WelcomeWelcome | FAQFAQ | DownloadsDownloads | WikiWiki

Author Topic: unison - small bug  (Read 4263 times)

Offline netnomad

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1027
unison - small bug
« on: September 17, 2011, 03:10:30 PM »
first, i want to thank for the packaging of that great tool unison - i missed it so long.
small bug in microcore and fluxbox:
when i load unison-gui in the ondemand menu then the program is loaded,
but not started and it does not appear in the application menu (the loaded programs).
nevertheless i can start unison in a terminal with the command "unison"
and i guess it works properly.

Offline vinnie

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1104
  • HandMace informatic works
Re: unison - small bug
« Reply #1 on: September 18, 2011, 02:54:03 AM »
I'm not a great expert on packaging, but I think the two problems can be attributed to this:
1)does not start automatically because the package name different from the name of the executable (I wanted to build in text-only version, but did not succeed)
2)poor categorization of *.desktop file (I'm slowly realizing better)

I could try to change the name of package (but first I should tell the managers of the repository) and change the extension category of .desktop, otherwise I do not know

Offline netnomad

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1027
Re: unison - small bug
« Reply #2 on: September 18, 2011, 05:41:37 AM »
thank you for your reply,
thank you for your packaging,
the small bug should not be that big problem...

Offline vinnie

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1104
  • HandMace informatic works
Re: unison - small bug
« Reply #3 on: September 18, 2011, 06:40:45 PM »
Today I did many tests, I was hoping to solve both problems with:
1)create a /usr/local/bin/unison-gui symlink and rename unison.desktop in unison-gui.desktop
2)do a lot of experimentation with fluxbox to figure out what's wrong with the menu voice (dimension of icon, category, I even tried to copy files of seamonkey).

I could not find the problems, I do not know how to fix, if someone more streetwise than I have any ideas, I am interested

Sorry :(

Offline netnomad

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1027
Re: unison - small bug
« Reply #4 on: September 22, 2011, 05:37:11 AM »
hi vinnie,

thanks to the help of bmarkus, we can solve this problem.
you just have to rename the directory unison-gui to unison and then all works fine.
in the moment you find under /tmp/tcloop/unison-gui the binaries,
but they should be under /tmp/tcloop/unison to work fine.
to make it even perfect, please decrease the icon to 70-80%,
in the moment it's to big for wbar and doesn't look nice next to icecat or other icons.
you would do me a great favor, if you correct this little changes.
thank you.

Offline vinnie

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1104
  • HandMace informatic works
Re: unison - small bug
« Reply #5 on: September 23, 2011, 06:37:53 AM »
Right now I'm not home but when I have time I do what you asked for.
But to be precise:
which directory you refer?, you mean the package name? in this case I tried to create symlinks in /usr/local/bin called "unison-gui" respecting the name of the package, but this did not work, could be that a symlink is not enough?

I already tried to reduce the size of the icon, but this did not work for me: I tried to use seamonkey icon (which could be seen on fluxbox), but nothing.
However I will reduce the icon.


Offline netnomad

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1027
Re: unison - small bug
« Reply #6 on: September 23, 2011, 02:52:49 PM »
hi vinnie,

thanks to the help of bmarkus, we can solve this problem.
you just have to rename the directory unison-gui to unison and then all works fine.
in the moment you find under /tmp/tcloop/unison-gui the binaries,
but they should be under /tmp/tcloop/unison to work fine.

i'm no expert in packaging, but i would call it "the main directory of your package".
make it easy and forget that stuff with unison-gui...
perhaps everything is solved, if you change all directories
that are called >unison-gui< just to >unison<.
i think you will not expect more other problems and you need no symlinks.

I already tried to reduce the size of the icon, but this did not work for me: I tried to use seamonkey icon (which could be seen on fluxbox), but nothing.
However I will reduce the icon.

just open the icon-file unison.png with gimp and use the scale option to reduce it
to a smaller %-value and save it under the old filename "unison.png".
just try it, you will succeed.

