Tiny Core Linux

Off-Topic => Archive / Obsolete => Release Candidate Testing => Topic started by: roberts on February 07, 2011, 11:29:41 AM

Title: microcore_v3.5rc2
Post by: roberts on February 07, 2011, 11:29:41 AM
The Second Release Candidate of Micro Core v3.5 is now posted and ready for testing.
http://distro.ibiblio.org/pub/linux/distributions/tinycorelinux/3.x/release_candidates/microcore

microcore_3.5rc2.iso
microcore_3.5rc2.iso.md5.txt

Change log for Micro Core v3.5:

rc1
* Clean up of tce-audit 'delete' spurious messages.
* New tce-remove support for tce-audit/appsaudit.
* Moved thinkpad_acpi.ko from base to extension.
* Updated tc-config crond call and removed duplicate crond script.
* Updated busybox 1.18.1 plus patches.
* Scripts adjusted to remove extra spaces to reduce size.
* fsck replaced with busybox fsck
* zsync upgraded to 0.6.2.
* Changed all core components from .gz to tcz.
  (Note need to add them to onboot.lst, order is important.)

rc2
* New autoscan-devices compiled to improve boot speed.
* Updated tc-functions for call to autoscan-devices.
* New rotdash compiled to improve boot speed.
* Updated tce-audit builddb to not force fetch of all .dep files when no tce.db exists.
* Corrected permission on protect option bfe file.

See: http://forum.tinycorelinux.net/index.php?topic=8649.0
* Added startup script for Xprogs.tcz to support after boot tce-setup usage.
Title: Re: microcore_v3.5rc2
Post by: hiro on February 07, 2011, 12:53:12 PM
I'm running this with Xorg and the new tcz core components. Everything is working as expected.
Title: Re: microcore_v3.5rc2
Post by: roberts on February 08, 2011, 09:50:37 AM
It was reported that Xterm was not transparent when using Xprogs.tcz on a base norestore microcore boot after running tce-setup.

Issue fixed and Xprogs.tcz reposted:
http://distro.ibiblio.org/pub/linux/distributions/tinycorelinux/3.x/release_candidates/microcore/
Title: Re: microcore_v3.5rc2
Post by: hiro on February 08, 2011, 05:16:41 PM
In my opinion this is a feature :P
Title: Re: microcore_v3.5rc2
Post by: tinypoodle on February 08, 2011, 05:47:49 PM
In my opinion this is a feature :P

Easy to get...
1. in .Xdefaults set "Aterm*transparent: " to "false"
or
2. set depth for X to max. 15bits   ;)
Title: Re: microcore_v3.5rc2
Post by: hiro on February 09, 2011, 04:46:21 AM
1. is why I didn't notice :)

An other thing about aterm makes me angry a lot: copy'n'paste over multiple lines copies the whole width's white spaces at the end of the line instead of just the new line char.
Title: Re: microcore_v3.5rc2
Post by: roberts on February 09, 2011, 04:04:33 PM
Personally I use:
in .Xdefaults set "Aterm*transparent: " to "false"

But the point is that microcore + repacked core components should result in tinycore.
Therefore the change was implemented.
Title: Re: microcore_v3.5rc2
Post by: tinypoodle on February 11, 2011, 04:59:25 AM
1. is why I didn't notice :)

An other thing about aterm makes me angry a lot: copy'n'paste over multiple lines copies the whole width's white spaces at the end of the line instead of just the new line char.

As a follow-up, I took the liberty to open a new thread here:
http://forum.tinycorelinux.net/index.php?topic=8692.0
as this is a subject which is not particular to the release candidate.
Title: Re: microcore_v3.5rc2
Post by: jls on February 11, 2011, 08:09:07 AM
I've the copy2fs flag
I've this command in /opt/bootsync.sh:
su `cat /etc/sysconfig/tcuser` -c "tce-load -i Xorg-7.5-3d wireless_tools"
Xorg is loaded in ram but wireless_tools and wireless-2.6.33.3-tinycore are loop mounted