WelcomeWelcome | FAQFAQ | DownloadsDownloads | WikiWiki

Author Topic: ¡SOLVED!I have lost my wifi connection with TC 1.3  (Read 3549 times)

Offline Onyarian

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 336
¡SOLVED!I have lost my wifi connection with TC 1.3
« on: April 14, 2009, 12:07:16 PM »
I have lost my wifi connection in my AAO with TC 1.3

With TC 1.2 my wifi connection was with ath0 and madwifi-hal.tce extension,
now with TC 1.3 don't work.
If I boot without madwifi-hal.tce extension I see a new wlan0 with the mac address
from the wifi card but don't connect to the wifi router
what's happened?
If it helps this are my results to various commands:

dmesg:
ath5k_pci 0000:03:00.0: registered as 'phy0'
ath5k phy0: Support for RF2425 is under development.
phy0: Selected rate control algorithm 'pid'
ath5k phy0: Atheros AR2425 chip found (MAC: 0xe2, PHY: 0x70)

lsmod:
root@box:/home/tc# lsmod
Module                  Size  Used by
ossusb                 53960  0
hdaudio               127784  0
osscore               555732  2 ossusb,hdaudio
vfat                    9984  1
fat                    39328  1 vfat
i915                   26240  2
drm                    61864  3 i915
mmc_block               9476  2
arc4                    2688  2
ecb                     3584  2
sdhci                  13828  0
mmc_core               37276  2 mmc_block,sdhci
ath5k                  87168  0
mac80211              112148  1 ath5k
cfg80211               21256  2 ath5k,mac80211
intel_agp              22972  1
agpgart                25396  3 drm,intel_agp
yenta_socket           21388  0
rsrc_nonstatic         10240  1 yenta_socket
pcmcia_core            28948  2 yenta_socket,rsrc_nonstatic
ohci_hcd               19076  0
scsi_wait_scan          2176  0
serio_raw               5636  0
ac                      4996  0
battery                11012  0

/opt/bootlocal.sh
#!/bin/sh
# put other system startup command here
modprobe intel-agp
modprobe sdhci
/opt/wlan0.sh &
sleep 5
sudo ifconfig wlan0 up
sudo iwconfig wlan0 essid "Jazztel Wireless"

/opt/wlan0.sh
#!/bin/sh
pkill udhcpc
ifconfig wlan0 192.168.1.25 netmask 255.255.255.0 broadcast 192.168.1.255 up
route add default gw 192.168.1.1
echo nameserver 62.14.63.145 > /etc/resolv.conf

root@box:/home/tc# iwconfig
lo        no wireless extensions.

dummy0    no wireless extensions.

eth0      no wireless extensions.

wmaster0  no wireless extensions.

wlan0     IEEE 802.11  ESSID:"Jazztel Wireless" 
          Mode:Managed  Frequency:2.412 GHz  Access Point: Not-Associated   
          Tx-Power=27 dBm   
          Retry min limit:7   RTS thr:off   Fragment thr=2352 B   
          Encryption key:off
          Link Quality:0  Signal level:0  Noise level:0
          Rx invalid nwid:0  Rx invalid crypt:0  Rx invalid frag:0
          Tx excessive retries:0  Invalid misc:0   Missed beacon:0

root@box:/home/tc# iwlist wlan0 scan
wlan0     No scan results

root@box:/home/tc# ifconfig
eth0      Link encap:Ethernet  HWaddr xx:xx:xx:xx:xx:xx 
          UP BROADCAST MULTICAST  MTU:1500  Metric:1
          RX packets:0 errors:0 dropped:2202012933 overruns:0 frame:0
          TX packets:0 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 carrier:0
          collisions:0 txqueuelen:1000
          RX bytes:0 (0.0 B)  TX bytes:0 (0.0 B)
          Interrupt:17

lo        Link encap:Local Loopback 
          inet addr:127.0.0.1  Mask:255.0.0.0
          UP LOOPBACK RUNNING  MTU:16436  Metric:1
          RX packets:24 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 frame:0
          TX packets:24 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 carrier:0
          collisions:0 txqueuelen:0
          RX bytes:2312 (2.2 KiB)  TX bytes:2312 (2.2 KiB)

wlan0     Link encap:Ethernet  HWaddr yy:yy:yy:yy:yy:yy 
          UP BROADCAST MULTICAST  MTU:1500  Metric:1
          RX packets:0 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 frame:0
          TX packets:0 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 carrier:0
          collisions:0 txqueuelen:1000
          RX bytes:0 (0.0 B)  TX bytes:0 (0.0 B)

wmaster0  Link encap:UNSPEC  HWaddr yy-yy-yy-yy-yy-yy-00-00-00-00-00-00-00-00-00-00 
          UP BROADCAST RUNNING MULTICAST  MTU:1500  Metric:1
          RX packets:0 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 frame:0
          TX packets:0 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 carrier:0
          collisions:0 txqueuelen:1000
          RX bytes:0 (0.0 B)  TX bytes:0 (0.0 B)

root@box:/home/tc# udhcpc -b -i wlan0
udhcpc (v1.13.3) started
Sending discover...
Sending discover...
Sending discover...
No lease, forking to background


