WelcomeWelcome | FAQFAQ | DownloadsDownloads | WikiWiki

Author Topic: this is a nomadic distro  (Read 2084 times)

Offline jls

this is a nomadic distro
« on: April 26, 2009, 02:58:50 AM »
One of the main reasons I use this os is because it's nomad, I can put it on a pendrive and go on any pc instead of going around with a laptop (which actually I don't have, no I have but it has the scren broken).
Usually I use tc on my 3 computers at my parent's home, plus one in a public library (sory 4 saying personal things).
The problem is that for example 2 of this machines have got a nic (network interface card) wich is not automatically probed by tc.
What I want to suggest is that I think it's not only me that uses tc in this way, so I would like the tc team to implements something that solves this.
I could meke a script, but I'm not good at all in bash scripting, that checks the processor type, cause this 4 computers have different cpus, and
if cpu=amd650 or p3 then modprobe ne.
Anyway I've solved adding the modprobe ne line in bootlocal.sh, which is not a problem casuse if there is no ne card, nothing bad happens.
Same thing for alsa and oss.
My pentium 3 doesn't work well with oss so I have to use alsa.
In bootlocal.sh I activate both oss and alsa, so if the alsa extension is loaded those lines in bootlocal bring up the sound, same thing with oss.
Another example: with the ne module I also need to execute this in bootlocal:
sysctl -p /etc/sysctl.conf
where /etc/sysctl.conf contains this line:
net.ipv4.tcp_window_scaling = 0
otherwise internet does not work properly, for example pages in the browser don't fully loads.
But I've read that it's not advised to use this
net.ipv4.tcp_window_scaling = 0
so I'll try to study scripting in order to use this sysctl only if there is a ne nic.

thanxs and sorry for my bad english
« Last Edit: April 26, 2009, 03:01:12 AM by jls_legalize »
dCore user

Offline curaga

• Administrator
Re: this is a nomadic distro