.
« Last Edit: January 20, 2012, 12:55:50 AM by vinnie »

Offline meo

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 563
Re: Guake terminal
« Reply #6 on: January 22, 2012, 09:36:17 AM »
Thanks vinnie!

I've tried just about everything but I can't even make stjerm visible. I don't know what I'm doing wrong. I've even changed the keyboard layout to US in my desperation to make it work. But nothing. Thanks anyway vinnie!!!

Have fun using TC even if it makes you scratch your head sometimes,
meo
"All that is very well," answered Candide, "but let us cultivate our garden." - Francois-Marie Arouet Voltaire

Offline vinnie

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1104
  • HandMace informatic works
Re: Guake terminal
« Reply #7 on: January 25, 2012, 07:18:35 AM »
I test stjerm in vbox with coreplus 4.2:
Load stjerm and bash



Run and press f12 and Load Xorg7.6 in stjerm:



After kill x and re- startx try with xorg:



I really do not know what problem you may have, I'm sorry  :(

Offline mocore

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 238
Re: Guake terminal
« Reply #8 on: April 04, 2012, 02:13:24 AM »

 i have had some success previously building guake
 and as iv now got my system booting many flavourers of tc
 ill try and digg out the info and see if i can post the steps to working setup ,.. if any ones still interested  :P 

 i also had no luck with getting stjerm to work
  so thanx for the info ill give that a blast as well

Offline solorin

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 184
Re: Guake terminal
« Reply #9 on: April 30, 2012, 04:38:12 AM »
would yeahconsole be an acceptable guake alternative?

phrat.de/yeahtools.html

these days i'm mostly in the terminal, so i don't really see the point of these <shrug>.

cheerio,
solorin
. . . if you don't know, now you know. . .
        ----- R.I.P. Biggie Smalls -----

Offline vinnie

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1104
  • HandMace informatic works
Re: Guake terminal
« Reply #10 on: April 30, 2012, 01:55:46 PM »
I had tried to compile it before stjerm, was installed but I could not make the prompt appear (even if just aterm / xterm is the default terminal).
if you can make it work also explains how you did  :P

Offline solorin

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 184
Re: Guake terminal
« Reply #11 on: May 01, 2012, 06:32:11 AM »
tested with urxvt-daemon. works well.
 
according to this thread:
www.damnsmalllinux.org/f/topic-3-28-18921-0.html
aterm is apparently not embeddable so can't be used with yeahconsole.

relevant else clause @line 381-384 in yeahconsole.c

xterm version in repo seems to be too old for yeahconsole.

don't forget edit the Makefile with the proper flags. ;) 

cheerio,
solorin
« Last Edit: May 01, 2012, 06:34:50 AM by solorin »
. . . if you don't know, now you know. . .
        ----- R.I.P. Biggie Smalls -----

Offline vinnie

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1104
  • HandMace informatic works
Re: Guake terminal
« Reply #12 on: May 01, 2012, 09:36:06 AM »
Pardon, but that there would be convenient to install yeahconsole then if we still need to download other dependencies?
If yeahconsole worked only whit Xprogs it would be useful, otherwise we are on the same boat of stjerm  ???

Offline solorin

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 184
Re: Guake terminal
« Reply #13 on: May 01, 2012, 10:04:12 AM »
stjerm dep = gtk2 + vte + bash
yeahconsole dep = urxvt-daemon + fontconfig + Xorg-7.x-lib

sizeOf(stjerm dep) - sizeOf(yeahconsole dep) ~=
sizeOf(barge) - sizeOf(canoe)

either is about as useful.
but whatever floats your boat, man.
 
cheerio,
solorin

p.s aterm is in Xlibs last i checked.
« Last Edit: May 01, 2012, 10:26:08 AM by solorin »
. . . if you don't know, now you know. . .
        ----- R.I.P. Biggie Smalls -----

Offline vinnie

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1104
  • HandMace informatic works
Re: Guake terminal
« Reply #14 on: May 01, 2012, 10:22:25 AM »
Are different types of dependencies, from my point of view (personal) gtk is already installed on my system, I use vte with geany and bash is often useful, Instead urxvt is not essential in my case.

surely in a general way yeahconsole is lighter, but for me loses its attractiveness