WelcomeWelcome | FAQFAQ | DownloadsDownloads | WikiWiki

Author Topic: Tinycore based on SliTaz  (Read 5406 times)

Offline tango

Tinycore based on SliTaz
« on: April 21, 2009, 01:53:11 AM »
Hello,

Why can we find so much SliTaz file in TC 1.0 ? Same boot process, inittab, daemon script....

Why no credit to the SliTaz team ? Why even remove SliTaz ref from source code (Roberts you know what I'm talking about or you need some diff) ? Not GPL all this...

Can we have a few explanation please ?

Offline alu

Re: Tinycore based on SliTaz
« Reply #1 on: April 21, 2009, 02:10:59 AM »
Why no credit to the SliTaz team ? ... Can we have a few explanation please ?

http://distrowatch.com/weekly.php?issue=20090323 particularly these lines

With not much more that I could do with an ageing 2.4 kernel, I once again sought to find a new base. It wasn't until I saw SliTaz that I was reminded of the talks by Rob Landley at OLS 2006 about Populating Initramfs with BusyBox. I studied this, together with the kernel development logs and saw how a simple initial RAM disk and BusyBox could work with my original ideas and concepts of add-on extensions. I booted Finnix, a small and powerful Debian-based distribution, and followed Rob Landley's kernel and BusyBox docs to create the first prototype, then I started to layer on the code that I had created during the last five years, to make the first desktop. The next iteration was a conversion out of (re-factored) murgaLua to C++/FLTK to arrive at a working prototype of Tiny Core.