So, I see the new module ath5k is loaded and wlan0 created but don't work

Help, please
« Last Edit: April 15, 2009, 10:10:31 AM by Onyarian »

Offline curaga

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 10021
Re: I have lost my wifi connection with TC 1.3
« Reply #1 on: April 14, 2009, 01:13:17 PM »
ath5k is in development, so it might be the cause. Why doesn't madwifi work for you anymore?
The only barriers that can stop you are the ones you create yourself.

Offline alu

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 429
Re: I have lost my wifi connection with TC 1.3
« Reply #2 on: April 14, 2009, 01:27:10 PM »
works for me with tc 1.3, AAO 110L, ath5k. you have to load from the appbrowser/to install the madwifi extension, wireless-2.6.26 as well as wireless-tools.

1. turn on the dhcp daemon in the control panel;
2. choose netcardconfig in the control panel, enter ath0 instead of eth0, choose dhcp and apply;
3. then modprobe ath_pci: sudo modprobe ath_pci
4. set essid and wep-key: sudo iwconfig ath0 essid ---- key ----
5. sudo ping a url, and it should work.

Offline tobiaus

  • Suspended
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 599
Re: I have lost my wifi connection with TC 1.3
« Reply #3 on: April 14, 2009, 03:06:55 PM »
modprobe ath_pci: sudo modprobe ath_pci

even in 1.3?

Offline Onyarian

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 336
Re: I have lost my wifi connection with TC 1.3
« Reply #4 on: April 14, 2009, 04:22:53 PM »
alu, thanks, but what you say is the same configuration as mine with 1.2 and in 1.3 don't go for me now.

I have made some proves and I am investigating what happens.

First: If I boot 1.3 with all my tce's tcz's then don't go
Second: If I boot 1.3 with base norestore and then load madwifi-hal, wireless and wireless-tools then goes OK
Third: This case is the same as if I boot 1.3 with base norestore and then wireless, wireless-tools and at least madwifi-hal, in this case there is no ath0 (madwifi must load before).
Fourth: If I boot 1.3 with all my tce's tcz's with madwifi-hal but without wireless and wireless-tools, and then go to appbrowser and load wireless and wireless-tools from optional directory then goes OK.

Seems that in my normal boot madwifi-hal is not correctly loaded, or between madwifi extension and wireless extension there is some interaction of other tce or tcz.

My next prove is to load one per one all extensions with appbrowser and see what's happend with ath0.

Thanks, and tomorrow more...

Offline alu

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 429
Re: I have lost my wifi connection with TC 1.3
« Reply #5 on: April 15, 2009, 04:09:51 AM »
@ tobiaus: yes, i had to load the kernel module in tc 1.3 unless i was unable to make wifi working, but actually, i am not sure that this was the problem; i shall try it again today late without modprobe and i will report back;

@ Onyarian: i tried the following:

1. booted tc 1.3 with everything loading at boot (all tce's and tcz's extension including madwifi-hal.tcem, wireless-2.6.26.tczm, and wireless_tools.tcz), then followed my steps and it worked ok;
2. booted tc 1.3 with everythin loading at boot EXCEPT madwifi-hal.tcem, wireless-2.6.26.tczm, and wireless_tools.tcz; then loading the madwifi-hal.tcem, wireless-2.6.26.tczm, and wireless_tools.tcz extensions with appbrowser, and it worked ok;

Note: you have to check your .bootlocal.sh file in order to be sure that you have /opt/ath0 & in your backup.

Offline Onyarian

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 336
Re: I have lost my wifi connection with TC 1.3
« Reply #6 on: April 15, 2009, 09:41:16 AM »
¡¡¡¡ S O L V E D!!!!

¡There is a conflict between tc1.3 - wireless-2.6.26 and my atheros wifi card!

Seems that in tc1.3 wireless-2.6.26 don't recognize correctly my wifi card and utilizes the ath5k rather the ath0, and wireless_tools modules are not corretly loaded.

The solution is very simple. THERE IS NO NEED FOR WIRELESS-2.6.26.
Only with madwifi-hal and wireless_tools my connection is now ready.