« Last Edit: September 23, 2011, 03:04:48 PM by netnomad »

Offline vinnie

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1104
  • HandMace informatic works
Re: unison - small bug
« Reply #7 on: September 24, 2011, 05:53:16 AM »
Ok, maybe I understand, you consider that Unison has no own directory, everything is in /usr/local/bin .
As for the size of the icon, i will reduce even though I had already tried

Offline netnomad

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1027
Re: unison - small bug
« Reply #8 on: September 24, 2011, 09:48:47 AM »
as you know there a different concepts to use or install a tcz.
in my case i use the
mount mode: tcz/install
http://distro.ibiblio.org/tinycorelinux/concepts.html
after loading your unison-gui.tcz i get the mounted loop under /tmp:
/tmp/tcloop/unison-gui with all files that are included in your package.
additionally i find these files at the defined paths.
but the path to /tmp/tcloop/unison-gui doesn't fit to the rest of your package,
you have to change this path to /tmp/tcloop/unison and all work fine...
i guess that you have to change the directory, in which you prepare the tcz-files,
from unison-gui to unison.
« Last Edit: September 24, 2011, 10:04:16 AM by netnomad »

Offline vinnie

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1104
  • HandMace informatic works
Re: unison - small bug
« Reply #9 on: September 25, 2011, 08:16:32 AM »
I made ​​three mod, please try all and tell me which one works:

(everyone have the icon reduced to 128x128 as seamonkey)
http://www.mediafire.com/?a6sjjeu36vtm651 (bin renamed "unison-gui")
http://www.mediafire.com/?7baenhh7nie6k3s (bin have a symlink "unison-gui")
http://www.mediafire.com/?dt8dof3u6ifarz5 (package renamed "unison.tcz")


P.s. I would prefer not change the package name, and I'd like to understand the operation of these processes to not repeat the mistake later, I will ask Bmarkus to participate in this topic
« Last Edit: September 25, 2011, 08:24:31 AM by vinnie »

Offline netnomad

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1027
Re: unison - small bug
« Reply #10 on: September 25, 2011, 09:05:40 AM »
hi vinnie,

the third package unison.tcz works smoothly, the icon looks fine in the wbar.
i tried also the first package unison-gui.tcz with symlink,
but it has the same misbehavior as the former ones.
so just upload the unison.tcz and rename the package to unison.
thank you.
« Last Edit: September 25, 2011, 09:07:38 AM by netnomad »

Offline bmarkus

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 7035
    • My Community Forum
Re: unison - small bug
« Reply #11 on: September 25, 2011, 09:33:38 AM »
vinnie:

regarding your PM just read Wiki article http://wiki.tinycorelinux.net/wiki:creating_extensions Adding Custom Startup Scripts section. Everything is written there.
Béla
Ham Radio callsign: HA5DI

"Amateur Radio: The First Technology-Based Social Network."

Offline netnomad

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1027
Re: unison - small bug
« Reply #12 on: September 28, 2011, 12:10:10 PM »
hi vinnie,

the third package unison.tcz works smoothly, the icon looks fine in the wbar.
so just upload the unison.tcz and rename the package to unison.
thank you.
just a little adjustement, then the package is o.k.

Offline vinnie

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1104
  • HandMace informatic works
Re: unison - small bug
« Reply #13 on: September 28, 2011, 02:32:37 PM »
yes but i like to understand the mechanisms, I was seeing right now what I said bmarkus, and I can not find connections between tce.installed scripts and autogenerated ondemand script.
For example: these are the tce.installed script and the ondemand script of flash10 package

If unison does work I ask to you to have a little 'patience because I'd rather resolve the situation without changing the package name.

It may seem stubborn, but there is a reason, I wanted to compile even the shell-only version, but I could not succeded, I wanted to call this version of Unison-text and and I would still leave space for this possibility
« Last Edit: September 28, 2011, 02:50:22 PM by vinnie »

Offline netnomad

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1027
Re: unison - small bug
« Reply #14 on: September 29, 2011, 12:09:11 AM »
but your unison-package just works on the command line, give it a try.
it's the same binary, see it simple and just use it in the gui or in the cli, as you like it.

so you can deliver a fine working unison.tcz and time by time we all learn step by step,
how and why it just works,
never mind.
by the way the name or package-description unison-gui.tcz leads in a wrong destination,
cause it's also usable on the command line.

thank you for your packaging.
« Last Edit: September 29, 2011, 12:11:20 AM by netnomad »