WelcomeWelcome | FAQFAQ | DownloadsDownloads | WikiWiki

Author Topic: Ezremaster and Static Ip  (Read 4074 times)

Offline remus

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 371
Ezremaster and Static Ip
« on: November 16, 2011, 04:37:19 PM »
Hi all,

I'm experimenting with ezremaster to produce a boot cd that is a samba file server with a static ip, and allows ssh access.

I was reading the wiki about ezremaster at http://wiki.tinycorelinux.net/wiki:remastering_with_ezremaster#planned_features_for_future_releases  and in the list of supported features it has
Quote
Supports setting static IP address on your network interface
However when I went through the ezremaster program I could not see anywhere that I could set a static IP address.

Also the wiki i've linked above has a screen shot of a boot code setup gui that I did not see in the actual program, is there a chance that there is more than one version of this program ?
Live long and prosper.

Offline Rich

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 11213
Re: Ezremaster and Static Ip
« Reply #1 on: November 16, 2011, 05:03:31 PM »
Hi remus
The wiki also lists a thread for questions on ezremaster.
http://forum.tinycorelinux.net/index.php?topic=6645.0

Offline ixbrian

  • Administrator
  • Sr. Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 436
Re: Ezremaster and Static Ip
« Reply #2 on: November 16, 2011, 08:17:08 PM »
Older versions of ezremaster supported setting a static IP through the GUI, but the current version no longer does.   Older ezremaster versions had become bloated with features so the current version is just back to the basics.   I updated the wiki page. 

Offline remus

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 371
Re: Ezremaster and Static Ip
« Reply #3 on: November 17, 2011, 05:32:46 PM »
Thx for the link Rick,

Thx for the clarification ixbrian, I will search the forums for info to set a static ip address in tinycore. And make the change persistent. I guess my custom settings will be saved when I remaster :)

If any of you guys have know a (best way) to set a static IP, your input is welcome.
Live long and prosper.

Offline Jason W

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 9730
Re: Ezremaster and Static Ip
« Reply #4 on: November 17, 2011, 05:52:38 PM »
I use a static ip on my box so I can reliably ssh into it.  Real easy.

Boot with "nodhcp" in the boot codes.

Place something like this in /opt/bootlocal.sh:

ifconfig eth0 192.168.0.10  #  Address for your box
route add default gw 192.168.0.1  # Your internet router or firewall address


Then include in the backup, of course. 

Offline gerald_clark

  • TinyCore Moderator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 4254
Re: Ezremaster and Static Ip
« Reply #5 on: November 17, 2011, 06:51:21 PM »
Don't forget to edit /etc/resolv.conf, add "etc/resolv.conf" to /opt/.filetool.lst and do a backup.

Offline Rich

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 11213
Re: Ezremaster and Static Ip
« Reply #6 on: November 17, 2011, 09:47:09 PM »
Hi remus
The ControlPanel in Tinycore has a Network function that can create a script for you. Here is a
sample called  eth0.sh  located in  /opt
Code: [Select]
#!/bin/sh
pkill udhcpc
ifconfig eth0 192.168.1.46 netmask 255.255.255.0 broadcast 192.168.1.255 up
route add default gw 192.168.1.1
echo nameserver 192.168.1.1 > /etc/resolv.conf
It also adds the following line to  /opt/bootlocal.sh
Code: [Select]
/opt/eth0.sh &Adjust it to your needs.