If I boot with madwifi-hal + wireless-2.6.26 + wireless_tools this are the results:
Quote
extensions at boot:
madwifi-hal
wireless-2.6.26
wireless_tools

dmesg:
ath5k_pci 0000:03:00.0: registered as 'phy0'
ath5k phy0: Support for RF2425 is under development.
phy0: Selected rate control algorithm 'pid'
ath5k phy0: Atheros AR2425 chip found (MAC: 0xe2, PHY: 0x70)
ath_hal: module license 'Proprietary' taints kernel.
AR5210, AR5211, AR5212, AR5416, RF5111, RF5112, RF2413, RF5413, RF2133, RF2425, RF2417)

tc@box:~$ lsmod
Module                  Size  Used by
ath_pci               207416  0
wlan                  182708  1 ath_pci
ath_hal               300128  1 ath_pci
arc4                    2688  2
ecb                     3584  2
ath5k                  87168  0
mac80211              112148  1 ath5k
cfg80211               21256  2 ath5k,mac80211
yenta_socket           21388  0
rsrc_nonstatic         10240  1 yenta_socket
pcmcia_core            28948  2 yenta_socket,rsrc_nonstatic
ohci_hcd               19076  0
scsi_wait_scan          2176  0
serio_raw               5636  0
ac                      4996  0
battery                11012  0

tc@box:~$ iwconfig
lo        no wireless extensions.

dummy0    no wireless extensions.

eth0      no wireless extensions.

wmaster0  no wireless extensions.

wlan0     IEEE 802.11  ESSID:"" 
          Mode:Managed  Frequency:2.412 GHz  Access Point: Not-Associated   
          Tx-Power=0 dBm   
          Retry min limit:7   RTS thr:off   Fragment thr=2352 B   
          Link Quality:0  Signal level:0  Noise level:0
          Rx invalid nwid:0  Rx invalid crypt:0  Rx invalid frag:0
          Tx excessive retries:0  Invalid misc:0   Missed beacon:0


but with only madwifi-hal + wireless_tools:
Quote
extensions at boot:
madwifi-hal
wireless_tools

dmesg:
ath_hal: module license 'Proprietary' taints kernel.
AR5210, AR5211, AR5212, AR5416, RF5111, RF5112, RF2413, RF5413, RF2133, RF2425, RF2417)
ACPI: PCI Interrupt 0000:03:00.0[A] -> GSI 18 (level, low) -> IRQ 18
PCI: Setting latency timer of device 0000:03:00.0 to 64
MadWifi: ath_attach: Switching rfkill capability off.
wifi0: Atheros AR2425 chip found (MAC 14.2, PHY SChip 7.0, Radio 10.2)
ath_pci: wifi0: Atheros 5424/2424: mem=0x35200000, irq=18

tc@box:~$ lsmod
Module                  Size  Used by
wlan_scan_sta          12160  0
ath_rate_sample        12288  1
ath_pci               207416  0
wlan                  182708  4 wlan_scan_sta,ath_rate_sample,ath_pci
ath_hal               300128  3 ath_rate_sample,ath_pci
yenta_socket           21388  0
rsrc_nonstatic         10240  1 yenta_socket
pcmcia_core            28948  2 yenta_socket,rsrc_nonstatic
ohci_hcd               19076  0
scsi_wait_scan          2176  0
serio_raw               5636  0
ac                      4996  0
battery                11012  0

tc@box:~$ iwconfig
lo        no wireless extensions.

dummy0    no wireless extensions.

eth0      no wireless extensions.

wifi0     no wireless extensions.

ath0      IEEE 802.11b  ESSID:""  Nickname:""
          Mode:Managed  Channel:0  Access Point: Not-Associated   
          Bit Rate:0 kb/s   Tx-Power:0 dBm   Sensitivity=1/1 
          Retry:off   RTS thr:off   Fragment thr:off
          Power Management:off
          Link Quality=0/70  Signal level=0 dBm  Noise level=0 dBm
          Rx invalid nwid:0  Rx invalid crypt:0  Rx invalid frag:0
          Tx excessive retries:0  Invalid misc:0   Missed beacon:0


and then with my usual configuration:
sudo ifconfig ath0 up
sudo iwconfig ath0 essid ......
sudo iwconfig ath0 key ......

the connection works another time.

(alu, there is no need of the modprobe ath_pci, it's loaded automatically, and yes I have my /opt/ath0.sh in bootlocal.sh and in .filetool.lst)

Perhaps not all AAO's have the same wifi card, look at yours, alu, and prove to load only madwifi-hal and wireless_tools and tell us the results.

Thanks to all.

Offline alu

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 429
Re: !SOLVED!I have lost my wifi connection with TC 1.3
« Reply #7 on: April 15, 2009, 10:59:54 AM »
thanks Onyarian, nice to hear about your success. yes, you are right, there is no need to load the kernel module anymore, i probably did a mistake yesterday. today, it works fine without modprobing.

my atheros: Atheros Communication Inc. AR242x 802.11abg Wireless PCI Express Adapter (rev 01).

i don't seem to have any issue with wireless-2.6.26, but i am going to try without it and report back quickly.

Offline alu

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 429
Re: !SOLVED!I have lost my wifi connection with TC 1.3
« Reply #8 on: April 15, 2009, 11:09:25 AM »
i can reproduce the solution of Onyarian, no need for wireless-2.6.26, my wifi works without it, too.