WelcomeWelcome | FAQFAQ | DownloadsDownloads | WikiWiki

Author Topic: Gnome Desktop Sharp  (Read 3495 times)

Offline amilcury

  • WikiUser
  • *
  • Posts: 5
Gnome Desktop Sharp
« on: October 01, 2011, 08:40:40 AM »
Please I need help in gnome-desktop-sharp

I'm using 4.0 microcore

installed:
  xprog
  xlibs
  xorg-7.6-3d
  gnome-desktop-sharp

sudo update-gconf-database-register all

Add to backup list (/ opt / .filetool.lst)
usr / local / etc / gconf / gconf.xml.defaults /% gconf-tree.xml
etc / shadow

so after the reboot with blue screen just does not start the gnome core

I loved the Core Tyne and want to learn how to use

Thanks for any help and congratulations for the team distro

Offline gerald_clark

  • TinyCore Moderator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 4254
Re: Gnome Desktop Sharp
« Reply #1 on: October 01, 2011, 09:02:13 AM »
Do not add extraneous spaces to your file names.
That is a guaranteed path to failure.

Offline amilcury

  • WikiUser
  • *
  • Posts: 5
Re: Gnome Desktop Sharp
« Reply #2 on: October 01, 2011, 09:20:09 AM »
The text was just to show the sequence and the installed packages.
It was typed with extra spaces and all packages and lines of command were executed without errors.
All steps were performed following the instructions in this forum.
Or missed a step or did something wrong or missed something to be explained.
I'm just looking for help to make it work, I am not expert but with the help of you know I can learn to work with sitema. I love Linux "Be open, be free to those who want to learn and use"
I count on help from the geniuses who collaborate here!

Thank you!

Offline gerald_clark

  • TinyCore Moderator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 4254
Re: Gnome Desktop Sharp
« Reply #3 on: October 01, 2011, 09:37:02 AM »
If you want help, your description of the steps you have taken must be accurate. Do not add or delete characters.
I don't know what you have done.
You don't seem to have loaded gnome-desktop-base.
Get the basic gnome desktop working first.
« Last Edit: October 01, 2011, 09:45:04 AM by gerald_clark »

Offline amilcury

  • WikiUser
  • *
  • Posts: 5
Re: Gnome Desktop Sharp
« Reply #4 on: October 01, 2011, 09:57:28 AM »
installed:
  xprog
  xlibs
  xorg-7.6-3d
  gnome-desktop-sharp

sudo update-gconf-database-register all

Add to backup list (/opt/.filetool.lst)
usr/local/etc/gconf/gconf.xml.defaults/%gconf-tree.xml
etc/shadow

Using the App Browser

ab commander
gnome key search
List 14 items:

1-gnome-desktop-sharp.tcz
2-gnome-doc-utils.tcz
3-gnome-icon-theme.tcz
4-gnome-js-common.tcz
5-gnome-keyring-sharp.tcz
6-gnome-media-dev.tcz
7-gnome-media.tcz
8-gnome-menus.tcz
9-gnome-python-desktop.tcz
10-gnome-python.tcz
11-gnome-sharp.tcz
12-gnome-vfs-dev.tcz
13-gnome-vfdmm.tcz
14-gnome-vfs.tcz

does not seem to gnome-desktop-base


Offline gerald_clark

  • TinyCore Moderator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 4254
Re: Gnome Desktop Sharp
« Reply #5 on: October 01, 2011, 10:02:50 AM »
Perhaps gnome is not complete for 4.0 yet.

Offline amilcury

  • WikiUser
  • *
  • Posts: 5
Re: Gnome Desktop Sharp
« Reply #6 on: October 01, 2011, 10:06:36 AM »
Ok!

Thank you for your attention!

Online Rich

  • TinyCore Moderator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 6888
Re: Gnome Desktop Sharp
« Reply #7 on: October 01, 2011, 11:20:50 AM »
Hi amilcury
I just took a look at  gnome-desktop-base.tcz  under TC3 and it lists about 200 dependencies.
24 of those begin with the name gnome and 6 more are gnome libraries. It is unlikely the base
will be released until all those dependencies are released under 4.0.

Offline amilcury

  • WikiUser
  • *
  • Posts: 5
Re: Gnome Desktop Sharp
« Reply #8 on: October 01, 2011, 11:46:59 AM »
I really enjoyed the ride microcore leaves the base as is best for User and correct information.
I hope to be released soon!

Thank you for your attention!

Offline Arslan S.

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 825
Re: Gnome Desktop Sharp
« Reply #9 on: October 02, 2011, 06:56:07 AM »
gnome-desktop-sharp is not gnome desktop. it is mono bindings for some gnome libraries
and yes there is no gnome desktop for tcl 4.x