WelcomeWelcome | FAQFAQ | DownloadsDownloads | WikiWiki

Author Topic: UUID in fstab  (Read 1908 times)

Offline epboyd

  • WikiUser
  • *
  • Posts: 5
UUID in fstab
« on: October 20, 2011, 08:06:39 PM »
Hi all,

I'm trying to replace the usage of device names in my file system table with their corresponding UUIDs, and am having not much success. I boot with the "nofstab" boot code, then run

Code: [Select]
tc@box:~$ sudo blkid
/dev/sda1: LABEL="System Reserved" UUID="2E5C57A25C57639D" TYPE="ntfs"
/dev/sda2: UUID="A89063A4906377A8" TYPE="ntfs"
/dev/sdb1: UUID="53e686ca-69e8-4a20-8863-509497512687" SEC_TYPE="ext2" TYPE="ext3"
/dev/ramzswap0: TYPE="swap"

to get the UUID of what I'm interested in (sdb1). I then run:

Code: [Select]
tc@box:~$ sudo chmod 666 /etc/fstab
tc@box:~$ sudo echo "UUID=53e686ca-69e8-4a20-8863-509497512687 /mnt/sdb1       ext3     noauto,users,exec,relatime 0 0" >> /etc/fstab
tc@box:~$ sudo mkdir /mnt/sdb1

to put the entry in fstab. Then I fail to mount sdb1:

Code: [Select]
tc@box:~$ sudo mount /mnt/sdb1
mount: mounting UUID=53e686ca-69e8-4a20-8863-509497512687 on /mnt/sdb1 failed: No such file or directory

Can someone shine some light on this?



Offline gerald_clark

  • TinyCore Moderator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 4254
Re: UUID in fstab
« Reply #1 on: October 20, 2011, 08:13:27 PM »
Did you install util-linux?
which mount
Are you using /usr/local/bin/mount or /bin/mount (busybox)?

Offline epboyd

  • WikiUser
  • *
  • Posts: 5
Re: UUID in fstab
« Reply #2 on: October 20, 2011, 08:21:03 PM »
Thanks for the quick reply! Seeing as I'm booting with the "nofstab" command, no extensions are unpacked, let alone util-linux (which I don't have downloaded). I'm using /bin/mount.

Offline curaga

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 10041
Re: UUID in fstab
« Reply #3 on: October 21, 2011, 12:22:20 AM »
I'm not sure busybox mount can do that.
The only barriers that can stop you are the ones you create yourself.

Offline epboyd

  • WikiUser
  • *
  • Posts: 5
Re: UUID in fstab
« Reply #4 on: October 21, 2011, 05:58:53 PM »
Evidently not. Upon remastering a new initrd with the util-linux mount replacing the symbolic link /bin/mount, it works.