WelcomeWelcome | FAQFAQ | DownloadsDownloads | WikiWiki

Author Topic: Change "getFlash10.tcz" to "Flash10installer.tcz".  (Read 3912 times)

Offline SunBurnt

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 102
Change "getFlash10.tcz" to "Flash10installer.tcz".
« on: August 12, 2011, 08:45:59 PM »
Title says it all, it`s a pain remembering that name.

After all... Doesn`t the apps. installer "get" everything?

Or as has been suggested, supply Firefox with it.
But this may be against Adobe`s usage policys.
« Last Edit: August 14, 2011, 12:28:19 AM by SunBurnt »

Offline Jason W

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 9680
Re: Should change "getFlash10.tcz" to "Flash10.tcz".
« Reply #1 on: August 12, 2011, 08:53:35 PM »
If we could package and distribute flash player, we would have never bothered with a fetch and install script, believe me.

And since the extension only gets flash player, I think it would be more confusing to simply name the extension "flash10.tcz".
« Last Edit: August 12, 2011, 08:55:38 PM by Jason W »

Online Rich

  • TinyCore Moderator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 7649
Re: Should change "getFlash10.tcz" to "Flash10.tcz".
« Reply #2 on: August 12, 2011, 08:57:35 PM »
Hi SunBurnt
That might create a conflict since the getflash extension creates an extension called flash10. It threw
me (and possibly others) the first time I scrolled through the extensions looking for it. If roberts sees
this and is so inclined, maybe rename it to something like  flash10installer.

Offline SunBurnt

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 102
Re: Should change "getFlash10.tcz" to "Flash10.tcz".
« Reply #3 on: August 12, 2011, 09:05:18 PM »
Yep... That works for me, just so it starts with "Flash" !

Online Rich

  • TinyCore Moderator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 7649
Re: Should change "getFlash10.tcz" to "Flash10.tcz".
« Reply #4 on: August 12, 2011, 09:09:53 PM »
Hi SunBurnt
Well, it's roberts extension, so it's his call.

Offline Guy

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1089
Re: Should change "getFlash10.tcz" to "Flash10.tcz".
« Reply #5 on: August 13, 2011, 12:00:28 AM »
I like the name flash10installer, as it makes it clear what it is.
Many people see what is. Some people see what can be, and make a difference.

Offline SunBurnt

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 102
Re: Should change "getFlash10.tcz" to "Flash10.tcz".
« Reply #6 on: August 13, 2011, 12:57:04 AM »
Kinda like the same reason I don`t use "The" at the start of media names.
It creates a sub category that separates everything in it making it hard to find.

The repeated Qs in the forum should be enough to provoke a name change.

Offline Jason W

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 9680
Re: Should change "getFlash10.tcz" to "Flash10.tcz".
« Reply #7 on: August 13, 2011, 02:19:08 AM »
Typing "flash" in the appbrowser and hitting the search button brings getflash10 up as the first result.  I have not seen any posts by anyone in regards to not being able to find the flash installing extension.  I am not saying that it would hurt to change the name, but if it did not show up in a search for "flash" then I could see folks having a hard time finding it.  Right now there are so many extensions it is not easy to manually search through the whole list of them, hence the search function that I am sure most folks use.  Renaming the extension would only help folks who are looking through the list of extensions one by one.

But I have seen potential issue with running the getflash script needlessly once flash is installed, which breaks flash for the current session.  And that issue was addressed with a feature that prevents it from happening.

Offline hiro

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1136
Re: Should change "getFlash10.tcz" to "Flash10.tcz".
« Reply #8 on: August 13, 2011, 03:12:41 AM »
If the tcz file is replaced shouldn't the file handler from the squashfs mount still point to the old one, thus not breaking the running session?

Offline Jason W

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 9680
Re: Should change "getFlash10.tcz" to "Flash10.tcz".
« Reply #9 on: August 13, 2011, 03:45:58 AM »
My experience is it can break the running flash session.

Offline roberts

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 7361
  • Founder Emeritus
Re: Should change "getFlash10.tcz" to "Flash10.tcz".
« Reply #10 on: August 13, 2011, 06:35:03 AM »
I only did the original get flash extension, but Jason has been maintaining the extension.
Jason has done an excellent job in its updates. I will therefore leave it up to Jason regarding a possible name change.
10+ Years Contributing to Linux Open Source Projects.

Offline gerald_clark

  • TinyCore Moderator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 4254
Re: Should change "getFlash10.tcz" to "Flash10.tcz".
« Reply #11 on: August 13, 2011, 07:54:27 AM »
I think flash10installer is misleading, as it does not install flash.
It only gets flash, and makes an extension from it.

Offline Jason W

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 9680
Re: Should change "getFlash10.tcz" to "Flash10.tcz".
« Reply #12 on: August 13, 2011, 08:03:38 AM »
Thanks Robert.

As I am normally resistant to name changes in extensions unless there is a pressing need, as a name change will break the automated updates of it and then some folks wondering what happened to getFlash10.  Kind of robbing Peter to pay Paul.

I will keep this renaming in mind when Adobe moves to its next version of flash, ie 11 or 12, since the name will need to change then anyway.

Oh, and i just now see Gerald's post.  And I agree that renaming to installer may also be confusing.

Perhaps "flash10-installscript" is more accurate than flash10-installer, but again the difference is still only in semantics.  And the flash version number would need to remain in the extension name as it creates a unique version of flash(version).tcz.

I lean towards leaving it alone still, but I will ponder it some more.


Offline coreplayer2

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 3020
Re: Should change "getFlash10.tcz" to "Flash10.tcz".
« Reply #13 on: August 13, 2011, 10:02:25 AM »
I think the current name clearly indicates it's purpose and it's also easy to find ;)

Offline hiro

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1136
Re: Should change "getFlash10.tcz" to "Flash10.tcz".
« Reply #14 on: August 13, 2011, 10:09:39 AM »
Please call next version getflash.tcz (no need for the version number if there's only one available).